Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Salt 'Em Up

by DaGamesta - Jam Entry

Salt 'Em Up is a game where you wield a Salt Shaker and fend off the hordes of snails!

Instructions:
-Hold your phone up straight, vertically, with the bottom facing the ground.
-Move the Salt Shaker by dragging it with your finger.
-Shake your phone to shake some salt onto the snails.

Programmed by - DaGamesta (Michael Wojnar)

Programmed with - Eclipse (IDE), LibGDX (multi-platform game library), Playgon Engine (custom engine that I'm developing off of LibGDX), Java (language programmed in)

Sounds used from freesound.org

Music:
"Broken Reality" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Images gathered from various places through google search.

This game isn't as good as World Bash from a few competitions ago, however this time I did not have a team to make music and art for me, as well as to provide input for the Game Design. I also didn't have time off of my job this time, so I had to program in between work. I made it by myself as a test of the Engine I made recently based off of LibGDX, and to come to understand the accelerometer. I think it turned out pretty well all things considered. :)

If you're browsing through the source file code and don't understand the functions that are referenced under com.mwojnar.playgon, then you can contact me at mwojnar@mail.bradley.edu and I'll explain or send you my Engine's source code.

REGARDING RELEASE ON IPHONE:

Unfortunately my friend with the Mac is too busy atm to figure out how to export the game to iOS, and I'm not buying a Mac just so I can export games to iOS. Maybe later we'll release for iPhone, but probably not in time for judging. If anyone has any advice regarding exporting to iOS, it's always appreciated.

Thank you for taking the time to play my game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#128Theme(Jam)3.92
#153Innovation(Jam)3.69
#243Humor(Jam)3.41
#385Fun(Jam)3.23
#468Overall(Jam)3.28
#549Mood(Jam)3.00
#1566Coolness44%

Comments

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:47am

Hello, developer here. Yes, I will be porting to iOS soon, assuming my friend who with the Mac can export it properly, and that LibGDX is capable of using the iPhone's accelerometer. I will keep you updated in the description.

If you're having trouble figuring out what the heck it means by "Hold Straight," please be sure to hold your phone straight up vertically, as if it was a Salt Shaker that you're trying to pour on your food. ;)

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:50am

Good job!

jmborden says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:52am

I guess I wasn't the only one with the idea of using salt on slugs =).

Supernovadx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:26am

Haha, It's a fun little game. Needs a little bit more depth, but fun nonetheless.

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:29am

love the "shake" control mechanic! Very appropriate and fun, really ties the theme into the gameplay too.

Isk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:39am

This was really fun to play! Just as a note, the shaker frequently just, like, stops moving for me.

Docjekyll says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:46am

This was a blast to play. :-D

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:50am

Thank you all for the positive comments thus far!

@Isk I had that once during testing as well, I think it may have to do with my engine. I can't seem to replicate it for the life of me though. If you have any idea when specifically it happened, then I always appreciate the feedback.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:57am

Good job, it's a nice game. However, it felt some hard for me to play, because of the restriction to place the phone vertical to the ground, but it's alright. Especially I love the music track.

oranebeast says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:09am

Interesting mechanic. My arm is sore. Probably the slugs too

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:44pm

The mechanics are very good and remind me of bullet hell shooters. They really fit the platform, can't remember playing something like this until now. Great job. Graphics and sound could have used more work but I don't mind that since the mechanic is fun!

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:22am

Haha, what a fun time!
Loved it. Great theme and vibe.

Demy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Haha, ok, I'm salting snails. Works well and I actually fill it shakes. It's slightly strange that I'm holding phone vertically, but scors are shown at the left side, it would be better if they will be on bottom side for example.

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Thank you all for rating my game! This time around I'm going to close up shop after rating 20 games, since I wasn't on a team this time.

@Demy Maybe if I do a Post Mortem, but since I'm working on a bigger project aside from this it probably won't happen for a while.

@Everyone I'll keep all of your suggestions in mind whenever I get around to polishing this up.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:13am

Nice take on the theme. Leaning the phone to control right/left movement would feel nicer, but I guess that might mess with the shaking?

siryakko says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:27am

Fun and clever idea :) loved it

Zeriver says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Game for android made in Eclipse, hah that's what i was looking for. I want to start making aps for smartphones and i like Eclipse and know Java on decent level, your code sure will be useful :)
If i may ask, where did you learn making aps for Android etc.

About your game, currently i'm not able to play it but i sure will in about 2 days :)

pstudio says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Cool idea and interesting use of the phone to make a shake mechanic. Extra points for that novelty.
Unfortunately it also interfered with controlling the salt shaker and positioning it over the slugs.
Maybe I'm doing something wrong, but it seems like it didn't take long before there were too many slugs to possibly keep up with.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]