Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

J'ai relevé les yeux

by AnnaGavaldaKedavra - Compo Entry

This is my first 3D game.

I underestimated the work, so my game is not finished.

I managed to make something with what i had.

Controls:
WASD + click


Goal :
Find the invisible black spheres.


When you find one, the camera will do something boring for 10 seconds (not enough time to fix that).


Music is coming for the post compo.


With my friends we decided to add another constraint to the theme (cause LD themes arn't that exciting for us) :

This time it's a poem by Philippe Jaccottet in A la lumière d'hiver.



I hope you will have fun playing.


UPDATE : I added a post-compo version (gameplay and music inside) it's way better.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#314Mood3.22
#562Innovation3.09
#603Graphics2.97
#792Audio1.96
#937Overall2.71
#1030Fun2.24
#1080Theme2.17

Comments

Marcellus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:29pm

This is the best desert exploration game i've ever played !

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Il y a un problème pour moi. Je discerne rapidement une fenêtre au loin, puis tout disparaît. Les commandes ne répondent pas et je ne sais ce que je suis censé faire. C'est ta première participation sur LD. Les prochaines seront meilleures. C'est un peu dommage - le titre était poétique - j'aurais aimé. Bon courage à toi pour la suite.
PS : En compo, il faut ABSOLUMENT délivrer ses sources. C'est la règle. Sinon tu peux choisir la section Jam - sans source ++

2R says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:41am

Awesome!!

pixzleone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:32am

Very awesome mechanic. I really liked the windows :)

Filoox says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:17am

It is quite disturbing, and curiosity is titillated.

Kardamom says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:27am

A little confusing, but after I got my head around what's happening it started to be engaging. I still don't understand why I loose after the black things appear (or do I lose?) and what can I do to avoid it. So maybe more guidance, if the game has an explicit goal, or tell the player straight away it is more of an exploration game and there is no explicit goal... The graphical presentation is interestign anyway.

Mach60KAS says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:32am

Quite enjoyed that, it was very atmospheric! I don't speak any french, so I feel the poem was a little lost on me but I really liked the mechanic. Was the buzzing sound in the background intentional? I found it a little odd.

surpent says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:46am

And like to look for to see the window.
Great idea!

Wevel says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:08pm

I'm a bit confused as to what you should do, but the mechanics where quite cool

Benjamin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:48am

Everything dissapear when I start playing and I'm not sure it's a part of the gameplay or not... :)

Benjamin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:38am

Ok now I get it and can test the game. It was a very poetic travel, some music would add a lot to the mood but I can see you added it to the post-compo version. It would have been more fun to play if closing the eyes ( not clicking ) helped you in any way in the gameplay. For example, if you could see window's content only when not looking

Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:48am

@Benjamin You're absolutely right. I was planing on doing something like that but the lack of time made me just put everything together in a more or less playable way. In the post compo the fractal monster should gain speed everytime you click...

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:04pm

This was nice! the mechanics are great!, got to a window but got stuck on the scenery finding for that black sphere...

Good job!

lamogui says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Nice effects. You should try make demos! This make me think of ASD demos.

davidB says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:45pm

I only rate Graphics and Mood. I didn't understand. I'll try the post-compo.

Jajo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:49am

A bit confusing, but I liked the graphics and idea. Do add some music.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:55pm

same "problem" than Geckoo1337
I don't know if it's intentional or not, but I can't really do anything else in the game

Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:41pm

@Pierrec you have to click (no time for any feedback on the click timer so it's kinda frustrating i know)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]