Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Quiver of Claws

by Bensonance - Jam Entry

You're an archer, but you've got more than arrows in your quiver!

Squawk; squash and pierce your way through this fun little anthropomorphic adventure!

INSTRUCTIONS
WASD: Movement/Jumping

Hold Left Mouse Button to Charge an Attack.

Mouse wheel to change arrow types.

CREDITS

Ben Myres - Code
Luc Wolthers - Art + Animation
Sean Goncalves - Sound Design
Tim Harbour - Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#69Graphics(Jam)4.36
#80Fun(Jam)3.82
#106Audio(Jam)3.74
#108Overall(Jam)3.80
#161Mood(Jam)3.60
#231Humor(Jam)3.43
#451Innovation(Jam)3.19
#512Theme(Jam)3.37

Comments

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:02am

very good game ^^ the game play is cool , i love the fact to be able to stop the time in the air when you shoot
want to see more ^^

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Strange glitches occured when I jumped against the back wall in the beginning of the game. I was able t climb into the wall and fall down the bottom of the map. But I'm not nitpicking. It was curious and amusing.
The rest of the game was great. The tile set was thorough and complete. the rhino was hilarious, and the slow-mo was nifty. Very good game indeed.

Yoon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Clearly one of the best I've played so far. I don't think I need to explain how much the gameplay and content are well done.
The slow-mo effect and the hero's badassness are particularly striking.

Too bad one can fall forever by going left at the very first level though.
That said, the gameplay is very smooth and enjoyable, and I don't get how this is not flooded by positive comments already. Good luck !

kipelovets says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:36am

Great game! Visual effects are very cool. Special arrows are intresting and funny, but very few.

It's a pity you don't have a Mac build :(

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Amazing Artwork and Design! 5 Stars!

steboots says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Oh no! Only windows?? Any plans to port to mac or web?

nopogo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Really loved the background statues pixel art. Also the gameplay is fun

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Nice game! Really fun, and oh so satisfying when it goes into slow-mo x)

rallebauz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Awesome everything. Graphics, audio and gameplay are 10/10.
It would be nice if you would start charging a new arrow after releasing and clicking the mouse.

MaesK says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Excellent graphics! The time-stopping before shooting (even on mid-air) is great. The camera advancing before you is a great detail, but it moves too fast. I see some "Art of Screenshake"/juicyness over there, nice work!

Too bad I ran out of arrows :( Oh, and one enemy killed another accidentally, that was a great detail as well. Keep it up!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Great lil' game! Dig the "Kung Fu Panda"esque visuals, though there is some weird aliasing happening to them. Crazy but fun take on the theme too.

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Got a fatal error and the game crashed after level 2. Aside from that, when an enemy dies, it interrupts the player mid jump, and when the player begins to charge an attack, any enemy arrows in mid-air immediately fall down (That last one may have been intentional).

Aside from that, awesome, awesome, awesome... everything from graphics, background loop, sfx, and the sheer wackiness of the concept... great entry!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:00pm

This is fantastic! Looks absolutely amazing and the special arrows are hilarious! More please!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:28pm

The controls fell a little strange, esp the turn of the câmera, but good use of the them, and the art is so beatiful, congrats!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:35pm

http://i.gyazo.com/04209f6e86d0c638ca373b73db2b6a42.png
well i chrashed finishing one level

Bensonance says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone! Some of the gameplay stuff we'll fix in a post-jam version.

Thanks for the reports on the second level bug - we'll upload a fixed build now! @Kawaii Game Studios thanks for the screenshot, that helps a lot :D

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Looks so good! Why is it Windows only? :)

reiknight says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Wow! Nice game, I wanted more than 2 levels. It has potential, nevertheless the bow is a conventional weapon ... ... ... ... well, the rhino was amazing :P

Taldius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:49pm

This game is really nice, I liked the concept of not having a lot of arrow and letting the enemies kill themself. Also the art was really good. I was sad that the game was so short.
Great job!

phi6 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:51pm

I completed it! When I hit that gong I knew I was going to be hooked. The time slowing mechanic is a really good idea, makes the player feel especially badass. The difficulty was fairly high, but as soon as I started to be more cautious it was a lot better. Graphics and music top-notch!

Hammer Games says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Well done guys!

Mechanic: NICE!

Graphics: GREAT! I loved how you detailed the level and animations! The aesthetic is beautiful!

Audio: Really good!

