Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Dear Chancellor

by Ludonaut - Jam Entry

Controls:

Hold LMB to aim, RMB activates the Unconventional Weapon.

Gamepads should also work! (depending on your browser). Aim with the analog sticks, try what the buttons do.

The +/- keys on your keyboard increase/decrease speed and the number of enemies spawned, feel free to cheat.

Best played in Chrome-based and WebGL-enabled browsers. Seriously, don't even attempt to play this in Safari, it will look like ass and the audio probably won't work properly. Don't be a Safari.

Description:

"Dear Chancellor is like, a totally highbrow critique of late capitalism. You wouldn't understand."

Made with Construct 2 in a couple of hours. This was somewhat of a last-minute project as I had other obligations and I lost like half a day of work to a system freeze. Because I didn't do an initial save of the project then, C2's autosave function didn't do its job. So yeah, fun times. I feel like I could have done a lot more with this idea, but there you go. Might do a post-jam version, I dunno. We'll see.

Credits:

Music CC-BY-SA by Jake Cataford
https://soundcloud.com/jakecataford/sets/game-jam-tracks

Laser Sound and Mega Horn from freesound.org
http://freesound.org/people/ksthultz15/sounds/232599/
http://freesound.org/people/Sarithule/sounds/245883/

Explosion Sprites from Adam Atomic's Abandonauts Set
http://adamatomic.com/abandonauts/

Amazing Coin Sprites by Clint Bellanger under CC-BY-SA
http://opengameart.org/content/animated-coins

Picture of Merkel wearing 3D glasses CC-BY-SA by Armin Kübelbeck
https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Angela_Merkel_10.jpg

Picture of Merkel's Hands CC-BY-SA by Armin Linnartz
https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Angela_Merkel,_Juli_2010.jpg

Menu screen gif from some movie via google image search, sue me.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#7Humor(Jam)4.35
#172Mood(Jam)3.56
#176Fun(Jam)3.58
#546Overall(Jam)3.18
#577Theme(Jam)3.28

Comments

bonus1up says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Love it!!!
But the rating widget doesn't appear?

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:33pm

It does now. Thanks.

diiq says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Mhahahahahaha this was my first real, deep belly laugh of day. Thank you!

Flayk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:27pm

I don't get the reference but this is hilarious and so fun!

Tuism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:23am

Damnit now I really wish you hadn't lost half a day of work on this. Superbly done, channeling Sos in a big way :)

Is this about Quantitative Easing policies in Europe or something?

It's more a toy, but the juice is OFF THE CHARTS. Really good :)

REALLY want to rate the music :)

GarethIW says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:25am

I have *no* idea what just happened, but I think I liked it :O

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:38am

Be sure to right-click, everyone!

For those that don't get the reference: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Merkel-Raute

sputnik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Hahahah! Love it!

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:50pm

This may be the best thing I have seen. IRL.

volkoivan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:50pm

I liked it, the feeling was good, but I don't understand what happened
5/5, because why not

zwartraider says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Oh wow, that's some deep political commentary, and indeed, I don't get it :) I shoot money, but then more money appears and I am increasing an existing debt. Awesome, the special move is also quite cool. Nice animations and overall feel to the whole thing.

Smirnov48 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Very fun little game! :)

BIZM says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:25pm

We played this for way too long! Go Angela go!

ker0chan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:51am

This is obviously more of a toy than anything else, but the visuals and effects are top notch ! Good job, keep working on this :D

dyfer says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:19pm

i had a big laugh at the first picture and the game gave me a new one xD very cool ^^

zatyka says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:54am

Silly, short, not much gameplay, but damn that was enjoyable.

slowfrog says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:17pm

I find your critique of the capitalistic system a bit abstract. A few pictures of Greek politicians with a background music generated by high-frequency trading automata would have made it more powerful, I think ;)

uvwar says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Very fun/interesting game for something only made in a few hours! I'm assuming you can't actually die/lose right? Keep adding to this and hope your saves don't eat themselves in the meantime.

steboots says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Hahahahahahahaha, that just happened. Sorry you lost your work, this was magnificent given your time frame!

Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:36pm

I love the punk style graphics design. I don't really get the political reference, but I love that there is one!

randoman says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Hahaha, I love the style of this game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]