Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Littleboom

by Dyn - Compo Entry

Your world was bombed and destroyed by unknown. And you need restore and revenge.

Little boom is a sandbox game influenced by alchemy genre and The Little Prince novella.
In it you can mix elements and rebuild your world from them.
Some of items in the world can interact and mix too. And all of them can be destroyed with bombs to get more elements!

- Mix elements in the cube
- Drop bombs to find new elements
- Build different structures
- 4 type of bombs: basic, running, cluster, poision and jumping
- 30+ items and 50+ recipes

------------------------------------------
Engine: Unity 5 + Leantween library
3d modelling: Blender
2d tool: Paint.net
Music: FL Studio
Other: Visual Studio 2013
------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------
Some of recipes
------------------------------------------
Don't read if you want to find by yourself
Find how to get elements is up to you anyway
Correct placement in cube - by yourself
? - some element. Find by yourself, you know.
------------------------------------------
Bomb: Fire+Iron+Fire
Bomb: Fire+Iron+Clock
Cluster Bomb: Bomb+Gear+Bomb
Cluster Bomb: Bomb+Gear+Bomb+?
Run Bomb: Bomb+Gear+Clock
Acid Bomb: Grass+Sand+?
Jump Bomb: Bomb+Gear
Land 1: Grass+Dirt
Land 2: Grass+Dirt+?
Land 3: Grass+Grass+Dirt
Land 4: Water+Grass+Dirt
Tower: Glass+Brick+Stone
Glass: Water+Sand
Brick: Stone+Fire
Meteorite: Stone+Sand
Tree: Water+Grass
Fire: Grass+Grass
Fire: Dirt+Dirt
Clock: Gold+Glass+?
Gear: Iron+Silver+?

------------------------------------------
Just before sumbittion I found that intro is very laggy on WebGL.
Sorry.
Hope to fix it later.
------------------------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#420Graphics3.25
#440Innovation3.26
#635Audio2.49
#688Mood2.76
#730Overall2.97
#877Humor2.04
#955Theme2.68
#992Fun2.37

Comments

dizshok says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:59am

Cool game. I like intro and 3d stuff placing.

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:06am

cool, could be longer

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:29am

Nice Idea, even with an intro :-) Opening the inventory with the button could also be done via mousebutton, especially since the player is a bit too large for the ludum dare window. Other than that, nice one

phi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:40am

The UI is quite intuitive and the instructions are sufficient for a basic understanding of the mechanics. The crafting system is a bit confusing. Which elements can I combine and how do they have to be placed? I feel like the placement of the elements is kind of unnecessary...
Otherwise, interesting concept and a nice basis for further development. :)

strega says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:45am

Cool intro. I had some difficulty playing in the embed version of the game. Had to scroll down to reach the inventory.
I added this css to the embed page to make the scrollbars go away

* {
margin: 0;
padding: 0;
}

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:14am

Sorry but brute-forcing the placement of the recipes is just really frustrating!

mike1101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:16am

Very cool. Love the intro. Great music / atmosphere.

Man, that unity plugin is killing my machine !

The bomb sounds are blown out ... far too loud and full of bad distortion.

Drop bombs and collect elements ... Cool idea. I couldn't figure out what to combine how ... ANd I dropped a bomb on the place with the tower (is that my place ?) and then the instructions disappeared ... And then I didn't know what to do next ... What am I doing again ?

Great intro, again ...

Malsanity says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:17am

Could be nice with hints, as the minecraftian crafting system is always confusing to newcomers

mike1101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:17am

Very cool. Love the intro. Great music / atmosphere.

Man, that unity plugin is killing my machine !

The bomb sounds are blown out ... far too loud and full of bad distortion.

Drop bombs and collect elements ... Cool idea. I couldn't figure out what to combine how ... ANd I dropped a bomb on the place with the tower (is that my place ?) and then the instructions disappeared ... And then I didn't know what to do next ... What am I doing again ?

Great intro, again ...

MrDave says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:20am

Its rare to see an intro video so I liked that. It took me a while to realise that you had to put the items in the right place in the grid however I think this is a nice take on those element combining games.

hunttis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:21am

I REALLY like the idea! Nice intro too (Explosion sounds are really loud in the intro, though) :)


I think the combination box could use an "empty"-button if you want to throw all the ingredients out of it. Maybe also a box that shows you recipes that you've already found out (and maybe ones that you've found out that don't work). Perhaps the combination box could start with just two slots, so you don't think that you have to fill it up to make a combination :D

Dyn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:26am

@All Thanks for you comments.
@All Finding recipes is part of the game. But you can find them in description.

@mike1101 Agree, Unity's webgl is still in preview mode and it's slow, but right now unity web player is not working in Chrome by default.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:27am

I didn't understand why the bombs would go up and down, which caused me to miss click a few times.
The first few times I got stuck and had to refresh the page to restart.
Also, the music changed for no reason after a while

Dyn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:30am

@hunttis good ideas with empty button and know recipes, i'll add them to post-ld

Terrabalt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:38am

Well, i'll be honest; i don't know what the heck i'm supposed to do here.
Blow up some circly things with bomb, and then make a land out of it. then get out of resource and just stand there.

Dyn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:44am

@Terrabalt you should try not to run out of resources.
To do this: blow meteorites, get resources from them, mix to a new bombs and lands, place and blow again.

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:06am

Failure requiring you to sit through the intro is a bit frustrating.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Needed hints, but was a pretty fun game overall, however I did suffer great amounts of lag though it might be me.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:32am

Is it just me or is it really slow? Sorry, i'll com

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Great idea. Crush sounds are very horrifying.

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:55pm

The intro was well made. A tutorial or something like that would be helpful.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:56pm

I like the fact that there's an intro sequence with some backstory, I also like that there's some text that tells me the first steps I need to do once in the game... but it sort of ends there. I'm at a loss when it comes to figuring out what Im supposed to do after doing the four steps mentioned.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]