Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Sword Fishing

by HacksawUnit - Compo Entry

Using your combination sword and fishing pole, fish for fights.
Defeat all three enemies to win.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#30Theme4.24
#48Graphics4.24
#86Audio3.71
#176Innovation3.71
#200Humor3.44
#211Mood3.40
#401Overall3.33
#553Fun3.05
#2387Coolness10%

Comments

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:15am

A bit confused at the controls and what exactly is happening each time I yank, reel, or let run. I get the hook - means I pull up and hook + mean giving some slack. But is there any advantage to reel over yank? And what is the Damage thing representing? Once it said Damage: low but the hook went like all the way down the screen. I got to the third enemy and could never beat it. Anyways, I loved the sword fishing pole idea and the art in general was good. Likewise, music was good and very fitting to the game.

sawyerWeld says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:18am

Super Cute! Love the visuals and sound. I havn't been able to beat the 'snorceler' tho!

oranebeast says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:01am

Really clever and unique battle system coupled with great graphics. Well done.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Looks and sounds great. Unfortunately I find it difficult to identify the results of my actions, even though they're labeled I don't know exactly what's happening and it makes my choices feel arbitrary. I ended up winning by just choosing Yank repeatedly. Sometimes damage goes up even though I'm letting the line run... and for that matter I can't even tell if damage being high or low is a good thing. I expected Reel to raise the hook depth more effectively than Yank because of the damage penalty, but I can't tell if it actually is since the orc and fish boss plummet the hook so much either way.

PoQA Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Took me a while to figure out what's going on and how to play, some tutorial might be nice. Art's very cute and definitely an unconventional weapon.

LadyEnigma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Bit confusing on how to play and what is going on but it looks cute and is definitely unconventional!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:38pm

I couldn't figure out the controls at all. What are the controls? WASD? Nothing I did seemed to have any effect aside from moving the mouse cursor around the screen

arhpositive says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Quite hard to understand at first, especially when a person has no idea about fishing. :) Still, graphics are really good and the style fits the atmosphere well. Good game, although it's a bit tough.

HacksawUnit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:46pm

@emmelineprufrock: Click the knight to begin the game.

Dorgam says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:01am

Nice game however it gets boring at the end as a result of repetition.

DeltaF1 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:41am

This was everything the screenshots made me hope for and more! The concept is hilarious, the graphics were awesome, and the combat was refreshingly original. I was a little confused at first about what the effects of the attacks meant, but I loved how the battle was not dependent upon the health of two parties, but a "tug-of-war" between you and the enemy. Well done! 5 stars.

aeklad says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:51am

I love this game. I never quite understood the fighting mechanics. But the game is so fun and cool that I don't care. Great job. I beat the game. Very satisfying.

khahem says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Nice graphics and great idea, I have no experience in fishing so I wasn't very good at it, maybe a small tutorial would have helped. Still a great entry, very fun and cute !

Andrea says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Short but funny and clever! Everything fits together: the music, the art, the simplicity of the combat system.
Loved it!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Pretty good, just a bit hard to understand. You should add some tutorial or something

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:18pm

It was really good, at first didn't get the mechanics, but then I saw the little icons and soon worked it out. It was really fun, I love the music and the graphics dude!

micahcowan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:00am

Link to the CoffeeScript source for your compo entry?

HacksawUnit says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:50am

@micahcowan This was made in Construct2, not CoffeeScript.

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Good game with good graphics, but as others have said, it's difficult to tell what my actions are really doing. I've won by using Reel multiple times, and their damage would go back down over time. I once used Reel on the End Bass (Love the enemy names by the way) and afterwards its damage went from High to Low.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:50am

Too confusing to enjoy. Sometimes, just yanking every time leads to a fish. Not entirely sure why this strategy works. Some tutorial to indicate what's happening would be greatly appreciated.

Also, question: Sword, or fishing?

hexdie says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 12:19am

I enjoyed this! I love the visuals and audio, and the enemies were pretty interesting. The gameplay could have used something more to it because it ends up feeling just a bit random hitting the buttons. I wasn't entirely clear on what the damage rating and the background color meant either. This probably could have used a bit of explanation for those things. Still, very aesthetically pleasing and some nice ideas here!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]