Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Unconventional Convention

by Recursiveanomaly - Compo Entry

Instructions:

As described by one of the comments this game is Chess, the RPG.

Each turn you can move two units.
Each time you move a unit, it can attack any enemy adjacent to it. Good luck!.


Description:

Welcome to the fifth annual World Expo Game and Comic Convention.

Since you didn't register ahead of time you must participate in Gladiatorial combat to receive your pass.

Please note that all weapons must be peace bound.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#152Fun3.64
#165Graphics3.79
#175Overall3.64
#221Audio3.30
#357Innovation3.39
#504Humor2.78
#579Mood2.90
#975Theme2.64

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:45am

Welp, I'm terrible at chess. But awesome remake!

Ted Brown says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:46am

That's a tight little tactics game you whipped up! I thought the chess influence would be stronger, and so I was a bit thrown off, but otherwise, awesome!

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:47am

Very polished game! The game seemed really complex at first but the GUI is designed cleanly and efficiently so I could tell exactly what was going on right away. Of course the gameplay allows for strategy and complexity too, which is nice. I love the idle animations on all the characters. Great work!

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:58am

a guy with cleave took out half my team- gg

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:59am

i go to chess club so this was fun- there was a lot of things that confused me though, like what was all of that about Trekkies and Bronies about?

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:35am

Very interesting stuff. I feel that unit leveling in a strategy game is a neat touch, especially when its semi-random. Although it sucks when it feels like the enemy is so much more well equipped than you.
At first I didn't know why enemies were take twice as much turns, until i realized that activations include an attack but only immediately after a move.
The early game seems heavily dependent on first-turn advantage. Probably my favorite game from the jam so far, even if its stretching the theme.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:39am

Chess, The RPG was actually pretty fun. I liked a lot of the humorous aspects as well.

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:58pm

I like this a lot. Makes me think what you can do with the basic mechanics of chess. You really need to think strategic.

Needing to restart the whole game when you die, is pretty unforgiving, but I kinda like that.

The whole Game Convention thing was funny.

Junber says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:18pm

I really like the idea and the graphics. But in my opinion its a disadvantage to start if you dont have a knight and if you have I would just move him back and forth and if my enemy would do this too (which in my opinion would be the best thing) the game would never really start. But this could be just my fault in finding the best tactic. I really liked the game except for this.

Junber says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Just noticed that you dont need to use a knight do do this but you should avoid that any piece ends up anywhere else than your first two rows. In some strting positions there would be a better thing too do but this would have been a mistake by the enemy.
Or maybe Im just completly wrong :D

Leandrus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Very good game. Weel made, interesting, good art.
I lose at first try. then i win the rest put in some effort.
thanks for sharing.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:55am

Really fun game, I loved the concept. Would play again!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:39pm

I will tweet you with a link to a gameplay and review video soon.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:50am

I really enjoyed this. The graphical style is nice and clean. I could definitely see this develop into a larger mobile game. Nice work!

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:19pm

CHESS, rpg, I LOVE IT,,

May 20, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Really fun game! I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/m_vzNeNUn1c

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]