Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Glitch Gun

by zerocreativity1 - Jam Entry

Take control of the glitch gun and run through all the levels converting scientists into zombies, couches into tetris blocks.

Arrows/WASD move
z/space/left click = attack/.

Shoot everything.

Did some performance fixes in the Post build. and created a 30fps version to help with lag. Let me know if that helps.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#32Theme(Jam)4.21
#66Fun(Jam)3.86
#69Overall(Jam)3.91
#79Innovation(Jam)3.88
#134Graphics(Jam)4.12
#203Humor(Jam)3.49
#217Mood(Jam)3.49
#277Audio(Jam)3.28

Comments

salmonmoose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:34am

Awesome concept, it's sadly let down by a low frame-rate, and laggy controls.

There's a lot of room for some very creative puzzles, with such a simple interface for the player.

NoxiiStudio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:40am

Really cool concept.
The controls are very good.
The music is cool but a bit repetitive, the game could use some sound effects (especially for the glitch gun)

Aevek says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:59am

Love the idea of weaponized glitches. I had some issues with framerate and laggy controls like salmonmoose on my system, but on my friends it is fine, maybe look into that?

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:52am

Wow, this was cool! Really creative idea and fun puzzles throughout. And the ramerate was fine for me! I liked the cute, cube-people designs and all the Gordon Freemans scattered throughout :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:27am

Nice graphics and an enjoyable music. All animations and mechanics are great. It's a cool entry for LD32. However, some sounds FX could be useful. Neat ++

43iscoding says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:26am

Amazing concept, neat graphics, solid humour :)

It just lacks some sound effects, and it would be all 5/5

sputnik says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Really good concept! too bad there's no sound fx, good music though.

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:31pm

The only thing lacking here is sound effects. Other than that... music loop is fantastic... gameplay concept is great and it is carried out in great fashion... graphics are beautiful... You can probably sell a sponsorship for this, easy.

Wonderful entry, good luck!

OrkyOrks says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:53am

Great Jam Entry! Game played smoothly on my computer, was just let down by a repetitive music score. This is possibly one of the best jam entries I've played so far! Great work!

graebor says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:57am

Cool concept, cute artwork! The mechanic has a lot of potential for cool puzzles, and you did a good job showing off some of those ideas :)

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:00am

Pretty cool. Platforming is pretty solid as well. Nice job!

popcorn897 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:34am

This is one of the more polished games I've played. It felt like a full release of a fun little puzzle platformer. I enjoyed it. Good Work!

Colt Zero says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:24am

As a person who regularly glitches in some games, I can say that the concept of this is awesome. Overall implementation and graphics are quite good given the short time span that was available to you. I'd give it an overall 4/5 Darn close to 5/5

sorlok says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Perfect! Loved the concept, and great take on the theme. Controlled well too!

rnlf says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Pretty cool game! It sometimes reminded me of cartoon scenes where people run after other people, then they run off the screen and return in reverse order but the hunted now has a baseball bat or something. The music really helped with that impression :D

Cool design and great playability. It was a bit easy though, but I know how hard level design can be in this limited time. Too bad it doesn't have sound effects, that's the only real critique I have... 20 minutes with jfxr and that problem would have been solved. You missed an opportunity there. But besides that, I've given you lots of stars! Keep up the good work.

NoxNode says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Very nice game, not much to complain about.

Arche-san says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Graphics are cute, level design is progressive and you can imagine a lot of features with this concept. Good job :)

Yword says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Very interesting gameplay mechanics! The controls are very smooth too! Well done!

TobiasNL says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:41am

Good stuff, cool concept. The graphics and animations were smooth, and the music was good. The game lacked sounds though. Overall a good entry, had fun playing it, although it was a tad too easy.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:43am

Really polished entry, great graphics and mood. I didn't have any issues with performance. I kinda wanted the gun to fire a bit faster, and I think I glitched through a wall and got stuck once. Great use of the theme!

coderkeith says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:44am

We really enjoyed playing this. Nice weapon. Great graphics and music.

Well done!

hrd_games says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:46am

Really fun concept, and it plays very well. As others have said, a little bit more sound cold go a long way, but I loved it.

Boberro says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:02am

Wow, just wow.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:35am

Very good entry, dude! Like theme interpretation. Puzzles pretty fun, but too simple for me. Visually game is OK. But I didn't like the music. Anyway, good job!

Pinpickle says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:52am

Nice work! The whole thing felt pretty polished and well put together, and the mechanic fits in with the theme really well.

zatyka says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:05am

That was a whole lot of fun. One of my favorite uses of theme. Well done.

Hambone says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:35am

Gave you all my stars. I really love how the characters slightly bounce when you move. It almost a relaxed feel and really makes the movement feel smooth. Really neat!

gv1351 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 9:37am

I like it

Os_Reboot says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:56am

Awesome game. Everything is super polished. Nice music, art, everything. Congrats on a solid entry!

orangemoose says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 4:35am

I love the idea of a glitch gun, and the fact that it did different things as you progressed through the levels. There were some cool puzzles, although it could have benefited from sound effects for more effective feedback. The game also kind of felt like it just ended, so maybe a transition between the final shot and the end screen could help. Nice work and adorable art!

zimmy87 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 5:41am

love this game; one of my favorites of this jam. This is a great concept

ruerob says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 6:08am

Very great game! I like it a lot! Nice graphics, great music and phantastic gameplay! I was a little sad when it was over! I want to play more!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]