Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Fruit Salad (in Space)

by SkyWolf - Jam Entry

Changelog (post Compo end / pre Jam end):
- Fixed not looping song
- Fixed grapes not shooting properly
- Fixed enemies occasionally not looking at the character
- Fixed enemies spawning in the tutorial (when they shouldn't have)
- Fixed boss being unable to shoot
- Rewrote description, i was horribly sleep deprived yesterday night

--------------------

Known Bugs / Notes:
- Even though this is a jam game (it was a 2 man team), we've self-imposed ALL the other Compo rules, including but not limited to the 48h time limit.

--------------------

Lore:
Who doesn't love a lovely fruit salad? Aliens don't. They want to ruin your freaking basket with your freaking harvested fruit, we must do something to stop them!
Unfortunately the only weapon we dispose of is the fruit itself, which fortunately looks like it does good harm to our alien "not-friends".
You must restore peace, kill those aliens and give everybody else their well deserved fruit salad.

--------------------

Info:
Hello guys, it's SkyWolf.
After LD30's experiment where i took part into the jam with a 2 man team, with self-imposed Compo rules (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=18222) i wanted to do that again.
So here we are, me and my friend zlatancld, who gladly jumped on board!

You can find us both on Twitter @akaSkyWolf and @zlatancld, follow us if you care.
Also we higly encourage feedback and insults. Tell us how much our game sucked, folks.

Have fun everybody and keep jammin'!

PS: Mac and Linux builds aren't tested, please confirm if they work or not. Thanks a lot.

--------------------

Controls:
WASD to move (can be changed in the launcher)
Mouse to shoot

PS: I strongly recommend following the in-game tutorial.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#113Humor(Jam)3.72
#175Audio(Jam)3.52
#287Theme(Jam)3.69
#320Fun(Jam)3.31
#386Overall(Jam)3.37
#414Innovation(Jam)3.24
#541Graphics(Jam)3.24

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:16am

By far my favorite game so far! :D

That audio in the beginning was really cool, I love your accent. xD

I'm gonna keep this game installed.

HeskHwis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:36am

Really cool game ! I just found it difficult to aim precisely with the mouse while avoiding the ennemies... Beautiful voice in the menu too \o/

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:37am

Hehehe, good game.
Love the movements, music and intro.
I don't like that you can't exit from the tutorial screen.
Well done other than that.

morgondag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:39am

nice voiced over intro :D

Yamzho says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:43am

Vey cool ! Nice intro voice ! (And yeah, why the heck not ?)

rudra says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:50am

The voice in the beginning was really cool !
Good Game, and yes, it was a bit difficult to aim at the enemies, but yes Good one :)

RikkyPikki says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:56am

Fun game! But you should have made it easier to click on the fruits.

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:56am

Nice take on the theme. I find aiming too hard, timing seems to be off all the time as you are moving, but I guess I'm just bad at these kinds of games. :)

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:59am

I found this weirdly hard - too many things to keep track of at once! - seriously though this is a nice entry. Cool take on the theme, and I really DID want to know what all the fruit did

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:00am

Aiming is a bit hard, but otherwise it's 4/5

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:07am

I like the concept, I think it could make for a nice roguelike game.

As other people said, it's a bit hard to control and aim tough

Nilq says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:28am

The grapihcs and the gameplay are awesome! Great idea.

rg_rem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:36am

intro is really cool

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:41am

haha, i got a bit of a fright with the intro voice! Certainly an unusual take on the theme :)

notrorschach says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:41am

Great audio and concept.

deadarius says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:43am

Sick, bro.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:45am

It was a bit hard to keep track of everything, and the aiming was really unprecise

Xgor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:46am

Would have been amazing if you voiced more stuff in the game.

strega says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Pretty awesome! and nice tutorial. I wish when I clicked it would launch the closest fruit to my mouse regardless if I click near the fruit or not.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:28pm

I love the overall idea of the game, but it doesn't feel like you spent time to make the controls feel nice, which ruins the game for me. I had a really difficult time hitting enemies.

dylanigan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:45pm

FRUIT SALAD: IN SPACE! 2015 Edition! WITH LIKE FIVE FONTS!

I enjoyed this game, especially the intro.

calavera says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Awesome! great audio and use of theme.

dix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:11am

Nice game :D Cool graphics and idea :D

jerombd says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Challenging game!

BTW I have an Azerty keyboard... it's always a bit annoying to switch to a Qwerty configuration in the middle of the game.

Also, I didn't see any fruit to grab in the tutorial :/

Embalaje says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Ey! That´s a nice game. I enjoied discovering what each fruit can do. Good variation of asteroids!

Very difficult but not frustrating, makes you want to play again.

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:31pm

lol prety funny one,

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:13pm

The intro was pretty funny, but I the gameplay was really hard to figure out. I was never sure which fruit was going to launch and they all seem pretty underpowered for how quickly the enemies take you down.

Catman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:03am

Nice idea, the mechanics work really well!

cgmorton says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Grapes are the only fruit for me. Every other fruit is terrible by comparison.

lody says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:52am

very fun game! i love having the all little pieces of melon and spamming them away :3 the intro was funny, but wow it's annoying after so many game overs XDD

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:07am

Thanks everybody for the kind comments.

I guess that shooting the fruit in the (fruit-character) direction was a bad design choice because it made it look "imprecise". Maybe it should have "followed" the mouse instead. Lesson learned!

About the intro, it was very fun to make and i'm happy it's funny to listen to. Sorry for that accent, english it's not exactly my native language. xD

@cgmorton yeah, indeed grapes are overpowered, although they are slighty more rare. If i recall the weights correctly.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:37pm

All round greatness. You da man son.

tompudding says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Fantastic idea, great game. It was so rare that I managed to hit things with the fruits I think I'd like them to do more damage, but otherwise super

Plustech says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:27pm

My favorite was the grapes, was easier to landed. A little too difficult to wait for the fruits to also click on the right one and also avoiding bullets. I would like to play a different option on the controls, maybe the fruits could be stacked and then you just need to point with the mouse to the direction you want to send it. Anyways, good amount of content and features. Good job overall

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]