Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

PROTOCOL ON BLINDING LASER WEAPONS 20XX

by radmars - Jam Entry

The year is 20XX. The Geneva Convention has been torn to shreds, and neo-punk speed junkies ride the space highways while blinding each other with high-powered laser pointers. You count yourself among them. Don't crash up!

Controls:
x/c: laserblast
up arrow: pedal to the metal
down arrow: pump your brakes kid
left/right arrow: get your swerve on

A RADMARS Joint
Team:
adhesion: audio, code, art
emarcotte: code, art

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#87Audio(Jam)3.81
#243Mood(Jam)3.45
#407Humor(Jam)3.10
#421Fun(Jam)3.19
#484Overall(Jam)3.26
#653Graphics(Jam)3.00
#661Theme(Jam)3.15
#663Innovation(Jam)2.85
#1347Coolness48%

Comments

peecestudios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Nice game. Loved the music. I thought the sensitivity was to high though

solarexplorer says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:09am

good music good atmosphere, controls felt imprecise

stvr says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:12am

You are not joking about the lasers being blinding!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:13am

Controls weren't great as you were essentially swerving back and forth the entire time. Still, fun little game!

Kitsubi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:25am

I loved the graphics style and the blinding of the lasers really worked. My main complaint is while I understood how to lose I wasn't really clear on what the win conditions were.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:34am

I really like how my tops speed is not 11, 100 or 88 its 1100. That sets a new standard. This one goes to 1100. I like the future retro feel and the idea that gangs of jerks drive around at 1100 units per time slice shining lazers in each other eyes. Although the ctrl is a bit slidy at high speeds at slow speeds I think its well done. When you hit the barriers it deflects you a bit and it feels pretty cool. You have to be on top of that.

If I was the president of radmars I would take out all damage incurred by the cars and the barriers and keep the instant death on the outer boundaries. This way we only have to worry about controlling well and the bumper cars could be part of the fun.

fauge says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:42am

laser blast felt a little slow

Tortoise says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:03am

Excellent splash intro, good overall audio. I like the idea of the punishment for getting hit *BLINDING YOU*.

reheated says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:45am

Simple but really fun! Perfect music. I like the interpretation of the theme. The best part for me was wondering how the incredibly realistic steering AI worked (it's crashing in precisely the difficult places where I crash! Is it searching for obstacles and computing the steering required to avoid them??), and then looking in the code and seeing how you did it.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:30am

Cool! I wish there was more feedback when you hit other cars with the laser, and I wish that your car was towards the bottom half of the screen instead of the top half. I also liked Tenkosei Roboto, keep up the good work!

Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:41am

Immediate thing I noticed was the camera doesn't really keep up with the action when you accelerate to max velocity, so there isn't a lot of head room for higher skill gameplay. Unlike others, I liked how the vehicle kept some of its horizontal vector when steering and thought it made the controls more engaging.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Nice! The music was cool, lasers were blinding, and the future was now.

crazya02 says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:06am

The laser blast was a bit too slow. Like the idea, but it's a bit annoyingly difficult to actually hit anything.

May 7, 2015 @ 3:22pm

The art style reminds me of some SNES game I can't remember the name, it's very nice! The music is great, matches perfectly the atmosphere! Nice AI too, very realistic! Your team's logo really got me from the beginning with that awesome animation!
As for the downsides: I think the controls are a bit too sensitive, it's difficult to align the car vertically. The lasers are a bit too blinding, I guess a life system would make it less penalizing, since I'd not lose the race instantaneously when crashing. The camera could be a little more responsive to the player too. I'd never know when I could fire a laser, I think it'd be nice to have a gauge bar showing the time until the next shot.
This is a kind of game in which perfect responsiveness and feedback are core to allow the player's fast reaction. It's really difficult to balance everything, even more in just 72h. You have a very promising game in your hands, keep working on it and it'll be great! I'll give you 5 stars! :D

Artylo says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Score: 6226.
Awesome music, fluid controls and cool gameplay. Now you get a high score too!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]