Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Bubble Becky

by Dining Philosopher - Jam Entry

Bubble Becky is a short innovative platformer.
Move yourself through four unique levels with your magnificent bubblegum skills, and beat the final boss. Overthrow the robot government for justice!

- Controls:
Arrow keys to move
hold Z button to create bubbles

- Story:
Due to an unfortunate typo, Gum has been outlawed in an alternate 90s-past.
Young Superhero Becky rises to challenge the robotic law enforcement.


Best played in Google Chrome.

Made by Jelle, Anneroos & Daniel (@Hapiel) in Groningen, NL

- Tools
Sound Effects: Audacity & mic,
Music: LMMS,
Code: JavaScript & CraftyJS,
PixelArt: GraphicsGale & GrafX2,
Level Design: Tiled,
Food: Crisps, Pizza & Chocolate.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#10Theme(Jam)4.35
#29Innovation(Jam)4.11
#89Overall(Jam)3.86
#112Fun(Jam)3.71
#231Humor(Jam)3.43
#243Mood(Jam)3.45
#244Audio(Jam)3.35
#308Graphics(Jam)3.70

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:36am

I really enjoyed this! The way that your "weapon" had three different ways that it could be used was a brilliant idea. The artwork is pleasant along with the music. Felt very good to play also, top stuff!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:41am

Cool mechanics and lovely art style, also, good job in sfx and musics.

Congrats =)

MGhareeb32 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:42am

Great concept, good presentation, and interesting puzzles.

player_03 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:50am

The Z key didn't work in Firefox, but the Chrome version was great.

My favorite part was dropping down, blowing a bubble in a robot's face, blowing another one on a wall, and then hanging onto it while the robot stumbled past. Becky is a bubble gum ninja.

Matt Tuttle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:59am

Oh no, there's gum in my hair!

Really neat platformer mechanics especially since the bubble has multiple uses. Loved the boss fight as well.

Flayk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:00am

Very good. Put this on greenlight!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:00am

Wow, someone beat our boss! This is beyond our wildest expectations! :D

popcorn897 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:05am

super fun game!

The art is great and the music fits well with the robots movements and of Becky's jumping on bubbles. Blowing bubbles is satisfying although jumping from the wall could be worked on.

One tiny bug that I was able to replicate happened when I blew a small bubble and jumped up before it was blown. It caused the bubble to splat inside the wall. I just had to redo the way I jumped and blew.

funny concept and it works well!

-Sirmi: Team Toast

Firaa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:00am

Becky's hair is unnaturally resistant to bubble gum (although a certain boss's was not.) The platforming was fun enough that I was a little disappointed the game ended.

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:31am

Nice graphics and very well-thought out weapon mechanics. The background music was great, but the sound effects were lacking a bit (no sound for walking/jumping, and the death sound was weird).

Very solid entry. Good luck!

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:35am

Really well done platformer. The gum blowing was a great idea, especially how it worked in different ways for the different sizes.

I also really enjoyed the character animations, particularly the "determined" face Becky makes when she blows the bubble up.

Pinpickle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:35am

Great interpretation of the theme, what a robust weapon! It was a little unclear that you could only bounce on your bubble if it was a specific size, but once you worked it out, it was pretty intuitive.

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:39am

Excellent and original idea! Very well explored. Wish the platforming parts were a little easier though.

seraphki says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:40am

Aw man, its adorable! Lovely mechanics. Well done =D

Bergara says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:41am

The game is absolutely fantastic! The gum mechanics was very well used. Add a few more enemies and you've got yourself and awesome game!
Also, I just loved the Gum/Gun wordplay =D

Kivano says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:32am

Nice game! I like concept a lot, but it's a little to hard to use the biggest ball for me, it would be great if it would be possible to have minimal steering ability inside it.

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Pretty fun game and good graphics. :D

PurpleApes says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Fun Game !

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:00pm

very enjoyed your game , its a prety good one ;) the way to use the bubble are so smart, nice work

Park says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Really good, the controls could be smoothed out a little - allowing up + a direction while stuck to a wall to jump diagonally rather than pressing up then air-controlling would be fantastic. Some of the platforming puzzles were a bit unintuitive because of low ceilings or small ledges that provided or prevented the little bit of height needed.

But, those fine tunings are basically trivial compared to what you've accomplished, you have a fun system in place, nice art, and excellent audio. Great jam game ヾ(^∇^

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:49pm

I really enjoyed this game. Well done! :)

lanza says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Interesting mechanic, I like the fact you can use it in different ways.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:25am

Ha! The gum weapon is so versatile!! Kudos!!!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:34am

Really nice concept. I love this little girl - the animations are fantastic. Well done. Neat. Thank you ++

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:24am

Phenomenal game! The concept was incredibly well executed. The controls were fluid and responsive. The bubble mechanic was versatile and well implemented. The composition was pitch perfect and fun.

