Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hugline Miami

by Figglewatts - Compo Entry

Do you like hugging other people?

In Hugline Miami, the goal is to hug as many people as possible. You have a number of different masks at your disposal to make your job easier.

NOTE: The web version has an issue with player movement in some browsers.

POSTMORTEM: http://figglewatts.co.uk/blog/Hugline-Miami-Postmortem/

EDIT: I'm going to be making a post-compo version that's not as related to Hotline Miami!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#40Audio3.95
#75Graphics4.11
#125Overall3.73
#158Mood3.52
#214Fun3.52
#264Humor3.29
#688Theme3.18

Comments

jackrugile says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:52am

This is one of the best I've played. The graphics and music are incredibly well done. Such a fun game ;)

My only gripe was the lack of control when it came to selecting levels and not being able to end a round once I selected a character. My browser crashed at one point during them middle and it didn't save my level completions. Not a huge deal, it's 48h, but just some honest feedback. Well done!

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:23am

How did you do that in 48 hours?! It's amazing! 4/5 though, because the weapon doesn't have any innovative mechanics, just aim and shoot to kill.

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:51am

Really well polished considering the time it was made in. Graphical effects and great audio made it feel quite close to the actual Hotline Miami.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:53am

Great entry! I loved the retro look, it was very mood setting. The music is good. Overall, very fun to play.

AlexanderTeaH says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:53am

The graphics and sound are amazing. However, the gun wasn't great. A fun game, overall.

carrymove says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Great parody! I think basic movement speed should be higher.

Split82 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Nice Hotline Miami inspiration :) Had a lot of fun playing it.

Hammers says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:12pm

71300 :)

you've really got the Hotline Miami feel down perfectly. As others have said, the control and the feel of the weapon wasn't perfect, but this si still a stellar job for something done in 48h hours. Congrats!

Also the music was great. I especially love the track for level 3/6 :D Gonna grab that one from the source and stick it in my regular playlists!

ccglp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:52pm

This is a perfect entry for me. Nothing more to say

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Really fun. Great Graphics, and amazing in 48 hours. However, i would have liked to see more animations. not that that made the score go down. all 5/5.

Played for half and hour.

PixlWalkr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:58pm

neat game. graphics and effects are good :)

Joystikman says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Excellent and very fun but the controls are very frustrating, it's maybe me but I found it was very hard to aim precisely.

Tipyx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Druuuuuuuuuug *_*

jhell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Nice inspired game, you captured the atmosphere of the original pretty well, despite the change of camera. No Azerty support so hard for me to play :(. Still cool though, unlike some other comments I liked the feeling of the gun.

Nice work.

syawqy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:23pm

you really get the hotline miami-ish feeling
good job!

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:24pm

I'm going to download this game and keep it.

er5 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:07pm

It looks really close to the original (even the music). :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Graphics and sound are really nice. It's probably just because I'm using a track pad and I'm not very good at this kind of game, but I found it almost impossible to aim before they killed me.

SadSmile says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Wow. You realy did this in 48h? you sir, have a chance of winning this compo :D

TheMessiah says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Best game so far, no idea how you managed to do all that. Amazing music and gameplay, only problem I had was not being able to select a different character after death.

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Great parody! The isometric graphics look really nice and work surprisingly well with the game. All of the visual effects are really cool too.

Buko-Studios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:06pm

very cool! had fun hugging/killing enemy agents haha

gruhn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Beautiful and well implemented mechanics. But embbed version is creating scroll bars.

notrorschach says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Too good!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Simple enough gameplay, but the parody presentation is spot on :p Nice one

Karsten says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:47pm

its challenging, but the part with the "hug" completely vanishes somehow , would be nice make it more intuitive

ker0chan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Nice work on capturing the Hotline Miami feel, eveything's there ! Great music, nice visual effects. A bit more depth and variation in the gameplay would make an awesome HL caricature :D

Azurency says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Nice and fun entry. The graphics are well done! Good job

Hatsome says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:05pm

It has a nice look and feel, but the walking was a little slow.

siryakko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:27pm

AWESOOOOME!

0x0961h says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Oh my gosh, this is hilarious. Nice job! The level of visuals and aesthetics are too high for me to handle. :D

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Liked the CRT look. But it's the third game I see using it or something very similar - is it a standard filter in Unity? Also It was very hard to get far in the game, hugging, surprisingly enough, is not a very effective weapon.

