Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hide 'n Squeak

by TijmenTio - Compo Entry

Game about a mouse that's home alone with his baby brother.
Might involve blood ._.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#8Overall4.22
#10Graphics4.56
#20Mood4.14
#33Fun3.96
#52Theme4.14
#73Humor3.85
#74Audio3.77
#145Innovation3.76

Comments

retrophantom says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:26pm

really cute and interesssssting

GFM says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Those graphics and the polish... wow.
The sfx and music also help to set the mood quite well!

I got really tense on my third play, when I was able make the baby stop crying and went after the burglar to throw more toys... It was really fun. :)

PeerPlay says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:14pm

It felt like zelda running through dungeons. It was cute, short, pixelated, fun. It was Tijmen Copyright!

Gaeel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:09pm

A solid entry! Nice visuals and a great atmosphere. It's a little too punishing IMHO, but maybe I'm just bad at games?

All in all a nice idea, well executed and put together gracefully!

Hamsternator says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Wow, just wow. Are you sure you made this yourself in 48h? Because this was really awesome =D
This game is way more polished than I expect a compo entry to be ^^

TobiasNL says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Great style, good mechanich and it felt real finished, That crying sound though :P

Ourson says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Awesome!

MoogleSensei says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:52am

This was incredibly polished, I don't know how you did it! The idling animations alone for characters blew my mind.

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:54pm

smooth animations they look like real mouse animations bro

sentendo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:01pm

crazy stuff :D

Ghen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:05pm

i agree, this is extremely polish for a jam!, really nice graphics, the gameplay quite good and inovative with that lego, stick true with the memes

manabreak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:08pm

This was pretty fun! Awesome graphics style. :)

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:10pm

It's sooo good!

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:13pm

So creeeepy.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Fun idea, which fits well in to the topic. The only problem I have, is it not always possible to avoid to get eaten.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Excellent little compo entry! The graphics were cute, and the music was pretty great as well! It's a shame it ended so quickly, before the mechanics got a real chance to shine, and it would have been nice if the cupboards with toys in them were randomised each game. I really enjoyed the Home Alone vibe too!

rubna says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:38pm

so scary! I was genuinely afraid and freaked out a lot in the game, which is very hard to do in a 2d game i think!
Ace pixel art and the blendmode around the light looks really really cool too
great job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:46pm

really awesome work!

Dorgam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Fun game. I hope if there was a bigger house and more Dinos following you!
And maybe two babies!

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:16am

Tijmen, this game is great. I love your artstyle! The animations are so cute. The audio is fine as well.

Encountering the burglar is giving me a scare every time. The mix of the light appearing and the sound effect make for a great scare.

You manage to explain the game very well. Instead of "Z for actions", you always point out what can be done by pressing Z. And of course, how you zoom in on where you need to go, what to do.

The game could use some more challenge. You can just take the baby far away from the lizard, have some toys ready for when he comes, and repeat. I guess that's the whole idea of the game, but it's very easy to do. I think this could be made harder by making the Lizard walk faster, or more importantly, have multiple ways to go the each room. Right now I can just wait at the door for the burglar to appear. If there were multiple doors, I would have to check both of them, and it would give a greater scare effect for when he appears, because unlike with 1 door, I'm not certain where he will appear. I guess a counterargument could be that you can't be cornered, because you could walk to the right when the lizard comes from the left. I'd say make the lizard walk faster. Right now, even when I was cornered, I was able to just walk around him.

In general the lizard doesn't seem to be very active. He should go straight for the baby when it's crying, to punish you for taking too much time looking for toys, but that doesn't seem to be the case.

Regardless of all that, I still loved it. And I would love to play a post-compo version.

Never stop making games Tijmen.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:46am

I loved the mood and the feeling of this game! It ways a pain to replay the calling the cops part every time I died, but then I saw the game is really short :)

I liked the baby mechanic a lot. In the end, it forced me to become a bad parent and use my child as bait. Totally worth it.

vandriver says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:22am

Your style is so great, I had to replay enough times to see all the bad endings. I sat away from the baby for quite awhile expecting some kind of cutscene, only to discover upon returning you were forced to watch the carnage! Harsh!

Everything here fits perfectly together. The sounds and graphics, the bouncy animation and the cadence of the music. The explanation of controls and game. Everything is extremely simple but still expresses a lot. Really well designed.

The only complaint I have here is that it's also clearly designed for one play-through. Any kind of variation in level and the ability to skip all the dialog would make it a blast to go through multiple times.

This is an example of perfectly setting your scope and polishing it up in the timeframe given.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:10am

This is probably my favorite use of theme thus far.

And your characters are always so dang cute I can't stand it!!! (in a good way)

Your pixel art is getting really good. You manage to keep it simple, yet manage to make it feel so lively and buttery smooth. The animations are awesome and bouncy and ooey gooey UGH I WANT TO JUST EAT IT!

That baby crying sound effect though... oh god. I can't stand it. I'm sure that's the point, because a baby crying is an awful sound in real life, too.

MICE POLICE!!! Those mice police pretty much pushed me over the edge into cuteness overload and now I'm dead.