Gameplay: Good, but in the house I couldn't pass. I found some bugs too, but for a game Jam it's perfect! Continue to improve the game guys!

Theme: The bad thing is that I think that a bow isn't an unconventional weapon.

Congratulations!

rodrigomotta says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:59pm

So beautiful game! Amazing! Congrats! Rated! Please, rate my game.

Pixel_Reaper says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Well done guys! only complaint is that I would have liked if your screen focused when drawing the bow (like you do when switching direction) liked the art, and the music, and the juice was good. controls also felt tight. thumbs up!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:42pm

This is super great platform game. Thumbs up.

BIZM says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:10pm

This was awesome! Loved the different arrow types and the time freeze! All the mechanics were extremely well-implemented. Great level of polish as well! Really wanted to see more! :D

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Cool entry! I really liked that it slowed down whilst you were aiming, made for more impact! Cool sound and nice art too!

Takashy87 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:59pm

really great visuals.. :3

animanegra says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:05pm

very impressive, the only thing. Have you notice that you can have negative arrows??? I do not know if anybody have post you about the issue.
Anyway, awesome job, is really good.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Nice art style and execution, reminds me of the old Lion King game. The arrows were cool, but I couldn't figure out how to aim the Rhino one. When time slowed in the air during an attack, I felt like an archer boss!

nokusu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Fun concept, the graphics and music are really good, gameplay wise, i had a weird glich after completing the first level and went out of bounds :/

fixitteam says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:15pm

wow... Really impressed. A really great game... fun, not that simple but not that complicated. Almost everything well done and well integrated... just a few bugs with the slow motion timing feature but other than that it feels really polished. It needs more levels but for a jam it's really great.

graebor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Nice game! The feel of shooting is nice - it's just a bit of a bummer that when you run out of arrows you're basically just stuck and have to manually refresh the page :\

panurge says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:20pm

This is really polished. The bow mechanics are very satisfying and I love the whole style. One of my favourites so far for sure!

dydx says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:14pm

This game is so much fun! It's really satisfying to freeze time and line up my shots so I can hit multiple targets at once.

Bishkip says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Amazing artwork. Loved it.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Slowing time mid-air and firing was the most empowering feeling I got throughout this game. That moment in particular, and the contrast it gives to the standard running around sort of defines everything I liked about the game. It's sleek, works pretty well, looks and feels great due to the additional screen effects happening.

I think the main area I was craving some more of that tightness and polish was in the non-standard arrows. The game sort of felt like it was designed mostly around the standard arrows, and the other two (in my opinion) just weren't used enough to feel like they were really necessary. They felt like a sort of frivolous add-on to a nice base arrow-shooting mechanic. I'm not sure if it's because they were rare-ish to find or because the level designs mostly didn't require them... but I feel like there's something missing in that department.

That's all very disappointing to type out because the gif of the rhino arrow is what drew me into playing the game in the first place. I normally dislike infinite usage bow and arrow mechanics, but I feel for some reason that always having the option to use the other arrow types and not being limited to X amount of shots would have improved on my admiration for them mechanically. But as is, I really didn't feel like I could experiment with them because of how few you get.

In sort of a weird counter recommendation to what I just said above, I think most of the difficulty and tension comes from the limited arrows. It was pretty much the only thing that was there that would have been able to set me back. I never felt like I took enough damage to feel any pressure about health.

So I'd say that in order to increase tension and give a better overall balance between danger/feeling strong, increase the damage done to the player. It's sort of crazy how many hits you can sponge (I counted, it's 10!). It's probably likely that most people wouldn't be hit 10 times over the course of the whole game, much less by the time they hit a health up item. It would require playtesting of course, but I'd say 2-3 hits would have been sufficient in giving a sense of thrill to taking on the other archers and surviving.

Overall this was really well done, though I felt it would have (in its current state) almost just been more well rounded focusing entirely on the conventional arrows. Obviously you had the theme to think about, but I just didn't feel that the unconventional ones added anything terribly significant with how they were used. Which is a bit of a shame to be honest considering how nicely polished everything else is.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:33am

Excellent job! It seems like a lot of hard work went into this. The end product is phenomenal.

iSamurai says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:31am

Very nice art, and music. I really like this game. The control also feels great. One thing is if i run out of arrow, there is nothing i can do.

asobi tech says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:01am

Excellent stuff, great graphics and tight controls. Sound was fitting and the music set the mood well.

YM says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Really nice entry. Being able to jump and charge an arrow mid air, slowing time makes you feel really badass.