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:51pm

So after 30ish games now, this is probably the best. I can't believe this was done in 48 hours, it's crazy how much there is here. The music is awesome, graphics are awesome, having all the different characters is awesome, and there's quite a few levels.

I guess the only thing I would've liked to see was different shooting mechanics, and to make it more like hugging. It feels a little too much like hotline miami (you're still shooting people), and something needed to be more different to make it your own.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:08pm

While the graphics and audio are amazing, (seriously, how did you manage this in 48 hours?), I encountered some bugs in the gameplay. (The AI got stuck in a wall, and sometimes left-clicking wouldn't fire for me.)
Overall a pretty solid game, great work!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:16pm

It was annoying that the hearts got stuck on the walls, otherwise it was a good game.

Nysten says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Pretty cool looking, has the same mood as the actual HM! Wasn't too innovative with the theme and gameplay, but still pretty fun. Aiming was pain in the butt though, as the hearts hit the walls too easily. Also the AI was hard when an enemy was right around a corner. Nicely done!

Sevauk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:30pm

It's a cool game but a bit boring and frustrating. You put a lot of work in this game ! Well done !

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:37pm

I'm a bit skeptical that you did everything yourself, how the hell did you make this so good, so fast? The only problem I have is that you can't literally hug people (Melee attack) and that you walk so slow

scorched says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:45pm

It's rather blow kissing than hugging)

MrDave says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:01pm

If this is what happens when you hug people you need to stop hugging people.

Such a great style and a great parody. No complaints with the look and sound of the game and I bet it will rate really high in those categories.

Lizzip says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:42pm

This is so well done!

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Was it made in 48 hours? Wow!

Looks like a nice tribute/parody, but imho, it's still about shooting and not hugging.

zeejfps says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Nice, very hard to play on a track pad xD but other than that seems fun!

PachowStudios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:12pm

The graphics, sound, feel, and polish were all excellent. The game itself isn't great though because the weapon itself is just shooting hearts. The movement also felt very sluggish.

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:30pm

It was fun, though it does obviously snatch a lot from its titular reference. Like that there are multiple levels and masks to use.

Note: couldn't judge sound, playing while in class so sound is off >.>

blaster391 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Fun, sounds amazing, looks great, only problem is that I thought you moved a bit slow (even with graham), AI is about as dodgey as Hotline Miamis AI but a good effort for 48 hours.
The only other problem is that although the concept is fun, there isn't much innovation in the mechanics, but, if its not broken don't fix it

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Love it! Great work.

matthewd673 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Really fun game - felt much like the original

KedumeBits says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:05pm

This is in my top 5 games on this Ludum Dare. Congratulations. A nice demake of Hotline Miami. Nice.

sch00f says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Awesome hotline miami parody, the sound is almost up there with the original ;D
Cool artstyle and fun to play!
My score was 72200

Xanjos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:13pm

It's a shame you opted out of the humour rating because I wanted to give you a 4 or 5 for the sheer hilarity of "killing" someone with piles of hot exploding love XD. Other than that, this was a pretty fun entry to play and I loved how you've nailed the Hotline Miami aesthetic.

Blobo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Amazing. hilarious idea, i love everything about this. wonderfully done. 5 stars for you!

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:40pm

VERY high production value, I give you that! Kudos!! The graphics have a nice "Minecraft meets CGA"-feeling (looks like I am not the only one who went with a CGA palette then!) and the filters and effects look (in my opinion) nicer and more fitting the established style than in Hotline Miami itself.

The gameplay is fastpaced and fun, the sound and music also closely paying homage to the frenetic pixel frenzy but, alas, the game mechanics do too. To the game it absolutely doesn't matter whether you're shooting hearts ("hugs") or projectiles. If you want to pursue that theme further, I suggest you find some mechanic that can't be switched for guns and bullets but is inherent to only hugs & kisses.

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Very well done! I love Hotline Miami so this really hit off with me, and I live in Miami ;)

It can get annoying shooting in tight corridors and perhaps some variety in enemies, but I made it to round 7 so I think you did pretty good!

Wow says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:41pm

This needs to have the humor rating. "do you like hugging other people." You're a madman.

Headmade says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Very impressive, especially given the 48 hours time frame.
You really nailed the hotline miami vibe.

