Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Soundkraft

by carrymove - Compo Entry

What can be used as weapon?
What weapon would look epic and pathetically?
I think it's soundgun!

CONTROLS:
Ctrl (⌘) or left mouse button — shooting
W and D — Movement
Space — Jumping

You need stay alive during 3 waves.
KILL EVERYBODY AND ENJOY!

TOOLS:
— Unity 5 Personal Edition
— Adobe Photoshop CC
— FL Studio 11 (with Massive and Reaktor 5 VSTs)
— Visual Studio Express 2013 for Windows Desktop
— Chronolapse

NOTE: You can run WebGL build, but Desktop version contains better VFX!
UPD: Fixed the shit with black squares that still shooting.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#43Audio3.93
#83Graphics4.09
#281Overall3.47
#327Fun3.33
#392Mood3.12
#400Theme3.52
#469Humor2.84
#633Innovation2.98

Comments

donan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:51am

Festival of lights lol xD. I really like the mood and the graphics, but it needs a bit more challenge :D. Good work ^^

MRvanderPants says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:54am

omg the particles haha. Really cool game. Love the audio and graphics!

jsmars says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:55am

Really cool graphics and audio integration! It was a bit difficult to attack without just tanking damage, would have been more fun if there was a way to avoid attacks and attack to make for more of a challange.

Jaenis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:55am

Fun game! Hard to survive longer though

noxuma says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:56am

COol =D

Jaenis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:00am

Oops, clicked the wrong button, here's with ratings

ThreeUp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:04am

The color bend posteffects were amazing! Use of sound was okay but the play-stop was a bit old after a while. The combat looks nice but I didnt really feel like killing more of the dudes after a couple minutes.

rg_rem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:42am

dubstep gun?

carrymove says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:44am

@rg_rem yeah, you're right

Split82 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:18pm

That shooting effect is super cool. Controls could be a little bit more tight, but overall it's a solid entry.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Oh yeah, gameplay really nice, graphics are very good too, nice entry.

xirion11 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Really nice but i dont like that when i kill any enemy they disappear but there is a square that is still shooting me.

fabriciopfs says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:51am

I liked a lot, but is a little strange when black dots shots at you. It's really hard to identify when you are taking damage.

lvoursl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:47am

Oh my God! That's fantastic:)
Perfect sounds, cool graphics and interesting gameplay!
I have a lot of fun, thank you!

Perjoka says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Great game, i love the graphics!

TideS says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Enemies keep spawn and game gets very laggy. However i liked mood and graphics, great job.

Diventurer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Very nice!
I honestly thought I was winning, as I was reaching final wave - then I realised that they were all collected on the bottom. :S
I insta-died, lol.

Great game. I love musical games.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:12pm

The concept is fantastic, great use of the theme! The visuals and audio are great for a solo 48 hour job. The gameplay itself is a bit lacking though, and I found it odd that weapons would stay behind and continue shooting even after I had blasted off the soldiers with my sweet tunes.

Smokeylope says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Great graphics and nice audio. Nice take on the theme too. Needs some sound effects when taking damage.

DKoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Love the effects and the CRT shader. Agree that the shooting black squares are annoying, was that intended? Simple but very fun and good looking game, also liked the sounds very much. Weapon was not tooo unconventional....

rantt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Loved the graphics and audio. I was playing the WebGL version and when I killed the mobs a little black dot was still shooting me, it wasn't doing any damage but it made it hard to tell if I was actually getting shot later on when things got crazy. Fun game, I really enjoyed it. Great job!

Robotic-Brain says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Unfortunately the controls (WebGL) are very glitchy :(
Without that it would be a fun game. Really like the Graphics!

mildmojo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Music as a weapon reminds me a little of Harmonix's unreleased FPS, Chroma.

The sound is good. The gun's dubstep is appropriately wub-wubby and sounds powerful.

Really nice pixel art and effects. The glows and particles work really well and the color palette is cohesive. The game looks great.

The controls are a little strange. On a mac, the browser went weird when I tried using modifier keys to shoot, so I used the trackpad (not ideal). I could tell there was a double-jump, but couldn't make it work reliably.

It doesn't look like you can dodge enemy bullets because their firing rate is so high, so it's more about wading into the fray and then retreating to find health packs. It'd be nice if the successive waves upgrade your weapon's firing pattern so you could hit them from above (sound grenades? bass drop?). And are the black blocks left behind when enemies die supposed to keep firing at you? That was odd.

Nice work!

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Whoah! Weapon has prety good visuals and concept. But by the implementation this is just standard shooter. Oh.

Clavus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Pretty! Platforming and shooting mechanics were a bit glitchy (enemies left a firing pixel for a few seconds after they died?), but fun nonetheless.

Suhvan4ik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Fun dubstep gun
Привет из Екатеринбурга(=

Kaijuu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:15am

И тебе привет!
Крутая игра!

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:03pm

That gave me epilepsy xD J/K, awesome effects and graphics, and the sfx are fantastic as well. Weapon is fairly creative... game is complete, congratulations xD

Good luck!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:04am

Really liked the graphics and feel of the game. The sound gun was a nice idea and good game mechanic.I wanted to see more waves and see the gun upgraded more.

Pixel Heart says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:35pm

The style is just amazing!! Great job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:09am

using music as a weapon - nice!

runvs says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Nice graphic effects :D

Sometimes it was hard to see if the enemy was already dead though. ^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]