Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Broadship Explorer

by jhrrsn - Jam Entry

You are Protobot 554. You've been asleep for a long time. Wake up, and explore the ruins of The Broadship.

~

Hey! This is a puzzle-platformer; go through the ship, get through the doors, you know the drill! It's fairly short, but we're pretty happy with the level of polish we were able to achieve. We really hope you enjoy it, and welcome comments of all kinds!

Team
• Chris (@fenixtao) : Music & SFX
• Joe (@Joseph_Chisholm) : Art
• Jack (@jhrrsn) : Code

Update 25/04/15:
Looks like I wasn't balancing for faster computers on the focus beam! Power drain *should* be consistent across all platforms now, please let me know if you're still unable to progress. Big thanks to @zorfmorf for helping me figure out the bug!

Update 23/04/15:
Fixed a bug where the music would stop playing in Levels 3 & 4.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#127Audio(Jam)3.67
#143Mood(Jam)3.66
#247Graphics(Jam)3.81
#313Overall(Jam)3.45
#329Innovation(Jam)3.37
#473Fun(Jam)3.13
#648Theme(Jam)3.17
#722Humor(Jam)2.44

Comments

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Looks good. Simple but effective mechanics. Some normal maps for those tiles would be amazing for lighting effects. Like the voice thingy too.

Alice says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Wow, I really like this game. Like you say short but very polished - I hope you extend it at some point.

OrkyOrks says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Neat idea. I can't seem to progress past the blue orb though. Controls feel a little floaty so it's difficult to maneuver around. It's also a bit too dark for my tastes.

jakub.gemrot says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Holds together quite well - it would be cool to see how this evolve in the future, there is a great potential playing around with the energy you're depleting fast. I would add a one or two "weapon/items" to it (like gravity gun) to allow more complex puzzles.

nicklink483 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Great job you guys! I loved the music and the ragdoll effect when you lose power.

OnePonyGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:45pm

I couldn't get the first orb thingy activated; used the flashlight and clicked on it but nothing happened...

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:53pm

I really like the atmosphere of the game and it's really polished. Graphics, music and sound/voice effects are well made and the idea hold potential. I can't seem to activate that sphere though. Too bad, I wanted to see the rest of the game =(

gv1351 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:57pm

What a fantastic game really well done I want more of this

rjhelms says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Like you said, short but well polished. It took me a little while to get the hang of but once I did it felt really good.

Definitely keep at this!

rudra says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:21am

Very nice game , polished and good graphics. I hope to see an extended version of it in near future

Mykaelos says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:20am

So how do you get past the blue orb? I turn on the flashlight and focus it, but then I run out of power. The voice says that "I don't think you charged it for long enough".

reiknight says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:36am

Looks great but unfortunately I couldn't pass through the blue sphere :(. Well, I encourage you to finish it outside the jam :D!

zorfmorf says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:52am

Thanks for including a linux version!

I don't seem to be able to light the first bulb as well. Tried everything I could think of, but I always run out of energy and the voice says I don't have charged it long enough. There is a gangway filled with boxes in the upper right starting area. I was able to clear the first five or so boxes by crashing into them in the right angles but the remaining ones seem to have physics disabled on them.

Can you maybe give a hint on how to activate the first bulb? Maybe it's a bug with the linux version? I really like the start of the game and will check back in a few days to retest.

tompudding says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:27am

Yes I couldn't get through the first blue orb, and I'm also on Linux.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:46pm

really nice concept, though I think you should spend less power for doing actions. The graphics are ok, so is the music, but for being made for a ludum dare, it's a pretty nice result.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Really cool game, very atmospheric, great sense of mood. Both graphics and sound are spot on. Gameplay is good too, though I feel like you run out of power a bit too quickly and it gets a bit annoying waiting to recharge. Maybe some recharging stations scattered around would be good? Still, really good game overall.

BIZM says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:49pm

This was awesome! Well done! 5 stars! :D Incredibly polished and atmospheric. Loved the idea of focusing a light beam. Haven't really seen a game do that yet.

Only minor complaint is that the power drainage is waaaaay too fast. Even simple movement drains power, and there are no recharge stations. There was a hilarious moment when i flew up to a box, landed on it as my power ran out, and then the box toppled over slowly as I was powerless, and fell all the way back down again. Bahahaha.

tompudding says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:45pm

That was great, very polished, I loved the robot voice, and the neat shadows. Only let down is the length!

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:06am

Interesting shift from seemingly top-down movement to platforming mechanics. Not a big fan of the whole power mechanic, though. It only annoyed me without adding any apparent depth to the gameplay.

Mykaelos says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:45am

Thank you for fixing the blue orb issue so quickly!

You guys did a really awesome job. The sound effects feel really good, including when you run into something and when turning on the flashlight. Those tiny details really help make the world feel real.

Obviously, the voice is an excellent touch. What tools did you use to make it sound synthetic?

The atmosphere created by the lighting is also fantastic. Finally, I loved how the robot just falls over when running out of power.

A really well polished and excellent presentation. Well done!

May 5, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Great use of the lighting, really nice mechanics too. Fantastic feel and mood

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]