Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

South

by Verz - Jam Entry

You're the commander of an outpost during a great war. Use your spray to mark the location of the enemy troops so your army can bomb them. You have to avoid that the North army gets your walls.

NOTE: If you get some kind of console error just refresh the page.

edU Verz-Design and Art: http://www.twitter.com/verz_edu
Rafa Carneros-Programming: http://www.twitter.com/_cafar
Enzer0-Music: http://enzer0.newgrounds.com/

Controls:

Arrows-Move
Mouse-Paint

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#24Innovation(Jam)4.16
#47Audio(Jam)3.98
#60Graphics(Jam)4.40
#67Mood(Jam)3.93
#176Overall(Jam)3.64
#198Theme(Jam)3.80
#543Fun(Jam)3.00

Comments

Dan Norder says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:44am

Love love love the graphics and the concept. Trying to play got me stuck a lot though. First was how to find out where the enemy was to make the war chalk, then literally stuck as keys frequently wouldn't take me down the stairs. With some work this could be really unique.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:16am

Pretty interesting game, loved the art and the music, they really set the mood up. The spay is an original take on the theme. All this entry needs is a bit more of polishement :)

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:56pm

A bit confusing at first but very original.

Ash K says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Great concept and lovely art! I love the character designs. My only issue is that it's a little confusing to figure out what I'm supposed to be targeting, but I really enjoy the idea behind it.

LuisDC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Loved the music and art style! At first it was difficult to understand what to do.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Amazing atmosphere! Great job!!

Issacchaos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Really cool idea, just really needed a bit of a tutorial due to the original mechanic. Otherwise I love it. The soundtrack and art is on point!

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:15pm

It wasn't obvious to me what I am supposed to be doing, because the enemies are so small. Eventually I understood...

The game is pretty cool, interpretation of the theme is good, graphics are fantastic, sound is somber and appropriate. Great entry. Good luck!

Ershany says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Love the idea and it looks great and is awesome. However it is a pain for me to get down from the tower, so it ruined the fun for me :( but music was great :)

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Really love the graphics and the game mechanics. Amazing unconventional weapon! Not so clear at first gameplay, I've missed a tutorial

jdselsor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:18pm

The graphics are really good and I had a lot of fun playing it. My only grip is that I did know what to do in game but I learn by reading the description. Excellent game.

terpin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Shit this is such a weird, cool little game. You can tell you put a lot of love into it (dem art assets, for real), I hope you keep it up! Seriously, with a little extra time this game could really shine!

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Tad' confusing but love the aesthetic and game-play.

FireCamp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Wow... awesome entry.
Graphics, mood, audio, innovation are top notch.
good use of the theme also. !

freeholdgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:58pm

This is a great entry! I love the mood, the audio, the graphics and the basic concept. The only hits for me were the muddled goals (requiring trial an error) and the slight hitchyness going into and out of the tower. Really excellent effort, great job.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Loved the visual style and atmosphere. I found myself very curious about this world and the context. Great job!

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:22am

Love the style! Music, sound and graphics are really great. Gameplay Idea is good also, but controls get stuck sometimes. Awesome job!

Cafar says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:41am

@rodobodolfo controls not get stuck sometimes, just you have a limit of rockets to shoot it. Look at the sign above the commander

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Very nice graphics and concept! The Graphics really is art in this one.

goblin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Very interesting idea, really liked the song and concept good job!
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:18pm

A really cool little piece - very strong tone for a short game

flummox3d says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Needs more polish, sometimes coming down from the towers doesn't really work. Nice job nonetheless :)

Pierrec says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Really nice. the gameplay was hard to get at first, but that's the price to pay for being innovative. congrats

runvs says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Very nice graphics. Together with the music it sets a dystopian mood.

Great game.

Frozen Stick says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Very good concept a bit confusing though.

SteveSalmond says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 11:52am

Some amazing sprite work - those animal characters are great. I especially like the way the fox guy walks :) I found the mechanics a bit difficult to work with - kept on getting kinda stuck up in the watchtowers. Still enjoyed the game a lot - well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]