It would be perfect if the collision detection would work better (especially for the hugs).

tentabrobpy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Definite 5 star game! I've never played Hotline Miami in my entire life but if this is what it looks and feels like then I ought to check it out asap!

haveric says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Pretty interesting variation of Hotline Miami although it would have been nice to have been able to switch out masks once choosing one for a level or switch levels once they've been played to try different masks. Ended up with a score of 94900.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:21am

Haha very fun. Love the concept and plays well too. Movement is a little slow I think, but really nice job!

RedSorrel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:30am

This game is really fun and challenging, many expletives shouted while playing. At first I was kinda eh the movement is pretty slow, until I figured out how to switch characters. Then each level afterwards I tried experimenting with a new character. Only problem I have is if I'm hugging a wall (no pun intented) and I try to shoot the opposite direction, the heart will collide with the wall and not shoot out where I'm clicking.

Tomcat94 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:36am

The music and graphics are great, which made it seem like a great parody game of Hotline Miami. The only thing I didn't like was how slow-paced and boring the actual gameplay was compared to HLM, which was a bit of a letdown, but I'm still very impressed with how much was done in jut 48 hours.

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:36am

Good job, the game is interesting and fun to play!

ApocoNypse says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:51am

Awesome! Amazes me what people can do in such a small amount of time. Great music! :D

fabriciopfs says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:36am

Very cool! Fantastic music!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:54am

Absolutely wonderful. Plays great, lots of content and some sweet tunes. Loved it.

anokta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:55am

whoa this is too neat to be true! really well polished for 48h and fun to play. i wish hugs would make enemies closer rather than getting them 'killed' though, haha. amazing job overall! :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:05am

Kill them with kindness! Impressive for 48 hours

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:24am

very good parody, you've done a lot in such a short time, great job ^^

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:57am

Hugging, unique but effective. One of the better LDs for sure.

Kihira says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:06am

This is absolutely gorgeous. Feels so much like Hotline Miami.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:18am

Nicely done dude, this game is actualy not tat bad of a game. well done. esp for 48 HRS :)

wmoschini says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:26am

That's amazing! Congratulations!

MightyToast says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:32am

Love the shader work! That's crazy awesome. I like that you managed a character roster, that was a nice touch. Fun stuff!

LTPATS says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:46am

Cool game! I had fun playing, though because of the view it was kind tricky getting around corners and shooting through hallways. The music and art were great overall, good work!

goadrich says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:01am

Excellent graphics and shaders! The heart gun was effective, but I was hoping for a hug sprite animation based on the title.

CowShark says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:04am

I don't understand why I have murder hugs.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:32am

Really well done, I loved the audio and the art of the game. Felt a little sluggish, but I guess that's part of the hotline miami package :P

cmcoto says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:35am

Great game, congrats! Nice gameplay, and cool idea. Greatly done!

SonderWorks says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:17am

This is an impressive amount of content. As far as graphics and sounds go, you really have a solid Hotline aesthetic going. And with that shader... I'm impressed. :)

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:21am

Fun little game. Could only tell what was different about Graham and Audrey, though.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:45am

Nice innovation!

Sean Noonan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:46am

Pretty cool. I liked the visuals, obviously a heavy reference to Hotline Miami. Not sure why I am shooting hearts at people trying to hug me - shouldn't that be a good thing :D?

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:58am

Good job, game was really solid and fun! Would have like to see more unconventional weapon mechanics though

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:10am

This was fun to play, graphics were really nice, music was quite good, overall fantastic entry

PanKamil says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:49am

It took me five minutes to realize that the original Hotline Miami was made in a completely different perspective – you have reproduced its feeling very, very well. And killing people with the power of love is always nice.
But I think that the character movement could be a little faster – it really slows down the game's tempo. Anyway – I really enjoyed it.

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:45am

A great parody of Hotline Miami! Best audio I have heard in a while, very fun to play, good graphics, ... a well-rounded game, a great one for 48 hours of development!!!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:12am

Really cool for a 48h compo. I wish I could do the same in such a low amount of time.

BermudaCake says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:18am

Great mood, funny concept, the movement speed is a tad slow for my liking, but it's fun!

