Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Saber Disk

by Neonlare - Compo Entry

Grab your longboard and put on your stereoscopic glasses, cuz we're heading into the distant future of 1999!

An evil sentient AI known as the TimeLord has taken various creatures from the past and cybernized them into terrifying mechnical weapons.

Threatening the known world itself, a Net-Hacker by the name of Booter and his array of impressive reformatting floppy-disks are the only thing that stands in the way between us and total extinction at the hands of a tyrannical OS. Radical!

Grab points and upgrades as you combine floppy-disks to upgrade yourself as you fight through the hoardes of velociraptors riding pegai, angry arcade cabinets and intelligent Rodin sculptures before facing off with the TimeLord himself. Be careful, or you Game could be Over before you know it!

CONTROLS

Arrow Keys - Move
Z - Fire Left
X - Jump
C - Fire Right

GOAL

Fight through the waves of enemies, surviving the course until you come to fight the TimeLord himself. amass as many points as possible to improve your high-score! Try not to die horribly.

UPGRADE DISKS (These will upgrade stats or boost points!)

Blue Blue - Point Up, if you get 5000 points, you earn another continue!
Blue Green - Speed Up, your max speed and acceleration is increased incrementally.
Blue Yellow - Refire Up, your refire rate is increased by a percentage.

WEAPON DISKS (Each weapon has 4 upgrades, collect them in sequence to upgrade them!)

Red Red - Spread Fire, fires a bevy of disks in fixed directions!
Red Blue - Rapid Fire, a fast firing set of disks!
Red Green - Return Fire, a boomerang-like disk that penetrates enemies
Red Yellow - Charge Fire, power collects after a while, firing will unleash an explosive that improves the longer it's charged.

SUPPORT DISKS (These will do anything from wiping the board clear or giving you a shield!)

Yellow Yellow - Bomb, clears the field entirely
Yellow Green - Shield, protects you for one hit
Green Green - Clone, creates a clone of yourself to help you fight!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio4.63
#7Graphics4.62
#12Mood4.25
#49Overall3.96
#82Fun3.81
#310Humor3.19
#618Innovation3.00
#757Theme3.10
#1566Coolness44%

Comments

Neonlare says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:59am

I'll be posting up a HTML5 version soon as I can get a proper host for the files.

Birke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:17am

The game with the most well made aesthetic I have played so far both when it comes to the visuals and audio. The camera perspective made it really hard to play since it was difficult to determine what was going on and where you needed to be in order to hit the enemies. Props for the mad retro feel though

jbasinger says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:20am

There is only one word to explain this game: RADICAL.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:30am

That was an exceptionally well polished game for 48 hours. The sound and the graphics are amazing. The gameplay was fun as well, though it became extremely difficult to dodge or attack the enemies. I think this was because of two things:
- The Rodin thinker statues take up a huge amount or real estate on the screen, and either they hit me even though I was at the back of the level and they were up front (which would imply you're using straight up 2D collision detection, or something else is hitting me and I just can't see it.
- I kept getting a very slow weapon that has a short range and can only be first one shot at a time. With the number of enemies entering the screen, this weapon is pretty useless.

Despite these two things I had a blast.

P.S. my high score was 5880.

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:07am

Very well put together. Graphics and sound were excellent, and controls were smooth. It was a little hard to see what was going on when the screen had a lot of enemies on it.

Wow says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:07am

Pretty hard to see whats going on, but the soundtrack and visuals were so damn cool I didnt care.

I think I would like this game a lot better if the individual objects were all a bit smaller. Pretty awesome game the artwork and music are just so freaking good.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:08am

Dood! This looks rad. Can't wait for the HTML5 port.

Orange says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:09am

Fantastic!!!

NIGIC says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:14am

These scanlines.

Rad game. Took me a couple tries, but it was worth it - final boss is neat. Great graphics, great music, awesome atmosphere. Great job!

Still no idea what each of those disks actually do, though. It feels random. Kinda.

Hi Score: 36450.

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:25am

Oh man I love that asthetic man. Super polished game. It's a bit difficult, as there are so many enemies and I can't really tell if I'm avoiding them or not. I feel like if the enemies were fewer and had more of a pattern, I'd be able to get the rhythm. Also the guns felt pretty useless. But that hoverboard flip, and the scanlines, and the grid, and the soundtrack. GOOD STUFF.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:33am

I had no idea what was happening the whole time... AND I LOVED IT!!! Such a well polished and fancy game. Although quite hard due to the depth of some objects, I enjoyed every minute of it. Great work!