Really stellar entry, can't wait to see this developed more.

P.S. Thanks for the review :)

Jwatt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:47am

I'm a sucker for games with multi-purpose abilities. The game made an effort to showcase quite a bit of the bubbles' potential. I got a SNES vibe from the experience.

Attaching bubbles to walls was a bit buggy, though. And for the sake of responsiveness, I'm not sure if there needs to be a delay for making the smallest bubble. Should've been like, tap Z to spam small ones, hold Z if you *really* want the bigger ones.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Hard controls but you're totally on the theme. And the player's graphics are really nice.

micahcowan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:43am

Fantastic game! Fun and versatile theme, and great, nostalgic sound.

I have to confess I never could figure out how to get past what's probably the first non-tutorial level, with the big gap. I could never quite manage to get myself up high enough to that platform. I'll have to come back to it and try again later.

Really great job!

jordinuco says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:01am

It´s increbible how everybody has proposed new and original mechanics for this Ludum Dare. This one has been fantastic, thanks for this tiem of fun. Good job!

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:00pm

innovative idea! Cute art style! So addictive!

DarkBren says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Funny, the concept of bubble gum is interesting, let's make a standalone :p

rmc says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Oh my! I really liked it! I had an similar idea some time ago, but never imagined a gameplay to it and now i saw it in action! awesome!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Quite an original idea! The game mechanic is simple but fun and the presentation rather good as well =). There are some annoyings bugs though but well.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Nice Job! Had some issues where after I wall jump off a gum on the wall I get stuck facing that direction for a few seconds but it mostly gets fixed by itself anyway.

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Great game and great graphics, best unconventional weapon I've seen so far. I really enjoyed playing it. Some minor bugs but nothing important

sararyCow says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:02pm

An original idea fairly well executed. Congratulations!

Fanttum says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:29am

Got stuck on loading screen for like 60 secs. Does it need longer than that to load?

rnlf says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:11am

Most appripriate use of pink in a platformer ever!

Cool mechanics and cute look. Loving it. In one place suddenly hundreds of big "Becky can fly inside them" Bubbles appeared instead of one, had to restart the game at that point :-(

But besides that, a very solid entry. Good work!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:21am

@Fanttum, not it should not take that long on "normal" internet speeds. Which OS and browser are you using? I actually don't know how the audio is loaded, it could be that you're getting the 6MB wav- instead of the small mp3- or ogg-file.

@rnlf, sorry to hear that, we encountered the bug a few times as well, but didn't have time to fix it. Fortunately, it's quite rare.

suppi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:05pm

I love this game. it's fantastic! great job!

Mouch says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Innovative idea, nice graphics!

But unfortunately, I could only hear sounds (no music). I was using Firefox on Linux Mint.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:12am

Great mechanic :D

DeltaF1 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:16pm

I loved the delay between pressing the fire button, and shooting out a bubble. It made you stop and plan a little bit more, and made it feel more like a puzzler than just a generic shoot-em-up platformer. The three uses of the bubbles were ingenious, however the largest bubble was a bit finicky to aim properly. Overall, a solid game, with some great humour, awesome platforming, and a brilliant mechanic.

bnhw says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:51pm

The sticky gum physics were very fiddly and too frustrating, but I liked the novel idea.

phi6 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Nice mechanic with the bubblegum! Although occasionally you do get stuck which is a little bit frustrating. Graphics are excellent and then general polish and feel of the game is really impressive!

goerp says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:10pm

WOW! Great game, very original weapon!
And it looks, sounds and plays like a finished product (and I'm not just saying that because I'm from Groningen too ;)).
The graphics are cute and pixely, just like the music.

If I could wish for one thing I I would have liked some more spawn points. Sometimes you have to a lot things over.

Will Edwards says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 9:58am

Versatile gum :)

cmayhem says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 10:45am

Sweet music and I really loved the bubble mechanic. Great job coming up with the different ways to use them.

pythong says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Great game! i like the versatility of the gum. Also, for such a small girl, she has very strong lungs
well done!

blubberquark says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 5:14pm

The controls sometimes feel loose when jumping and especially wall jumping. Could use some sound effects! Otherwise good!

idoadler says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Impressing implementation.
Nice idea, good riddles, beautiful drawings.

zeejfps says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Haha love it!, probably best take on the theme I have seen so far.

tmpxyz says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:11pm

really great game, well designed mechanics and levels

yuigoto says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:11am

Nice use of "gum" as a weapon! Pretty unusual and the sticky mechanics are so good! :3

Graphics and audio set up a nice mood in the game and, it totally feels like a 90's 16-bit platforming game! :D

Nice work!

May 11, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Amazing work! Cute graphics, smooth controls, a catchy soundtrack, a brilliant innovative mechanic, well-designed levels... what's not to like? It'll be bedtime soon, but I'll play this some more tomorrow :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]