Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Catcall Simulator 2015

by qapn - Compo Entry

Hit the streets in your creep mobile/ute (or "pickup truck" for the Americans) and harass as many women as you can before you crash.

In the context of the competition's theme, "An Unconventional Weapon", my game has you wielding the power of the male gaze in your quest for street harassment.

This actually happens to people on a daily basis. "Catcall Simulator 2015" tries to undermine the power of the male gaze as a weapon through visual & audio cues, making players feel uncomfortable with the power they're handed.

Game includes multiple endings and Oculus Rift support! Seriously though, try find the hidden/good ending.

---- CONTROLS ----
STEER - Tap Left/Right arrows
HORN - Click the horn (click it specifically) - you can hold it down

You cannot STEER and sound the HORN simultaneously. Therein lies the challenge.

---- HELP ME ----
Q: I keep crashing!

A: Watch the gauge above your steering wheel. Think of it like a see-saw - you have to keep it centred by continuously tapping the arrow keys. The further it goes off centre, the faster it moves.

Q: How do I score points?

A: To score points, you have to deplete the gauge above each woman's head by holding down the horn as long as possible. They will slow their walk and look afraid when you succeed.

Q: You're incentivising being a creep. Why are you so awful?

A: You can actually win the game without harassing anyone.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#99Innovation3.88
#101Mood3.65
#228Graphics3.65
#249Theme3.72
#331Humor3.15
#338Audio3.10
#368Overall3.37
#958Fun2.47

Comments

Move127 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:49am

This is pretty sexist. Or, perhaps the fact that you crash while trying to catcall the women is meant to show how stupid people who catcall are.

brennen says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:51am

Couldn't get the controls to work. I also wasn't sure of the objective unless I looked at the control option.

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:51am

Offensive on multiple levels

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:52am

That was certainly ... different.

nicklink483 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:54am

This is freakin' hilarious. Tonight on 60 Minutes: When CatCalling Kills!

The question is, is the catcalling killing the girls or the drivers?

ShIxtan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:56am

It's very nicely done. Makes me feel uncomfortable being on the side of the catcaller, and the tension between honking and steering is cool.

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:29am

An idea that immediately makes me wish I had thought of it. Nice job.

oranebeast says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:45am

;)

amras0000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:39am

Very nicely done, offsetting on many levels

nicotuason says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:34am

pshh, using the car horn. NOOB

Split82 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Very interesting and unique entry. Good job.

indigo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:34pm

I definitely don't know whether I should be offended or amused by this.

Either way, clearly a job well done: great graphics and audio, and although the controls are a little weird (why do I have to spam the left/right keys for steering, rather than just holding them?) this is extremely polished for a 48h game.

Mizipzor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:52pm

That was surprisingly... creepy, especially the music. One of those games I will remember, and I'm not sure if it's in the good way. Great job overall! :)

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:11pm

I actually LOL'ed. :-) Fun idea, but I doubt my GF would approve. Replay value a little limited but a fun game to show to people.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Those women's reaction are really interesting.

PizzaPortal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:07pm

This game is offensive, funny and confusing,

The graphics are great.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:27am

I had a hard time with the controls? So much so that I couldn't help but crash almost immediately. I like the concept though and it seems interesting.

qapn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:39am

Yeah sorry, the game is much harder than I anticipated. I dramatically changed the gameplay about 3h before submission and didn't have time to balance it particularly well.

The most advice I can offer is that you have to repeatedly tap the arrow keys quite rapidly, rather than holding them. Holding them does nothing.

I will probably provide a link to a post-compo version with annoyances like that fixed. Thanks for trying it out!

vandriver says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:58am

In making me feel horrible, you have evoked more emotion than probably any LD game I've ever played. Five stars for mood, you bastard.

With a bit more work, this could be an amazing piece of art.

uvwar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:29am

Does the game end if you just keep driving straight without doing anything? I went on for a while but got bored waiting.

qapn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:27am

No unfortunately, there is an ending that does what you're trying to achieve, but you have to activate it another way. In hindsight I should have enabled that ending for your method too, but I barely got this finished in time, and sleep deprived me didn't think of that.

But I have put that on the list of post-compo changes. Let me know if you find the hidden ending! I recorded some crisp as hell sound effects for it in my housemate's car.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:15am

Its really nice to see more message games in Ludum Dare.

I think that the atmosphere created from the graphics and sound effects is really effective at evoking the creepiness of the situation.

I don't think the game design quite fits the message... catcallers don't crash their cars very often. Nonetheless, I'm really happy you tackled a difficult subject.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:32am

Nice interpretation of the theme, well done. I didn't manage to find the hidden ending, but I will try again later.

Tijn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Ooooh, this game is really terrible but also hilarious :D I had a good laugh, well done :) And it even looks and works pretty good as well!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:38pm

A very interesting little game! The audio and graphical design is spot on (apart from the horn not being immediately obvious). The topic it deals with is pretty serious too. It's an unconventional weapon in video games, but unfortunately less so in real life...