ErikU says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:38am

Crazy impressive. Very polished for the time given. Can't say I did very well - with so many enemies on the screen, it was a massacre. But everything else made up for it. Very slick, well done.

jprogman says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:05am

Very spiffy atmosphere!

nicotuason says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:28am

I DONT KNOW WHATS GOING ON BUT I LOVE EVERY MOMENT OF IT

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Insane - Honestly I simply can't see how that much work can get done in just 48 hours by a single person! Great visuals, amazing music, tonnes of different weapons etc... Just INSANE that you got that done in two days

Neonlare says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:40pm

HTML5 version is up! It doesn't scale properly and the music has a delay on loading which messes with the rhythm of enemies attacking. Hope folks enjoy it too, thanks for all the reviews guys, it's really humbling to see so many folks enjoy this lil' thing, thank yoooou~ :D

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Glad for the HTML! Super rad dude! Loved the music and style. Wasn't sure what was going on at all times, but that is why I loved it, haha. Good job!

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:24pm

This is amazing! How did you make the music?

rnlf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Wow, this game is awesome! Music and visual fit so perfectly together and the gameplay feels very retro and fun.

It's pretty hard, but really well done!

pythong says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:47pm

HI 10700
very impressive entry. and very catchy music

Goutye says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:37pm

I really like the RETRO design of your game but also the RETRO game design! I little bit too complicated at the beginning :/ Maybe a progressive difficulty would be better! Nice work! :)

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Woow that was quite a cyberpunk ride :) Played the HTML5 version but the window is very small even with fullscreen mode (bug?). The game felt very hectic and sometimes there was a bit too much going on for me to follow. But this might be due to screen size.

Very good job!

Toby Pinder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:29pm

I absolutely adore the retrofuturistic aesthetic. Wish the webplayer version had a zoom option though - would be cool at 2x and 4x (though I like "low rez" as a design decision)

The soundtrack is amazing!

hexagore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Completely amazing aesthetic although my brain couldn't quite parse what I was seeing at first :P

Switch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:17am

Nice aesthetics, i feel myself in Tron.

mohammad says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:19am

What? Why use a laser disc to kill people?!? What's so hard about using a laser gun?!

sararyCow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:10am

I love the 80's style. A lot of detail here on art and gameplay, great work!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:54am

great fast paced game! Soundtrack is amazing.

I feel like shooting is a bit slow and it takes a lot of hits to destroy the statue. Also when there are multiple statues on the screen it completely the player in the background making it harder to dodge other enemies.

frondeus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:40am

Holy crap! Back to the future and Tron at the same time!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Incredibly well polished game for the compo! Hats off!

I love the death animation. Also, great cohesive mood with the retro 1999 era.

I'll echo what others have said: the thinker statue takes up a lot of room, and playing in the background is incredibly difficult. I also feel like just having a larger playing field to work in would give the player some breathing space, especially for the fast moving enemies.

Highscore: 7638

DKoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Loved the ol' arcade style CRT graphics and the very smooth gameplay. Really cool even if on the web version the screen was very small.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Looking good. Reminds me "KungFury" which should release next month.

cowboycolor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:46pm

OMG sweet. I love the drastic depth of the player. Graphics are so good!

23 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Felt like I was in the Gibson. I'm shocked Network 23 let you publish this.

Great work!

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:03pm

I-have-no-idea-what-is-going-on-so-I'm-just-spamming-z-and-c. Awesome. Sometimes you just don't know how someone made a game in just 48 hours.

IamAcoconut says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:30am

Awesome! Why'd you make the screen so small? Really great audio, graphics, and the game was really fun!

Snicklodocus says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 3:45am

Loved the art and sound! Absolutely rad, man! A bit difficult to see what's going on at times. I think some enemies move to quickly to avoid or are too large and opaque. Collisions also confused me a bit. But really, I just enjoyed the spectacle. Great job!

Kitch says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:10am

Fabulous presentation, music and art style was spot on. Game was really fun as well, really liked the 2.5d take. Good work.

MrShoestore says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:50am

ok, so I think this is a great looking game, but the html5 build is tiny in size and its hard to see anything. it made it hard to play with a lot of visual stuff going on with the screen at once, plus the weird 2.5d play field, and the tiny screen. I want to love this one, i do, but i need a fullscreen version, or something.

snapman_GT says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:43am

Not sure if stating that the shooting weapon is something other than a gun really makes a shooting weapon unconventional.... The art, music, and perspective effects are all amazing! But it's not that much fun to play, really. The waves are all over the place and you're constantly dying and respawning in the middle of waves, invulnerable for a moment, and then taking damage pretty quick. Jumping is weird, since you can't shoot in the air, even though some enemies are tall enough that you'd still hit them. Eh, lots of incredible programming pulling this off in the time alloted, but I wish the result had been a little more snappy-feeling?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]