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:34am

I loved it. I only take up issue with the fact it's a clone of Hotline Miami but you shoot hearts, not bullets. The effect is the same though.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Looks fantastic. Love the 80s style. 5 Stars!

rohtie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Cool hotline miami parody! You nailed most of the vibe.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Definitely pulled of the Hotline Miami vibe which is impressive in just 48hrs. Liked that you included the variety of masks also.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:44pm

pretty rad entry~! shooting hugs/hearts to kill people haha~! very nice!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:54pm

How did you made this in 48 hours? XD
Really nice job, one of the best so far! :D

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Wish there were more options for hugging!

nov1kk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Just amazing! congrats!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:21pm

That music is awesome! You've really captured the Hotline Miami vibe, including the "DAMN YOU GAME" when I die over and over (but still keep pressing R to die again)

peterkirk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Everything from the graphics, to music, to gameplay was a great homage and great game in its own right. I am thoroughly impressed.
Score: 65300

Rubel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Great work! It's so cute. Nice to see HM parody there.

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:41pm

This is a compo game?

Wow, I really like the 80 vhs look. I would love to see some dev postmoretem

Lycaon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:44pm

This is great. Very visually impressive.

hbocao says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Gosh, this is great! Awesome job!
Wait! This is a compo entry? Holy #$%@!

ftvs says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Decent presentation. I am not sure if it was just my computer, but it appeared to be running slower than it should be. Aiming with the mouse felt a bit laggy.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:28pm

I'm in the process of writing up a postmortem. I'll post a link in the description when it's done.

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:37pm

the presentation is pretty awesome :)

agilejoshua says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Very nice looking!

Shared says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:48pm

5/5
Zack still best mask

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Well done, I really like the isometric sort of view and the game felt fun and replayable

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Very nice, found the theme to be bit loose but nevertheless a very enjoyable game

agirreb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Wow. Just wow.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:41pm

That was awesome! definitely a fun experience and looked and sounded awesome too. Good show!

TwiiK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Really solid game, but in my opinion it's a really boring take on the theme. You're basically just shooting guys except you've changed the sprite for the bullets.

grillaface says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:50pm

WOW!

defacid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Graphics and sound are great for the time limit, but since it's called Hugline, I was really hoping for hugs being the form of attack rather than shooting hearts. CRAZY AWESOME sound and great emulation of HM art style for the visuals. Great job!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Very impressive work for the timeframe but could have taken the hugs further instead of just being a shooter using hearts as bullets!

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Man, this one pretty trivial and only thing which save it is joke about hotline miami. Im lucky one, and played Hotline.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Such a good name! hah :)

guoboism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:57pm

I love Miami Hotline too! This game really got that feeling! It is really hard work to polish to such degree in a compo!

Deal With It says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:00pm

6/5!!! Cute & nice!

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:01pm

I finished the postmortem if anyone's interested. Here it is: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/21/hugline-miami-postmortem/

Mase says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:01pm

I think Graham's speed should've been the default for all characters. It felt closest to Hotline's speed.

It wish the hugs had a shorter range. It didn't feel like hugging.

Very nice quantity of environments and playable characters.

Enemies could be more varied. The game's difficulty was too static as well.

63000

Mase says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:01pm

I*

Tuism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Mmmmmmm

Great audio visuals, great presentation, but the fact that it's not only a copy, but a very uninteresting one makes it all the worse for me...

The movement is so slow. The point of Hotline Miami was the twitch play. So that's gone out the window.

The "weapon" in the game is some kind of... heart ray? If you're going to call it Hugline, make it ACTUAL HUGS! The fact that you took a melee-centric game, slowed it down and removed melee confuses me a heck of a lot.

Technically impressive. Design is flawed.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Music was awesome!
Great game overall, I enjoyed the crt shader!

AnimeGeek32 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Scored 66500 points by the end!

kyyrma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Oh god, the only thing I can think about now is an isometric Hotline Miami à la Assault Trooper on DOS. Big bucks to be made for the first person who grabs for that idea.

Oh and this is an amazing homage to Hotline Miami. Top notch graphics and music.

dcolgan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:26pm

5s all around! This game was amazing!

helekopeter says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:28pm

great game, great music, great art.
only one problem. i think it would have been a bit better if it was a bit more fast paced

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:33pm

This is very awesome.

I would have had the guys not die, maybe just stand there with floating hearts.