I do agree with evilseanbot that the gameplay could be refined for a more impactful delivery. On the simplest level, switching the steering to hold controls would make more sense, and I think having to honk multiple times would make it sound like the harrasser was trying harder to attract their attention (which could make it creepier, and maybe reduce the gamist element).

Nice work for 48 hours though!

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:26pm

I kinda wish you had either allowed for A and D keys to be used for steering or made the horn a space bar press instead of mouse. The controls were akward. I liked the fact that the steering bar doesn't allow you to sit on exact center; it's either left or right of center, which made the steering quite like real life in a sense.

Adreqi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Not sure if it sticks that much to the theme, sadly it's not that unconventional :/
Good idea though, nice way to deliver a message.

qapn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:23am

@RockhopperGames: Yeah, it was a constant battle between making the game stick closer to the unconventional weapon message, and making it an actual game. I experimented with a bunch of mechanics but settled on the OK, but very flawed steering one. For a while, I had a brake button instead, and your goal was to not let more than X women get offscreen with their health bars still not depleted. But that ended up trite as you needed a flood of women to spawn to make it challenging, and that just made it look ridiculous.

@Crowbeak: Agreed, the problem is the hidden ending works by clicking something else onscreen, so I didn't want horn to be space bar. The steering mechanic was a last minute addition, so the controls ended up quite convoluted. I will fix that in a post-compo version - offer W/D controls in addition to the arrow keys.

@Adreqi: Well, it's very unconventional in a game. That it's very conventional in real life is a sad thing, but my expectation is that if anyone who actually has done this themselves plays the game, they'd feel very uncomfortable about it because of the presentation here (while I think playing from the perspective of those being catcalled themselves wouldn't have been very powerful at all IMO).

Os_Reboot says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:22am

Hilarious game, I found the hidden ending by accident :D

Managore says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:38am

Very uncomfortable, in a way that really sends a message across. I disagree with people saying it's sexist, as I think the point is to show how unsettling this sort of behaviour can be. Thanks for making this!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:51am

This is such a great game, and i'm going to tell people why with out spoiling anything, This game in my opinion, isn't a game about a horn as a weapon against women, but a game which is a weapon against harassment. I got the secret ending, and the message is loud and clear.

Do not judge a game simply by the way you are playing it, some games mirror the users intentions and this is one of them.

A great entry, I scored low on fun for obvious reason, as for theme, regardless of if you designed this game as the unconventional weapon against harassment or not, it deserves 5 stars. Takes guts to show off something like this in the current climate.

Great job. Extremely impressed.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:43am

pretty interesting - and memorable - this jam has brought out the creativity

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:53am

Personally, I feel this game has a strong enough message that it doesn't need a fail state. Just having it last a certain amount of time and seeing how many points you can get would be a viable alternative, and possibly highlight how safe the harrassers are in this kind of situation.

More interactivity in the harrassment could keep involvement high, and maybe make the message hit harder if you wanna keep working on it after the Dare. There's a lot of space on the screen that could be used for more controls, like making rude gestures out the window once you have the womens' attention.

Those are just some thoughts I had though >.<

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:17pm

I got the special ending! Well done "serious" game, doesn't come across as too preachy, and looks polished enough. The audio and colors are very eerie and fitting.

dydx says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:43am

Honking the horn kind of made me feel sick... which seems to have been the intention. Very well done.

Kitch says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:12am

I suspect the "offended" people above didn't play the game. Playing through, the reactions as well as finding the "secret ending" (Or win state, as I call it) make the point pretty dang clear.

Unless they are pro-girl-honking? Then... well.. yes, this could be offensive, I guess.

The game itself, had what it needed to have. The looks and sounds worked together real well to produce a fitting atmosphere. And it had a message.

Really good work! Thanks!

dyfer says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Not sure of what you're trying to say but very unique game anyway. Graphics and mechanic are pretty good.

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:44pm

it's weird but funny..

DeltaF1 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:27pm

This was an unsettling game. The effect of the subject, the music, and the way that the girls looked after you "killed" them left me feeling like I had done something seriously sick and wrong. Well done on portraying such a cutting message. After reading the hint about "clicking on another part of the screen" I managed to find the hidden ending. Thank you for putting that in there XD
I'm not rating it on Fun or Humour, because I feel that it doesn't really fit into those categories, but everything else is rated very highly. Again, well done!

jordgubben says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:44pm

I can't really decide if this game is comes from the lowbrow misogyny or highbrow social cometary. I'm just going to assume the later one. Thumbs up!

Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:51pm

This was a clever entry, thought it was well thought at and presented. Nice to see someone try and approach the theme with a message. Also figured out how to win the game without harassing anyone and liked how simple yet effective it was. Well done.

breadstix says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:59pm

11/10 - Made me feel like a complete creeper.

garygreen says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:15pm

I got the message you were trying to put across - nice work, especially with the secret ending.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]