Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Spacecat Meowpatrol

by _Rilem - Jam Entry



Use the weapons your partner barfs up to lay down the LAW!




Downloads and Links


Ratings

#9Graphics(Jam)4.71
#14Audio(Jam)4.27
#32Fun(Jam)3.96
#47Overall(Jam)3.98
#60Mood(Jam)3.96
#62Humor(Jam)3.90
#417Theme(Jam)3.49
#641Innovation(Jam)2.89
#1901Coolness33%

Comments

popcorn897 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:12am

Fucking satisfying game

I must say, I thoroughly enjoyed the art (crisp and adorable). The music fit well, never grating and the gameplay was good although limited.

I found it a little odd that nothing happened to me when going to N3 grt but no big deal (unfinished level I suppose?) One complaint I have , if you really want to call it that, is that I find the items a bit useless because punching us SO FUN ( COMBOS).

Overall, great idea and design!

-Sirmi: Team Toast

zatyka says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:17am

A few notes while playing:
The punching was so satisfying.
Remarkable visuals.
Audio fit well.
Ship traveling sequence felt a bit long.
The hitbox on the punches was huge. I was hitting enemies that were pretty far below me.
After returning back from the level select, when hovering over worlds, the planet names didn't appear any more.

Overall, it was quit a lot of fun, with not a whole lot of gameplay.

Was there only the 2 levels? If so, was only 1 really playable? I ask because I want to make sure I didn't miss anything.

_Rilem says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:51am

Thanks for playing guys. :)
Yeah only 1 level was really playable. Scope Issues. ^^;

uber says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:00pm

IT IS AMAZING!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Wow, the graphics and audio here are just amazing. And the feedback on punching is so satisfying, I could do it all day. I'm very impressed, nice work!

Kyatric says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:50pm

As usual, sumptuous graphics and music and the basis for some fun game (I love old school beat 'em all like that).
The fists combo really feels satisfying mashing up the key and the fact that enemies on several Y gets caught in is really nice as well.

I also agree the ship sequence (ending especially) was a bit too long. And the weapons did indeed felt far less satisfying than the fists fury.

Too bad it's not more complete, I guess this was yet again a too ambitious project for 72 hours.

Keep up the good work nonetheless and congratulations on what you've released.

I WANT MORE !!!

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:55pm

That intro is soo good. The graphics and music are top-notch and the melee is really satisfying! :o

micahcowan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:16am

The graphics and music are great!

...The collision detection seems unrealistic though. Kind of ET-for-Atari style - if someone punches where your feet are on the screen (you seem to be up in back of them by a few feet?) you still get hit, etc. IOW, looks like a layered perspective, but plays by an exact collision detection, which isn't intuitive.

The game itself is basically button-mashing, so not really too much fun after a minute or so.

The intro's awesome!

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Pretty good !

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Amazing work, really great! Unusual controls hard on azerty but this was perfect all along! =)

dunin says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:31am

Very good graphics and sound. Find it hard to catch an unusual weapon.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:02am

The art is amazing! Moar Spacecats plz?

lody says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:28am

very fun! amazing graphics! nice :3

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Awesome game. Very polished presentation. The combat is really satisfying! Would love to see a finished version with more levels.

Prowler says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:15pm

I love this one! It reminds me of the good old street fighting games. Turtles on GameBoy etc. Awesome graphics and the sound is fantastic! "Storybased" gameplay and very creative heros and enemies. This is one of the coolest games in town. Levels are procedural, right? I love this one. I don't mind the small bugs, like the planet names do not appear after the first level.

Good job! (Like always ;))

Pat

Hectigo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:23pm

This game is solidly executed, with excellent graphics and especially audio. Punching felt nice. It would be nice to see this project more finished and with more content, it does feel a bit hollow with such great presentation but not that much in the way of gameplay.

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Meowrvelous

sararyCow says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:21pm

This is probably the best pixel art of this LD. A very polished graphics, and very satisfying gameplay (even if I'm not able to beat the armadillo boss :P). Very good entry!

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:59am

Hah, this is what i tried to make except superior in every way. Very impressive!

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:47am

The punching was so sweet it really felt unlike any other beat 'em up I've ever played. I loved the story the visuals and the characters. If I wanted to nitpick I would say the weapons would be cooler if they all worked differently(but like time restraints I know xD). But yeah this game was really solid and the graphics especially were really really good ^_^

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:55am

Holy hell, you guys nailed it with the pixel art, the sprites, the SNES style guitar patches, ahhhh. Where is the soundtrack downloaddddddd!!!?

_Rilem says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:08am

Thanks :)

The soundtrack is available at Pongball's bandcamp and soundcloud. :3
https://shannonmason.bandcamp.com/
https://soundcloud.com/pongball

Arche-san says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:27am

Love the SNES sprites style. The game mechanism are really good and the fighting system is really punchy ! :D

gillenew says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:09am

Very cool theme, and the implementation of your game. Animations were really cool and fun, one worth being very short

PixelStuff says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Amazing graphics, nice feedback when you're hitting enemies, fits perfectly well to the theme. Impressive work for such a short delay !

ehtd says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:43am

Great graphics, controls need more work. Good job.

MrShoestore says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 2:08am

art is amazing, and audio is amazing. this game has great feels. I do feel like audio triggers were a bit off, unless it was intentional, the music didn't seem to kick in until well into beating up my first dude. wish there was a little more going on with the button-mashing/difficulty of the game, just so it felt more in like with the classic beat-em-ups from my youth.

Snicklodocus says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:44am

Really cute cats! The art is really nice. The fact that you went through the work for the space visuals adds a lot. I also liked how you tied in the theme. I did encounter a bug, where I was able to pick up two items graphically and the game seemed to only register one. It fixed itself once the item broke, though. Good job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:23am

really nice job - would love to see more - some collision and control issues - very minor -

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]