Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Melter

by Mase - Jam Entry

Melt & bridge your way through 3 levels. Reach the medallions. Avoid hazards.

Video Walkthrough:
http://masonvideo.tumblr.com/post/117352447627/play-through-of-my-ludum-dare-entry-melter

Protips:
You have two types of projectiles. One creates temporary blocks which can be walked on. The second type melts blocks. They alternate automatically; the mouse cursor icon changes to indicate which projectile is next.

Use the mouse to aim & shoot; distance from player controls velocity. Press "E" to invert aim.
Admittedly the aiming controls need work.

Enemies cannot be directly destroyed.

The flags are checkpoints. Touch to activate.

Bug note:
If you fall through the "Lava" and the stage doesn't reload, press R. Sometimes the collision isn't triggering properly. It usually triggers properly though... so... don't worry... too much.

Performance note:
Because the levels are destructible, it became necessary to simulate physics for every object in a level simultaneously. Otherwise the enemies & decorations would fall as they unevenly popped-in. There are better ways of doing it but I needed a fast workaround. This may lead to low framerates on some setups. Different flash players can also make a great difference.

So tired... zzzzz

Enjoy?

masonlindroth.tumblr.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#104Mood(Jam)3.76
#121Graphics(Jam)4.16
#339Innovation(Jam)3.35
#349Audio(Jam)3.14
#482Theme(Jam)3.40
#484Overall(Jam)3.26
#707Humor(Jam)2.47
#738Fun(Jam)2.73

Comments

Suese says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:39am

This is like those crazy french CBC cartoons meets video games. The animation was unique and kinda awesome in its own really out there way. I have no clue what reality even is anymore... 5/5 for mood.

Jon Reid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:18pm

I really liked the art in this, its really trippy and reminds me a lot of old 90's cartoons. However, the controls need work. Having the fire types change automatically is really confusing and means I couldnt really plot what I'm doing as sometimes i want the other type, and didnt really have a way to switch. Aiming feels a bit strange and i kept melting blocks when i didnt mean to so i fell in the lava a lot. I think this has promise though, keep at it!

Xgor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Very interesting art design.

RHY3756547 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Art style is really cool, love how abstract it is (the two colour thing looks very ZX Spectrum). The gameplay itself both interesting and challenging, though maybe a little too challenging. I felt that a tracer or something showing the trajectory of your shot would have really helped a ton. Well done!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Definitely the most unique art style I've seen in a jam game in a long time. Controls are a bit frustrating and the game runs quite slowly on my computer but the dream-like atmosphere kept me playing for a while.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:39am

The art design is top notch. Really impressive.

The mechanics seem like they could be fun, but I can't get "shooting" to work, whichever way I aim the thing just seems to fall out of me.

CireNeikual says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:12am

The art was amazing. The game itself was really difficult, I didn't quite understand the purpose of the yellow balls that come before you shoot the melting stuff. Still, great entry! I wouldn't mind seeing a full game made with this art style.

juaxix says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:13pm

I don't know if I'm inside a dream, I've no opinion about this game, just ,..p l a y

lumscum says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Art style is wonderful! Very surreal atmosphere, dug it a lot. The mechanics felt a bit confusing at first, but oddly I felt it really added to the mood of the game.

Great job!

nutcrack says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Art Design is awesome but the mechanics need some work its very frustrating...Overall 3/5

mockthebear says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:35pm

I dont know the game was very slow on my PC.

Garris says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Negative first: Controls and performance felt pretty sluggish, BUT this may have been my computer/browser's fault so I don't weigh much on that.
Positive: This game is beautiful, and have one of the most unique graphical styles I've seen so far. The concept of bridging and melting took a bit of getting used to, but really made what would otherwise have been a fairly straightforward platformed into a more memorable experience. Good job!

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:09pm

I love your art style. That dithering presses all the right buttons for me.

uvwar says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:10pm

I was confused for most of this, and the firing forwards for yellow and backward (?) for green really threw me for a while, but really cool sounds and aesthetic!

OddballDave says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:07am

The art and audio are amazing in this. Just my kind of style. I found the game surprisingly hard considering the 'weapon' is really powerful. A great entry all round though. Good stuff.

Pinpickle says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:01pm

The art is very pretty and the game is quite challenging (which is good!). I found the weapon a little too unintuitive, it didn't seem to go where I was aiming all the time and that led to a lot of frustration.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:00am

Was this your first Ludum Dare? Welcome aboard!

The art was supremely trippy, and rather scary. Unfortunately the game was too hard for me...one hit kills were frustrating, especially since even with non-inverted aim, the projectiles seemed to clip into the ground underneath your feet when you fire.

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 2:42pm

I've learned to actively seek out your game jam games because I love how they look and sound, and this is no exception. it is a bit difficult, and it's frustrating not to be able to choose to melt or build, but the invert aim was very helpful. Now i'm going to reopen the game so i can sit in the title screen and listen to the music some more. Seriously, I would love to learn how you make everything. Now excuse me while I go stalk your tumblr.

GAFBlizzard says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:36am

I just came back to say I -thought- I had played one of your games before, Mossnaso.

For some reason clicking on your name doesn't bring up any results (http://ludumdare.com/compo/author/mase/) so I had to find it from your tumblr.

Mase says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 8:21pm

@GAFBlizzard: Yeah, I think the "author page" only works if the user (i.e. moi) has made a text post... I should probably do that someday. Thanks.

Crowbeak says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 12:10am

I love the art style and I like the concept, but in practice the controls made the game unfun for me. To be fair, I'm not good at platformers to start with, but there were times when I would fire and nothing happened or where the controls simply not being responsive enough caused my doom -- even after downloading the SWF to my own hard drive to avoid lag issues. I would be interested in seeing a post-compo version that had been more finely tuned.

You tried to rate our game, before, but couldn't be bothered to install a redistributable (understandably) to fix the crash on startup issue. Our programmer has fixed the problem, though, if you're interested in giving it another go.

nassi says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Like others have mentioned it has a great mood, but it's hard in the most annoying way possible. Didn't take me long to start to hate it, sadly.

Pierrec says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 7:32am

The graphics are wonderful, as always, but this time, the controls are a bit clunky.

Mase says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Thanks for the feedbacks.
In retrospect the controls are perhaps more of an abomination than I'd like. I played the levels maybe 100 times during development so I stopped noticing the jankiness. I knew the game would be more accessible with a fixed projectile trajectory, but I wanted to try something more adventurous. I also tried to implement a shot-trajectory dotted line, but the math was too hard.
Consider watching the video if you are curious about the content but find the gameplay too unbearable.

Smirnov48 says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:20am

Very mood. Such specific. I love this graphics. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]