Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Alter/Cannon

by Ysty - Compo Entry

Alter/Cannon is a slower paced take on the score-attack first person shooter. Stalk errors and bugs in a labyrinthine virtual world with the titular Alter/Cannon, a weapon that morphs based on the last thing it killed. Be warned that this weapon is dangerous, as it leaves you vulnerable while it remodulates, unable to fire. Be careful, retreat when necessary, don't be cornered, don't leave yourself defenceless by shooting without a care for your firearm's quirks.

Oh, and be wary of walking backwards - there's probably something behind you.

Some people seem to be having trouble with the WebGL version either not capturing the mouse correctly or interpreting mouse movement way too sensitively. There doesn't seem to be much I can do to fix this, but if you have these issues I suggest you either play the stand-alone version or, if you can, the Unity Player web version here: http://ystygames.com/jams/ACWebPlayer/AlterCannonWebPlayer.html

Tools used:
Unity3D (for making the game)
GIMP and Blender (for the art and 3D stuff)
Audacity (for sound stuff)
Bosca Ceoil (for music stuff)
iFontMaker (for making the font used in the game)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#512Overall3.21
#579Graphics3.00
#634Theme3.24
#640Audio2.47
#670Innovation2.92
#807Fun2.76
#825Mood2.58
#882Humor2.00

Comments

dylanigan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:41am

Mouse in WebGL doesn't work for me. I had this problem for my game with Unity and WebGL too. However. once I downloaded the windows version everything worked. I really liked the concept of your gun changing. And I loved the enemy design. The art was a little lacking and some textures for the gun would rock! Great game overall, keep it up!

kaype says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:47am

Got a high score of... 720 :/

I like the overall look and feel of the game! The music is also very calming, but that walking noise can get a bit distracting.

Cool game.

A333 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:55am

It's fun, cooldown adds to the difficulty, but in a good sense. I found that the enemies can sometimes spawn very close to you, even on behind, which is inconvenient.

MrDave says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:38am

I wasn’t able to play the game because my mouse would leave the screen and the game would stop, because of this I haven’t left a rating, it’s a shame because from what I can see the game looks really good and I am likely to have rated it high.

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Nice, always think it's hugely ambitious to do a 3D but this was good! loved the smoking gun anim.

hunttis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:11pm

I couldn't get the cursor to get "trapped" in the web version of the game, so turning was quite difficult at times.

I generally hate mazes, but I really liked the lightbeam concept: It mitigated the fact that the mazes were.. well, mazes and quite featureless. Finding enemies was not a chore because of the lightbeam thing! That's thinking outside the box :D

Also liked the changing weapon, nice work!

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Interesting feel, liked the music and difficulty.

Dohxis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Looks fun, but sometimes too difficult.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:44pm

An interesting entry for LD32 which uses many pretty shaders. Final result stays a little bit confused for me. I like more the aesthetic than this gameplay. Thank you ++

skylinegames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:13pm

it doesnt work for me. my computer is too old :/. but it looks very intersting.

Stechas says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Quite a challange to keep mouse cursor inside the game screen, even if I switch to fullscreen, cursor moves to my second monitor, but anyways killing bugs was funny :)

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:19pm

It's difficult to see when you are too close to the enemy.

lamphj says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Good entry. I enjoyed the many gun modes you created. Leaving the projectiles visible really help with understanding each ones quirks. The square shotgun blast was my favorite, close second on the laser beam.

Xgor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Interesting game with style of it's own.
I feel that the long cooldown of switching of weapons with that many enemies means that there is a lot of dead time waiting so less waiting would be more engaging... Also it would be nice if you could see the current color of the enemy you hit last in the UI/Gun.

NuSan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:35pm

I like the graphic style. The gameplay is good, but camera turn a bit fast. Changing weapon without dying is hard. Sometimes there was no more enemy around, only the empty maze. Keep up the good work!

Celt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:59pm

This was a weird experience. And i liked it!

Destruktorrr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:23am

Also had issues with the web-version and turning (should probably lock the cursor).

I liked the idea of the game, and it seemed pretty fun. Good job!

FistBumpGames says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 12:19pm

I liked the mechanic with the changing gun, but the enemies swarm so much that I always died before the change was complete.

May 10, 2015 @ 8:36pm

I liked it!

May 20, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Really neat game! I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ArGc_dQ-3Lc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]