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:04pm

I thought hugging was a melee move, but I guess this works too. Good game.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:10pm

You got the feel of Hotline Miami spot on, really enjoyed playing. The music was especially awesome and kept me playing for quite a while. It was difficult to hit enemies when you were in a corridor or doorway, which was a bit annoying at first, but then I turned into an extra challenge of having to lead the enemies out into the open before I could kill them with love. Would have like an actual'hug' melee option!

fixitteam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:55pm

good job :)

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Very polished!! Chapter 3 has a cool background music. Let him rescue his girl friend. :-)

Suhvan4ik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:27pm

As hotline mimmy fan I loved this game. Greate music and artstyle.
I wish this game would have a melee hug ability, but it would require to do some complex animations.
Also narrow hallways was a little bit annoying, but neverthrless I finished this game (=

Birke says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Well made but not the most original of mechanics. I don't think the game should be in isometric perspective either since it does not fit the gameplay. There's a reason the original Hotline Miami is seen from above because it leaves no areas that are not visible.

boateye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:10pm

You nailed the Hotline Miami aesthetic, so well done on that. the game controls well, and I like the variable mask powers. However, the "hugs" are just heart shaped bullets, so the weapon didn't feel to unconventional.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:55pm

Seriously great audio and graphics! I would have preferred more variety or polish over more levels, but still a really well done job all around.

tigerbyte says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:17am

Super cool. Quite a feat for a 48 hour jam entry.
Great music. Did you tweet the Hotline Miami dev about this? he might be interested in trying it!

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:29am

Impressive, how much content you were able to finish in 48 hours, and all the polish that went into it. Faithful to the source material without being a copy. My only beef was having to force the game to close. Good take on the theme, excellent work!

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:39am

Wonderful work and a great send-up of, well, apart from the obvious, the industry as a whole.
Loved it.

laxeot says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:48am

Awesome! I think this is my favourite.

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:07am

Graphic and audio is great!
But the wall block the bullet so much that I couldn't enjoy even more fun.

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:09am

funny parody of hotline Miami.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:10am

Love the music.

iSamurai says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:32am

Nice Hotline Miami style! But it's easier to play which is good for me.

Hammer Games says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:04am

OMG! Amazing game! Congratulations! Nice mechanic, gameplay, art, music! Everything!

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:10am

straight up gotta say i am very impress with the work done in 48 hours, though i wish it wasn't so much like Hotline Miami. I wish it was more "in the style of HM". your gun can shoot heart bullets, but its still a gun, ya know?

strega says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:47am

Very nice art and style. I was totally hoping to go running around really quickly actually hugging everyone tho :p

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:13am

If it's melee based attack, it will be more like hotline in spirit;

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:23am

A great homage to another great game!

blob says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:41am

Great mood and musics. Too bad you're not really hugging people though. Would have made a better parody of hotline miami if you had pushed the hugging to the max.

ripatti says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:48am

It may be HUGe fun if not so slow movement.

Vidsneeze says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:50am

So much awesome!

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:37am

Really nicely done.
Great presentation.
How do you get it to show a youtube video as your first screenshot?

petitpois says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:49am

Moving the character was a bit difficult, however love the concept, art, music and hugging weapon. great game :D

eskivor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:22am

To kill enemies with love is a really cool idea. Nice parody of Hotline Miami !

steboots says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Eventually got the hang of it, doorways still hung me up a bit, as the enemies move fast, and the aim through them is precise. Overall real nice game, impressed it was for compo!

Bensonance says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Very Cool compo submission. I am impressed with the amount of content you made for this game in the short space of time. Good work

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Really great entry with neat visuals and music! Navigating around tight corners was a bit frustrating at times but this was a really fun game overall!

volkoivan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Nice game, looks really polished and finished with really cool music and art. But the idea is not very fresh, that's just HM with hearts instead of bullets.
4/5

lowcade says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Amazing job on 48 hours! The game is very good. Congrats!

GarethIW says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Seemed to be a lot of shooting but not much hugging...

CH

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Looks almost the same as the original. Altough i would have called it loveline miami since youre not actually hugging anyone, still great job
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:47am

extremely well done game - nice take on the theme - and great parody on HLM

retr0verse says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:49am

Great Audio, graphics a little out of place, and characters a little slow, but Great game never the less!

SuperKid says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:59am

Can't stop playing. Great game.

Prowler says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Awesome! Though' I may not give you full points in innovation ;). Great adaption! And in such a short time! I loove your shader!

careless says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Really well done, shame I played on a laptop! Nice graphics and sounds.

