Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Compassion

by masterboth - Compo Entry

Phew... I finally finished a game! well... mostley.

I was heavily influenced by this image, but although they look similiar, they aren't, I hope this doesn't become a problem:
http://theasyname.deviantart.com/art/video-games-366074075

This game was made with LÖVE (love2d.org)
If you are using Linux, then install LÖVE and execute the .love file.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#104Graphics4.00
#109Mood3.64
#187Theme3.82
#450Humor2.88
#526Overall3.20
#581Innovation3.06
#953Fun2.49

Comments

dvdfu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:20am

I spawned as one of the blue players early in the game and started falling endlessly...is that a bug?

Ellian says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:28am

Wish there was more to it. :)
The ending was somewhat predictable, but it was still good nonetheless. I liked that the narration comes from the enemy, too :D

masterboth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:30am

Thanks for the feedback! @dvdfu I'm not sure what could have caused that problem, but I think I've fix it.

ZoneOne2 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:32am

I, too encountered the spawning bug dvdfu mentioned.
Happened the first couple times I tried playing, but I made it through all the way the third time.

GhostBomb says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:32am

Haha, I'm sad now :(

Leon75 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:33am

Funny game, but unfortunately no real gameplay. Still a good game to play through

dvdfu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:14am

Seems to work now! Short & sweet game :)

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:42am

Fun art that's for sure! Nice job there.

ErikU says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:49am

A neat little game. The art does look very similar. Interesting take on the theme.

rnlf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:47am

I really liked this, it didn't look like much, but there's a message behind it and that's always something I enjoy. The end killed it a bit for me though. Would have preferred if both would survive and.

Nice, small entry with a message!

SiENcE says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:59am

Good idea and story! Your theme, love as an weapon is somewhat similar to my theme :). Nice!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:30am

Well that was dark :p

headchant says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:45am

The idea was good and the controls were feelling nice. I hoped it would be longer but this fits the theme. Did not have any problems playing on OSX.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:50pm

I want to start by saying that I disagree with the last sentence of the game, this is very nice and well worth the play!

It took me a bit of time to figure out that I was supposed to die, some instincts are hard to unlearn :)

The game has wonderful art, I wish that you would make an entire game with similar art, I saw the image that you got the inspiration from, and I dare say that your take on it is a LOT better.

The game has a touching message and I am happy that I got the chance to play it, very well done!

esayitch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:41pm

I very much liked the art style and the atmosphere (a shame that there wasn't any music to accompany the visuals) Nice twist at the end, didn't see it coming :)

Good luck!

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Buggy, but looks pretty!

morokiane says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:52am

Not bad, its a good concept. Time is a killer.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:52am

Peace is your unconventional weapon, I like it!

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:54am

Awesome! I had a little bit of trouble with the weapon cursor - it seemed a bit laggy when I was airborne for some reason. Perseverance prevailed in the end, however :) Loved the 'tutorial text'.

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:57am

Oops, that comment was intended for a game in another tab - how embarrassing. ^^ Real review to follow shortly..

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:06am

Well, that didn't take too long, haha :) Neat take on the theme!

Tommyno222 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:13am

Beautiful example of how easily is possible to give some game an idea and a value. The graphics style is also wonderful!

Incidentally, I've also created little story-driven game from war setting, so if you want, I'd be pleased if you check it out :)

lanza says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:38pm

The art is very cool and the idea is very good too. Too bad you didn't have enough time, the game is pretty neat

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:15pm

LOL best ending ever 10/10

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:48pm

I pressed every button on my keyboard. Very good of you to code in 2 jump buttons!

I though it was good, I liked that you just have to die. I'm good at that! Cool little game!

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Looks nice and can see this could expand to other levels as you gain friends.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Oh. This is unfinished, yeah. But very powerful concept! Few days ago I heard something simillar. A funny story.

Anyway I think you cover the theme by the right way! Good job!

scorched says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Make LÖVE, not war)) Liked the inversed narrative idea. More detailed gamification of it would be great

Spit Tex says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:25pm

I actually liked it despite it's length, however at the end I got a error after the space to continue screen. Overall very good.

nevet says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:34pm

I like the idea. Very nice graphics!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:04pm

I just wanted to let you know that your game made it into my list of top 10 games for LD32!

https://love2d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80063&p=183180#p183180

phi6 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:12am

I love it, and there's a twist ending! Big fan of that art style too, you did a good job using that effectively. Wish it had some audio!

Kitch says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:52am

Really nice look. Really interesting concept as well. Took me a while to figure out what I was doing, only to find out I was doing it right the whole time.

Thanks!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:55am

As usual, fantastic art. Shame you didn't have more time! I liked the story!

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:48am

It would've been nice to a game exploring violence from the perspective of the victim - the death respawn loop is a cool storytelling mechanic - though the joke at the end undermined it. Still a nifty little game though

Drauthius says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Nice narration and art. :)

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Cute but incredishort.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]