Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Spike Nut's Temple

by AxeTheory - Compo Entry

Spike Nut must use his body to destroy the Evil Ones in the Temple.

****Warning this game is meant to be a challenge!*****

This LudumDare I was trying to go against what I normally do and focus on Art and Sound. It was almost a complete failure as it took me way to long to create the music and art, but I pulled through with some late nights. I also bounced between two ideas... what a mess. I wanted to make killing the enemies satisfying and the controls "tight".

The theme idea was a twist of the fact that most games the enemy hurts you if they touch you and the player has to avoid contact. Here that convention is switched.

The end of the game has sort of a boss fight with a music change.

Thank you for playing and always comment.


Tools:
Unity 5
Audacity
Bosca Ceoil
Paint.net
SFXR

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#387Audio3.02
#452Graphics3.20
#678Mood2.77
#719Fun2.86
#766Humor2.31
#828Theme2.98
#837Overall2.86
#893Innovation2.58

Comments

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Player movement speed could be faster.

deadpixl says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:48pm

I really dug the over all look and feel. The music and sound was great. The tutorialzation with simple AI mechanics was very well done and helped a tone.

I did feel the player was a bit sluggish so avoiding projectiles was pretty difficult. Also know how much life and enemy had would of been a nice addition.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:35am

Agree that avoiding projectiles was different, liked the art and sound.

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:39am

Great music and sounds. The graphics were nice and functional. Movement felt a little slow.

jprogman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:09am

Love how a 2D platform game can be made in Unity.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:09am

the selective collision mechanic is interesting; forces the player to switch between aggression and avoidance. nice animations too. well done.

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:40am

Fun platformer, I kinda disagree with the otherwise overall consensus of "too slow" but that's more a matter of taste I guess. Not to say it would be more or less fun if he was faster; but I think slow is fine.

The audio gets a little grating pretty quick, and using your body as a weapon is pretty orthodox, but a fun platformer nontheless.

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:46am

Would have been a lot better if the player wasn't so slow.

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:48am

The game looks like if Final Fantasy VII was for some reason a platformer and sounds like on the Sega Genesis (or Megadrive). I also agree with @Figglewatts that the movement (and gravity!) could've been faster, it feels a bit stolid at times, like a pushing wrecking ball underwater, it's hard to describe (and apparently I am having odd hobbies, but I digress). To me, the mechanic of running into enemies to get rid of them is not really new to me, it felt like I've played this so many times before for some reason.

That the projectiles of the Old Ones hurt you irritated me profoundly because I was under the impression of being invincible, and my only enemy was the environment, so this kind of selective gameplay gives it more depth, but, again, the player speed, weight and momentum were cause of much frustration for me and I didn't get very far before I gave up.

So the graphics are nice and consistent in style and execution, the music can't hide a certain randomness and, to me, the theme was not really a perfect match.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:54am

WebGL version broken on Firefox / Chrome for FreeBSD. Trying Windows version in Wine.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:00am

OK, Windows version is working fine. Going to have to rate this once I've beaten it.

Docjekyll says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:40am

You can tell that some real effort went into the level design. Nice work!

Character movement was slow, but I felt like it was appropriate. The movement combined with the satisfying enemy explosions made it feel like the player was some rampaging, tanky hulk of a thing.

cdrch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:07am

The look and feel of the game was great. Although punishingly difficult, I kept playing it over and over again. I improved...slightly. Some kind of checkpoint or health regeneration system would go a long way towards making the difficulty more palatable, but overall a pretty good game!

Tanser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:35pm

The graphics give off a nice atmosphere. The idea is good. Only problem is that the player is REALLY slow.
Nice job overall though! :)

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Personally I loved it. Having grown up in the era of the Sega Master System. I've had my share of 'slow' characters. This felt fine for the pacing, adding somewhat to the difficulty level. Slightly annoying speed, but that's part of the fun.

Donni11 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Cool Game ! Amazing graphics !

Lo-X says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:41pm

I had to play the windows version with wine too. This game is hard, or that's because I'm usually bad at that kind of games. I agree with what people are saying about the movement speed. But overall this is a very good job!

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:09am

The look is great, and I like the sound. It's very hard though, and I think this is because the player is so slow.

Vaughn says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:55am

I enjoyed my short time with this as I liked the oddness of it, it seemed strange to me. I'm not sure if that is a compliment exactly, but It really intrigued me, haha. I did a live playthrough of it here: http://www.twitch.tv/drathy/c/6585866

Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Good challenge. I like the concept (touching enemies hurts them instead of vice versa). I think increasing the player's speed would improve the feel. Good job on the art and sound!

sekaru says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:37pm

The player is a tad slow but that doesn't take away from it too much. Also very unique art style, nice job

TeslaCoil says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Good concept, frustrating game. As others have said, the character was painfully slow and dodging projectiles was annoying. No need to get into more detail on that.

One thing that really bugged me was the spike pits. I saw an enemy run into the spike pit and die. In most games, that would be a fantastic tutorial method that shows the player what happens without interrupting the flow of the game. But you describe how the game /switches conventions/, so that made me think the spikes would only hurt enemies and would give me some benefit, and hopped right in.

Part of the frustration was that I was playing as SPIKE NUT. At the very minimum, spikes shouldn't instantly kill Spike Nut. Maybe if they were fire pits or acid pits or something instead, I wouldn't have hopped in.

Eventually I got to the boss area(?), and couldn't beat it. Unfortunately, it wasn't the kind of challenge that made me want to try again. Maybe that's just me.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Solid platform game. It could be faster. Thumbs up ++

thaaks says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Player movement and control is too slow. Graphics look good and the sound and music fit the game well.

Nkoo says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Oh wow that final fight, too hard for me! The jumping physics are a bit odd.

Sim says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:00pm

I managed to beat it eventually but a checkpoint half-way through would make it much less frustrating. Dodging the bolts was fun and the level was well designed. Nice music, sound and graphics too.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]