The game IS very easy, though... once you figure out the range of the lego/marble placement. At first it's tricky and they kind of go up a little further than you'd want, but it's still easy to set up a trap and lead that big dumb hungry lizard right to you.

The game is cute but you have the bloody awful murder-death-kill scenes and that's ... UNCONVENTIONAL. And any game that's like Home Alone with mice police is pretty much the best thing ever.

Now can we get a post-compo version where we play as the lizard? I'm sssssssssssssso hungry!

Sanguine says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:35am

First of all, extremely polished animations and effects like you always do. Really enjoyed that. Here's a few things I noticed though:

Dropping the toys felt a bit off because they dropped slightly above you, instead of at your feet where I would have expected them to drop.
The game felt a bit slow but that might be my computer (There was a semi-slow response time when pressing keys)
When I was in the baby room near the door the alligator entered and instantly killed me.

Next to that, I enjoyed it a lot! I like how it feels more like a dungeon than as an actual house and that the alligator was really scary.

rnlf says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:50pm

So cute and the way the mouse talks, so funny :D

The amount of polish in this game is amazing. Very good work!

Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Pssst - you are in today's LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-b3VBbOJ7zY

Saker Games says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:18am

Lovely graphics and gameplay. One of my favorite LD32 games. Well done!

sputnik says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:07pm

That's some intense lego play! Graphics and music are soooooo good!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 3:41am

Great audio, humor, and innovation. The music reminded me of Wario Land for some reason, which is good! Would love to see more of this game! Well done! :D

Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:04am

Very cool game, short but very polished! Good work!

May 1, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Extremely polished entry, loved the graphics for this game and thought the characters had so much personality. The zoom ins was also a really nice touch that helped with the flow of the game. Really impressed.

mar3k says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Amazing! So well done, the graphics are great, the audio, and the idea as well. Also it follows the theme. Good job.

Snicklodocus says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 3:28am

Wow! Very polished! The art is really phenomenal. The only thing that annoyed me was pressing Z to use legos would sometimes try to open a closet instead, if I was standing close to one. This resulted in poor Mouse's demise at least once... Great job!

Alex Rose says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Your graphics are getting better each time. As always, incredibly polished. I love your dialogue system, zooms, effect when the baby gets eaten etc. etc.
Perhaps randomisation of the toys would’ve been good? Though for a jam I suppose it alleviates frustration if you can work out exactly where all the toys are.
The lighting system and character design are great. Audio is great too, though a separate track for being chased would’ve been cool.
I normally dislike games like this where you have to hide, especially adding that you have to protect something too and you have limited ammo which you can’t always guarantee will hit – I normally get stressed by games like this, but the low “health” of the dinosaur made it alright.
Overall, great entry as always. I can’t really think of any criticisms other than little things like.. the first time I respawned I was like “ugh, I have to do the cutscenes again?” but after playing it again I realised it’s only like 10-20 seconds so it’s not really a problem. I would personally probably have tried to find a way to fade in during the phonecall without it breaking the immersion. But that’s a really minor gripe for a great entry.

foolmoron says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 2:06am

The simple graphics are used sooooo well. Those light graphics are awesome and you used them well to highlight the objectives of the game. The camera trailing a few pixels behind the player felt AMAZING. I know it's a simple concept, but it especially good here in combination with the light graphics. The light flashing and camera focusing on the burglar when you spotted him was really satisfying, whether you were actually looking for him, or he sneaked up on you.

I liked the one-hit-kill aspect - it took me 3 tries to beat it (that death animation is hella gruesome)! But it was really annoying going through all the dialogue again after restarting, especially since there's like 1 second before you can advance dialogue.

Gameplay itself was interesting, but not very satisfying. The coolest thing was how you used the cabinets as a means to get the player to explore the area. But after you get toys, throwing them and luring the burglar into them was not particularly challenging or fun. The baby crying was a cool idea, but also didn't end up adding much to the game. I picked up the baby once when it cried, then put it back, then beat the game without worrying about it again. Maybe if there were multiple burglars or the baby cried more often, there would be more tension when exploring? I dunno. The scripting and flow of the game was really impressive though, even though it was short. Beginning, middle, end were presented clearly and strongly.

Atmospherium says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 2:34am

Nice kid-friendly game without snakes biting my head off or eating infants.

Graphics were perfect for a game of this type and those lighting effects kept getting my attention. The music really fit the tone of the game, but it did get a bit tiring after a while. I love how simplistic everything is, including the controls.

The ways you handled player instruction were awesome, whether by highlighting the objective or giving clear indication of when to use the Z key. That level of guidance for the player can often be frustrating, but you handled it in ways that in tune with the rest of the game.

Really cool entry.

Ditto says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Yo, this be the best game of the compo aight.

except for it being frame dependent. lol.

best

Jezzamon says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:19pm

This was a very charming game! It was fairly late when I played it and I just had a fairly unnerving incident so it was pretty freaky when I spotted that lizard!

You did really well with the UI, as others have said. I liked how everything fit with one button!

I'm not sure whether the toys 'did damage' to the burglar, or whether you just had to stall for time, but it didn't seem that difficult to win, just hide behind a door with a sneaky trap before moving on to the next room.

The audio fit perfectly, which was great!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]