Areas for improvement:
-I ran out of arrows every time with no clear way to get more, I didn't seem to be able to pick up enemies arrows.
-The way the camera follows the player's aim means it's virtually impossible to aim at anything directly above/below you. The camera should be more relaxed about its positioning rather than zipping all over the place as the character moves around.

Enneract says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:13pm

I really liked the art style! I seemed to encounter a few glitches though, the best was at the start of the second level I fell through the floor, shot the bow while falling which made my arms disappear. Was quite glorious really.

Goutye says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Good mood. Good game. Good music. A little bit too short because I wanna moreeee! :D

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Wow this one was great, the slo-mo arrows were super fun and everything looked beatiful

Xanjos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Unfortunately a bit too short but I like the concept (I found the rhino arrows pretty hilarious) and I loved the visual style although it's a bit too easy to run out of arrows if you're not too careful.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:07am

Really nice artwork. Liked the "bullet-time" style mechanic.

DKoding says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Liked the 'pause time' when attacking. Definitely on to something, that created a cool action cartoon feeling. But the web version ran too slow, even on my monster of a computer... Also 'bow and arrow' is not exactly unconventional...

flummox3d says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:04pm

The timestop in the air is sooooo satisfying to do ^^ Awesome work :)

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:13am

really fun game! super badass tiger~! splendid job!

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Awesome art style and very much fits with the theme! would love to see this game developed further!

-Neith

sekaru says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Very cool art and concept. The platforming is a bit weird sometimes as a result of the enemies' collision boxes. Cancelling out of a charge also seems to bug out the player.

Bsevers18 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:30pm

very fun! great art style. the bullet time mechanics felt really good.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Loved the feeling of the bow action and the music along with it. However, the camera made me feel dizzy in a few seconds of play. With a more polished camera and some good level design this could be a fun game to expand!

ehtd says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Impressive graphics and I really liked the gameplay.

xbcw says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Creative weapons and fun to use.

renatopp says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:03pm

The visual and the idea is pretty awesome, 5/5 but the gameplay is really bad: collision boxes are to big making the character and the arrows acting weird; the camera is far from smooth, making impossible to aim in 90 degrees. But, anyway, the game is still cool, the most beautiful in compo so far, the music isn't great but bring a good feel about the game theme. I liked very much. Congratulations.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Game feels and plays well. Controls are clean and crisp and simple. Really like the pixelart graphics style! Had a moment of confusion until I figured out the mouse scroll selects the type of arrow. Overall a very playable game.

Psyho says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:31pm

I really like the visuals, but at the same time they don't work well together. It seems that each asset has been drawn separately without having bigger picture in mind. Having pixelated "hills" next to disney-like clouds and then classic 16-bit protagonist looks really weird.

The bullet-time made everything too easy and sluggish at the same time. Usually bullet-time is used in games because the action is too fast for a player to be able to tell what's happening and to make him feel like a goddamn hero. Here however, from easy game you make it sluggish and super easy. I'm not saying it's a bad idea, but my point is that you've included it, but it's not in a real symbiosis with other elements of your gameplay.

My last criticism goes for including "special" arrows. I think it diluted the main aspect of the game, and was just added "for the laughs". And to fit the theme of course ;)


But all of that doesn't change that you've made an interesting game that has more potential than most things I've seen here so far. I guess I'd get rid off special arrows or just make them very unique. Then, you could go either for a puzzle-platformer (minimizing usage of arrows, adding gravity to them, etc.) or alterantively make a fast-paced shooter where it's possible to avoid enemy arrows (ideally it would be clearly visible where and how they shoot) and there's no need to artificially slow the time if the player feels skilled enough.

Anyway, considering it's LD, it's a great game :)

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:30pm

This is awesome! I love the little tiger guy - the sprites & animations are top-notch. The slo-mo effect is also super cool. Sadly I wasn't able to play it to completion without a browser crash on the web version (but then you did warn about that!). Let me know if you figure out why that is, or if you release a Mac version :)

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:34pm

I like the idea. There should be more arrows in the levels though. And I got a crash after leaving the second level.

kaa says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:09am

Great game. Lovely graphics and sound. I'm a little sorry for killing hyenas.

someone says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:40am

Nice game, great art.
Web version worked fine for me (Linux)
The slow acceleration was a bit awkward to get the hang of.
I like that you can kill multiple enemies with one arrow and the time slowing feature was great.
There were a couple of times when I shot an enemy and the arrow passed right through them without hitting them, also when an enemy fires when time is slowed, their arrow doesn't go anywhere.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:58am

A tiny complaint about level design (arrows were scarce, no indication of where the rhino would spawn), which made me feel a little underpowered. But! Everything else is amazing, the main mechanic feels squishy and satisfying, the different weapons are fun, the camera shake when you charge your shot, the music, everything felt great. Kudos you guys!

