Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Thwip

by Sigrath - Jam Entry

While traveling back home, your spaceship suddenly started to malfunction and crash landed on a nearby planet. All its parts scattered across the planet and you have to collect them again to repair your ship and return back home.

The planet's surface is tricky to navigate and full of obstacles. Luckily you brought your handy-dandy translocator. This piece of technology can transport matter across short distances instantly. Use it to navigate the dangerous terrain and retrieve all your scattered ship parts.

-------

CONTROLS:

Use the arrow keys to move.
Press Spacebar to teleport to a nearby platform.
Press Escape for the menu.

-------

CREDITS:

Programming & Art: Me (www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/sigrath/)
Design & Additional Programming: Anonymous friend
Music: Qrchack (http://ludumdare.com/compo/author/qrchack/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#175Audio(Jam)3.52
#195Overall(Jam)3.62
#214Fun(Jam)3.48
#321Mood(Jam)3.33
#450Graphics(Jam)3.42
#1436Coolness46%

Comments

EthanWebster says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Really fun game! Great job :)

ppvk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Excellent game design and introduction to new obstacles.

thumbgarden says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Really cool little game. You could do a lot with this base to make a fun puzzle app. Good work

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:32pm

I know its kinda of the point of the game, but its a bit frustrating not being able to see the zoomed at view at any time - too much of a memory test for my tastes I think, which is a shame as I really liked the main character artwork, and the sound and visual package was very appealling

lanza says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Very cool game concept, good job

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Its weird that you can omit theme. I never thought of that. This is a fun game. I bet it would play really well on a touch $creen. I think its very friendly game for young and old. It looks like he is wearing underwear :P

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:46pm

I like the gameplay! That was something new for me.
The graphics are good as well!

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Great start to a fun puzzler. Lots of potential but definitely needs a zoom out function. My memory isn't what it used to be.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Amazing game! Cute graphics and soundtrack. A very interesting gameplay that could well be way more explored. The camera movements are a bit annoying at times and they make some of the puzzles harder.
I really wish you'll work on this game in the future, good job!

The4thCircle says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:52pm

I couldn't get this working right, pressing space made my browser scroll down so I couldn't even play it properly. Tried it in Firefox and chrome but no joy.

In both I got to what I assume was the first part and couldn't get any further.

danidre14 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:36am

Not bad. Like the physics, and feel of the game. It took em a while to get used to, but I still enjoyed it.

Thank you for your game.

wademcgillis says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 7:16pm

GREAT

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]