Solid entry

Zana says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:32pm

You can make characters faster. Even with zack i do lower combo strike than graham.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:35pm

It's not quite like hotline miami, it isn't as fast paced or strategic, but as a game by itself, it's nice

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:47am

Love the graphics, cute game! I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/aLTEhRhwd8A

LoneStranger says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:17am

Hugs!

hardband says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Nice homage! Just to let you know I got a NullReferenceException on the ending screen, didn't effect anything by the look of it, but brought up the dev console.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Huh. Weird. I'll take a look.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:01am

I really enjoyed the music and the graphics. I too made a game where the player shoots hearts :)

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Solid entry, if a little repetitive. Love the music!

rudra says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Loved the game. Specially the graphics and the music. Good work

elpaulo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Crazy cool adaptation of hotline miami. Incredible how people like you manage to make a game like this in 48H. Congratulations !

Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:22am

Very interesting and a greatime experience kverall. If I had one gripe it would be that functionally it's basically shooting - just with a gun that delivers hearts instead of bullets.
.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:26am

Wow you have the aesthetic down. Super impressive for a 48 compo. I'm stunned that you were able to accomplish all that and the music as well. It was beautiful :)

jacobturn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:41pm

good

mildmojo says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:48am

Hot stuff! Great aesthetic, fantastic look with the scanline shader and the deformation around the edges and the CGA-like palette. I love all the characters with slightly different abilities, though my favorite is "hugs are more effective". Hug grenades! And this is a compo entry? Wow.

I might've had the "issue with player movement" you describe. After a while the character felt pretty sluggish, though the NPCs still moved freely.

The theme's kind of a wink and a nudge, right? You're still firing projectiles at nameless enemies, they're just called hugs. Remote hug projection technology.

ehtd says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:33am

Impressive work, so much things done in such few time, nice job!

PapyPilgrim says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Too bad the "unconventional weapon" was only a skin applied to basic guns and launchers...

Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Pssst! You are in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ysM6emYb6ZM

el_kloklo says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:24pm

please do the same game with x2.5 speed, that would be awesome!

Teesquared says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Awesome XOXOXOXO...splat

LandoSystems says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 5:14am

Amazing work, really nailed the mood with the art and music. Nicely done!

joe40001 says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 6:09am

Fun little game, but I wanted to actually hug my enemies not shoot hearts at them.

Still well made though.

Madball says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Awesome game! Couldn't have enough of it. I like those tiled screen-y graphics, and the music is cool as well.

Got 120700 on the first try using every mask once. My highscore is 211400 with Zack only. By the way, it's unobvious what do some masks do.

Why is hugging ranged? I'm okay with that, but the walls are so tight it's difficult to attack in 1 wide corridors, and enemies behind corners are difficult to kill, unless you are Molly.

Level 5 demonstrates some weird enemy movement. They pile up in a corner of the last room.

In the end, I'd like a "restart" button, I had to refresh my page each time. Also, using WASD and enter is uncomfortable. Either WASD and spacebar, or arrow keys and enter.

Overall, it's a very fun game, I completed it several times. But connection with the theme is weak, the weapon is conventional, except its name.

Knowledge says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 5:01pm

It was a good game. OK audio and Graphics. The only thing i don't like is the sluggish movement speed

Zarkith says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Not really much of a hug when you're just shooting hearts at a distance now is it? Call it hugs all you want or make the projectiles cute, but that won't make the mechanics of your weapon anything close to unconventional. (Kind of a jab at all the entries that do this, not just yours. It's been irking me all week and I need to get it off my chest somewhere.)

I would've liked to have been able to change my mask after dying since I just wanted to see how they all played, but ended up stuck with my choice even if I found I didn't enjoy it.
The slow speed of the characters also hurt the game a bit, as with each restart of a level it became more and more tedious. If the entire game were more fast paced in general that would have not only alleviated this problem, but made the entire game as a whole much more fun to play. That being said, it was still fun as is, just not 4 or 5 stars fun.

Score: 99300

SteveSalmond says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 11:40am

Really impressive execution, well done. I think it might have been even cooler if you had the hero giving the bad guys actual Free Hugs - you would have totally nailed the theme component! :)

ViKing Games says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:01am

Funny parody, with very well done graphics and audio. The gameplay could be better, and could have done more to fit the theme.

yuigoto says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:59am

Pretty cool tribute to Hotline Miami, with a lot of love in it, for sure! :3 And, whoa, made in 48h!? That's an amazing work, sir! :D

Graphics style, soundtrack, controls. You just nailed everything and made a great game in a really limited time! :3

Nice work! Cheers!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]