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:11am

I am definitely seeing the further advance you have done in this game! Suggestion: if there is exactly one type of arrow available make the choice automatically switch to that one, it makes the gameplay even smoother.

During my third try in level 2, I kept shooting rhino arrows at the enemies but they stayed small. I thought I could use the rhino as a platform to go further, ever thought about including that? Choosing between using the arrows stabbed on the walls as platforms or retrieving theme would be interesting, maybe a puzzle mode where you need to use arrows wisely?

Demy says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:06am

I got into -4 arrows state and camera drives me crazy, but graphics is so cool and shooting arrows mechanism is nice.

TheFuntastic says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:07am

Great work on the visuals and the level of polish. Really great little platformer for the amount of time spent on it.

Especially enjoyed the polish around drawing the arrows and getting up to full power. Stopping the player in mid air to line up their shot also felt sweet. However it took me a while to realise that the full power arrows could shoot through multiple enemies. I was a nice moment when I discovered this, but the design was overly dependant on this fact, as the first few times I played I just ran out of arrows. In fact it seemed to me a better strategy to just run over the hyenas (you have a enough health) and hit the gongs.

A way to collect spent arrows would be great, or even collect enemy arrows. Also going for a power shot isn't' really a meaningful choice - because you're not really that vulnerable. In fact right now power shots are the only sensible way to play the game. So I think there was a more of a risk reward at play, pulling off crazy power shots would feel a lot more rewarding. ;)

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:58am

I love the graphics and animations. I dislike the screen shake. The unusualness of the rhino arrow is fantastic. The fact that you get limited ammo and no idea how much stuff you'll have to shoot with it is not so great. I also got stuck on corpses, it seemed, once. I would call this a good prototype that's worth polishing up for a post-compo release.

peterfsat says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:26am

One of the best I've played! I liked the slowdown effect and the camera movement!

It might be just me, but I think you had one too few arrows for the first levels...

What programming language did you use? Great job!

coderitual says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Why you don't recommend the web version? It works pretty well for me.

Game itself is interesting. I don't actually understand why sometimes the shots do not cause any damage to the enemies (pass through them). Despite this I had fun playing this game. Well done!

Miltage says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Solid platformer with tight controls. The jumping felt a little weird to me, but the rest of the controls were spot on. Great execution of the arrow mechanic, the slow down while powering your shot works well.

Why wasn't the main character a lion? You've got hyena, rhino and then... a bengal tiger? I guess the tiger fits the Asian theme but then where do the African animals fit in? Overall, a great entry guys.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Great looking game, loved the character design. Trying playing the web version but didn't run very well on my computer so I switched to windows version which played alot better. The slowing down the falls while shooting was a nice touch also.

rburema says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Aww, the yelp the hyena's give when they're down makes me feel sorry for the little mooks.

hexdie says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Very cool game! I enjoyed the artwork and the very weird "arrows" you can get. The game controlled perfectly as well. I would say that my only major complaint is that I really didn't like sound of the enemies dying, it sounded like a dog being hurt.

pvtroswold says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Really great atmosphere! Music and graphics were great and worked well together, and the gameplay was unique and satisfying.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:14am

I love the slow motion when I'm drawing back the bow. Great audio as well. I think the rhino arrow needs a bit of telegraphing how far it will actually go. And in case you run out of arrows it would be nice if there would be a way to replenish them so that you can complete the level. Nice job overall.

ss64games says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Great game! Took me a long time to realize I would do more damage if I charged up to full, so I was constantly running out of arrows shooting enemies three or four times. Graphics and overall design were superb.

MrShoestore says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:17am

I loved the slow mo, but it sorta made the good music annoying to me. it was just the stop/starting of it. this game is really fun to play, and as everyone is saying has a lot of polish to it.

SledKnight says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:25am

Very nice. Floating shoot is great!

CiderPunk says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 12:52pm

pretty damn awesome!
questions:
what is the second arrow type supposed to do?
how is it unconventional?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]