Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Rocket Rabbit

by jcmoyer - Compo Entry

Rocket Rabbit has taken to the sky to deal with an unknown metallic menace! Shoot your opponents down with the power of carrots in this shmup!

This game is a shmup. There are lots of bullets, but your hitbox is small - it's only the size of your cockpit. Use this to your advantage to dodge the projectiles.



Instructions

Windows: Extract and run.

Linux and OS/X: Get LÖVE 0.9.2 from https://love2d.org/. Extract the .love file from the archive, then run it from the command line:

$ love RocketRabbit.love

Controls

Z to fire
Shift to move slowly
Arrow keys to move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#191Fun3.56
#206Audio3.35
#226Mood3.36
#333Overall3.41
#338Graphics3.41
#920Theme2.78
#1054Innovation2.13

Comments

Wow says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:14am

I hated it, it was super frustrating and the screen was too small and I had to sit super close to the monitor to even see what was going on. I also played it longer than I've played any other game tonight, I literally could not stop.

Ok but seriously its a hell of a lot of fun. All I can say is some indication that I'm doing damage would be nice, especially on that boss. Maybe a small explosion after a certain number of shots, some shaking or something. The soundtrack was good and fitting, as well. Not giving it 5 in audio though, just because of how much there was to gain by adding some shoot noises or hit noises.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:21am

I loved it! The graphics were gorgeous and you did a tremendous job making the bullet hell, well.. hell. The only suggestion I can give is maybe a little more polish - making the enemies flash or something when I hit them so it *feels* like I'm hitting them, or something along those lines. Other than that, great!

barkergames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:06am

Very addicting, nice work.
I did find it annoying having the hit box so different from the ship graphic.
Music went along with it very well!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:48am

It would have been nice to have the oponents who takes multiple hits to flash when hit

timmik94 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Fire could be space or ctrl or alt but not z.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Lots and lots and lots and lots of bullets, coming sideways vertical - awesome! Not quite sure on the theme, though...

gaarlicbread says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Haha, this is awesome!

I got the giant shooting eyeball several times and never past. I wanted to have a sense that I was at least hurting it - maybe flash when it's hit properly, or a life bar?

I like the music and the enemies felt fun. When I started, I was surprised that it was immediately throwing many enemies at me at once. I was expecting more of a warm-up level, but that's ok since I think most people will only be playing most Ludum Dare games for a short time, so shorter games are better here.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:40am

I think this game could use more bullets.

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:44am

Awe man, a bullet hell game, this is the first time I've seen one in the Ludum Dare, haha. I love these kinds of games, and the fact that you made one during the compo is impressive. It inspires me, next time I wanna make one. Regardless, a hella lot of fun, I'm not very good at Touhou, and I wasn't good enough to beat this, but it was a great game nonetheless.

cdrch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:22am

Definitely a game that learned a few lessons from past greats about how many bullets to put on screen. The only real complaint about the game I have is the "feel" or "juice" as some call it. Player feedback, that is. While it is satisfying to dodge bullets, killing enemies doesn't feel particularly satisfying. Explosions, flashing colors, screen shake, or something to put a little punch in the shooting would go a long way. Overall, great game!

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Hmm.. too many carrots. I only wish that explosions would be bigger :B

nightlord says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:52pm

i enjoyed this a lot, but it was super crowded and difficult. Congrats on finishing it. I couldn't tell which objects and bullets were damaging me.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:20pm

I like to imagine that this is the rabbits from "Jazz jack rabbit (http://screenshots.en.sftcdn.net/en/scrn/3350000/3350203/jazz-jackrabbit-2-02-651x535.jpg) who are now in space to wreak havoc. I never was good at bullet hell games, but I always found them intriguing.

There's a lot of enemeies and an impressive amount of work put into the game with quite advanced patterns of projectiles that you have to avoid.

The game controls are well made and the graphics are coherent and nice.

Overall a very good entry!

muromets says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Hey look! A bullethell... wait are those carrots? Great game had a lot of fun. One observation, it would be nice if the enemies had some sort of blinking to show u hit them, and the boss a lifebar

Volatile Dove says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Nice! It's a shooter, nothing less, nothing more, but entertaining, and with carrots.

I didn't manage to kill the big circular boss, it's too hard for me (but I'm quite bad at shooters).

sbarrio says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Really nice bullet hell shump. The graphics and music are awesome as well.

P.S- Flying around the boss kind of took me back to playing Ikaruga. Which is always a good thing :)

Tommislav says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Very very difficult! Truly a bullet "hell". Still very well executed! The only thing I found myself missing was a little bit more feedback, like explosions/particles or a simple screen shake when enemies die. Very well done in this short amount of time!

sararyCow says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:33pm

I love this shump kind of games, this one catches completely this spirit.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:38am

Awesome music! Solid graphics! And when in doubt, there's always carrots! Great job!

VividReality says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Cool game :)

nassi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Damn, took a few tries but was able to win with a score of 153500. Some feedback on a succesful hit would sure have been cool. I think the player rate of fire should've been increased slightly so as to make the game feel better. I still have no idea how to get past the criss-cross of enemies near the end without losing a life :P. Well, actually I do, since I watched the 2 life clear video but you get the point. It was a hard part. It sure felt like all of the stages of a "normal" shmupped rolled together with that difficulty curve. I think the first two boss patterns could've been improved somehow. Especially the second pattern was quite dull, even though it offered the risk vs. reward way of shooting the boss by putting part of your ship inside it.

I actually only lost one life in the last stage of the boss fight, going slowly in a circle in the middle of the arena herded the bullets from both sides quite nicely while allowing me to focus on the boss. Might've just been lucky though ^^.

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:30pm

This reminds me of a certain Tyrian cheat code....

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]