Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Fighting Words

by Clavus - Compo Entry

Them's fighting words!

See how long you can survive this literary onslaught. Type letters to load your weapon, left click to fire. Enemies shields can only be destroyed by hitting them with the right sequence of letters.

Due to this very unintuitive control scheme that makes you wish you had three hands, it might actually be fun to play with two people (one typing words on keyboard, one aiming and firing with mouse).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#169Fun3.61
#182Innovation3.70
#191Overall3.61
#221Theme3.77
#295Mood3.25
#457Graphics3.19
#480Audio2.83
#538Humor2.73

Comments

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:27pm

OSX version don't work :/.

Paulozz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:28pm

I LOVE IT! And I'm actually quite good ^^

Clavus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:49pm

@Bastienre4: that sucks to hear. I can't actually test the OSX version here, but I've used the same steps to distribute to OSX as before (which used to work).

PTSnoop says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Typing with one hand is surprisingly tricky... Good game!

Pietdagamer says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Great concept! The controls are a bit cluncky if you type with two hands (switching over to the mosue all the time), but I really like the idea. Also, the overall look of the game is very good.

grillaface says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:01pm

I liked this, seems like it could be a good typing tool. Maybe make the letters larger or a little easier to read, but overall pretty fun!

nicklink483 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:02pm

That six letter word doesn't mess around! Fun game :)

Sanka.X says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Very fun game.
It's a little bit triky to tape and aim at the same time, but I think it's part of the fun :D

I can easily imagine some kind of combo system, but it will need a way of deleting wrong lettre.

2k16's Andrei says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Amazing idea!

Mak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Really cool, maybe some music to make it feel more frenetic will suit it nicely.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Interesting realization of idea. Maybe change the color of the circles or words on them for better readability.

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:33am

Seems promising, doesn't run on my computer though.. (Using a Windows 7 computer, when clicking the .exe it loads for a second, and then nothing more happens)

UrbanHelsing says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:53am

Great game. Would like to have real words to speed up the reading. And the letters was a bit too small for my eyes.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:46am

Hey, what a neat idea. Really enjoyed it. A little hard to hit both sides of the keyboard though.

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:54am

Excellent idea, perfect for the theme! With a tiny bit of polish this seems like it would make a great spelling/vocabulary game for kids.

erdos says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:50am

OSX worked fine for me and I loved this game!! i think you really nailed the gameplay with this, it got harder at just the right rate, also the sounds (even though they're pretty basic) made it really satisfying, the most i made it to was 121 seconds but i played a lot of times :)

SimonLarsen says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Cool idea.
I feel like the difficulty escalated quite suddenly. Each enemy was very easy but once you make one mistake its very easy to die. Would be fun to try with a larger amount of slower enemies instead. Would also make the game more visually dense.
Good job nonetheless!

IDidGame says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:15pm

it's really satisfying to have all the letters you need typed out and go for the mouse
maybe its all the debugging i've been doing recently :)

Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:20pm

AH! Difficult! Cool idea though, a twist on the classic "type-shooter" game. Maneuvering between the mouse and keyboard was certainly awkward, but ultimately the most interesting and unique part of this game. It was a fun and novel kind of multitasking: kiting the enemies with one hand and typing with the other.

I wish it had been wave-based though. Currently, falling behind even a little means certain death because the enemies keep steadily coming. If it were wave based the player would have time to collect themselves every once and a while, and better feel a sense of progression.

May 9, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Great idea! Really cool take on a Typing of the Dead type concept. My only complaint is its slightly awkward typing one handed while aiming with the mouse.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]