Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Photophobia

by NuSan - Compo Entry

Use your holy light to scare creatures of the night.
It's not great but it's your only weapon.
Seek the pieces of an ancient key to bring an end to the nightmare.

Motion : Arrow Keys

Created with Unity, Photoshop, Mudbox and Sunvox

Warning : Use the web version with Firefox, as Chrome don't install Unity WebPlayer anymore. WebGL version should work on both but is a bit heavy to load.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Mood4.53
Coolness51%
#10Graphics4.56
#124Audio3.57
#313Overall3.44
#668Theme3.20
#804Innovation2.72
#811Fun2.75

Comments

Namide says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Really beautiful, I like the graphic design!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Wow, first 5 stars for mood for me, so far! The game is seriousy gorgeous, and I'm a sucker for this dark/moody style.

Gameplay is a little simplicistic, but can be improved easily.

Thank you, it was great!

cmayhem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Beautiful, amazing game. The graphics style gives it a really great, scary mood. Only problem, it's too short!

esayitch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Very atmospheric. The graphics were great, the sound was very good and wasn't annoying. Gameplay was relatively simple, and at first I thought you could attack with your light... but then I realized you use it as a weapon "against the darkness".
Good luck!

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Visually stunning, but bit lacking in gameplay

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:25pm

The art was fantastic considering how short of a time you had to make it. I was a little confused if there was somethign I was missing. The mood is great but honestly the best way to play the game is running full speed because the light doesn't really seem to do anything to the spiders.

Still one of the best I have played so far, just need to tune the mechanics to match that excellent mood.

ajopart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Gorgeous graphics. Great mood. But short and without actual gameplay

Iak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:32pm

amazing graphics, good audio, excellent mood, really nicely done.

Borkleby says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:33pm

ABSOLUTELY ZERO COMPLAINTS. GORGEOUS.

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Very impressive visually.

Mase says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:10pm

I think this needs separate controls for the light. It is not very useful if it can only be pointed in front.

The visual effect is very cool though.

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Nice, you really got the ambience with the visuals and the music!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Awesome visuals, loving the high-contrast style. Perhaps a bit shallow and easy in the gameplay department, though. Still impressive stuff!

JokerDen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Wow, it's unreal cool visual style. I wondered your lighting works.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:42am

the surrealism is high in this one, in a good way of course~!

AnimeGeek32 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:05am

Like the art style. The spiders attack me, even with my light directed at them.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:23am

The gameplay is too simple to be really interesting. It's very short... But I have never seen a similar aesthetic in another game. It's beautiful. Man you are a great artist. Thank you for this amazing travel in a nightmare. One of my favorites for this RD session. Thumbs up ++

SamH says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:13pm

A bit too easy, but damn gorgeous and showing a lot of potential. Kudos on managing to do the rendering process, artwork, animations, level design, and even the music in time!

And thanks for the WebGL version, it’s the only way I can run it on Linux.

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 2:13am

Gorgeous, really nicely-atmospheric world! The sound is decent, but seems a little too high-keyed for my tastes.

Really nicely done. Add some puzzles and more complex quests and I would be completely happy playing this game for hours. :)

Zeriver says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Great graphics and music set nice mood. Shame game is so short but it's a fun experience nonetheless. From gameplay standpoint game does not offer much but it's still enjoyable.
BTW: light supposed to scare off enemies but usually they were ingoring my flashlight and lamps

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]