Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

GameRoom

by Anshul Goyal - Compo Entry

Welcome to GameRoom! GameRoom takes place inside a flashy arcade house where a dedicated area inside the room is reserved for each type of challenge. This particular room focusses on Ring Toss skill. The ring is your "unconventional weapon" that will help you in overcoming any challenge inside the room. The more challenges you complete the better are your chances to move on to the next room (virtually non-existent). Don't you wanna come out as the MASTER or MISTRESS of the GAMEROOM?

How To Play:
If you have played Ring Toss before, this would be a no brainer for you. However, there is a difference between the real world and the virtual world and you may require some warmup before you are ready to take on the real challenges and aim for highest M*****Fing score. All you have to do is throw the ring so that it surrounds or partially intersects the objects on the floor. You can control the direction and speed of your throw. GOOD LUCK CHAMP!

Controls:
WSAD or Arrow Keys: Move
Left Mouse Button: Hold to select the throw speed. Release to throw the Ring.
Right Mouse Button: Pause the speed calculation
M: Mute Sound

Tech:
Unity3D and Pixen

The background soundtracks are not done by me and are just there for extra ambience. You can mute them by pressing 'M' on your keyboard.

Please leave your GameRoom experience in the comments. Thanks for playing!!!

PS: I could have also called this game 'Ring Toss Simulator' but whatever.

PPS: The game that I originally wanted to make was a dragon(invisible) fight game. Something like the training exercise in How to Train Your Dragon movie with Hiccup. More on this in the post-mortem.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#655Graphics2.89
#760Innovation2.79
#800Fun2.77
#846Mood2.54
#866Overall2.83
#882Humor2.00
#1053Theme2.38

Comments

igorfelga says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Graphics agreeable and sound is good.
The Level Design is confuse and i don have much fun in the game (i don't konw why).

jdselsor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:34am

I loved the music and the graphics but I don't really see how it fits with the theme. The games are fun.

androxz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:37am

awesome!

shimage says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:37am

I like that music! I wanted to kill some monsters.

Lissar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:43am

Rather difficult to control and I was confused about what was going on!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:06am

Really good wii sports type of game, wasn't really a weapon, would have been cool to see it used as a weapon.

pixzleone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:10am

Music is good, why did you opt out?
good job though!

balom says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Great job! I love the arcade-room feel, and the gameplay is a really unique idea.

richiebranson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:52am

Game was pretty cool. I like the way the ring physics worked. I kept seeing the little targets for the rings as land mines. It'd have been cool if the ring detonated them. It'd have made the rings more weaponized, lol. Good job!

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:01am

I didn't quite get it.. :/

novadream says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:51am

I would've really really loved to see ring toss used as a weapon. Like maybe to bind up some robots or something? :3

Anywho, as a ring toss simulator it was okay, and I liked the color selection for the environment.

Ghen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:53am

good idea using hoops as weapon, but unfortunately its not really a weapon :/, i found that in the limited shoot challenged, it seems i can't hit the last back on the righst side target, replay it twice, still the hit not registered

sputnik says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Interesting idea. Good music!

ajayajayaj says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:06am

How did you not make the music if you are doing the compo?

2Bit says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:18am

I really liked the format of the game, how it's kind of like an arcade and you can go around picking what to play.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:55am

Very simple, but fun :)

andrewid says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Nice game! I liked the carousel challenge with moving targets. Got me engaged until I cleared all the mines.

Nice soundtrack, perfectly suits the game.

Would be nice to have a sound effect whenever you either clear or miss a mine.

And as a fun feature, if you clear a lever, you should receive a prize :p

shrapx says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:57pm

quite a feature-full selection to make the most of the game. the aiming seemed pretty accurate, like, i didnt feel cheated if i didnt hit the target. I think this kinda game needs friends to really make it fun, to compare score.

iceburg7 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:50am

Pretty cool game. I really appreciated the first-person perspective, and the game had a strong arcade feel. But I only felt like a handful of the games were actually fun. I liked the whack-a-mole and the limited-shots because they each had a unique moment-to-moment objective.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:00am

Music got a little repetitive, but major kudos on the number of ring toss variations you made. There are a lot!

Borkleby says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:39am

I really liked the music, wish I could give it five stars!

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:46am

Pretty interesting idea. Could definitely be fun with more variety.

calavera says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:55pm

All its missing is an over-sized stuffed monkey prize for when you get a high score.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Points for originality, graphics, and audio. The ring toss mechanic could use some polishing to make it 'feel' more fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]