Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Cat

by Thijs Tak - Compo Entry

Here is my entry for for the 32th Ludum dare.
This was made in about a day and a half. My first project didn't really work out so about halfway on the first day I switched to this one.

In ran into a lot of weird issues this time around, from prefabs working in one scene but not in the next and collisions and animation spazing out from time to time.

Anyway, about the game itself. In it's current state it is more of a demo or prototype. The second level never got finished and some of the cat's abilities didn't make it into the game, even though they where (almost) fully functional. The game has a beginning and an end, so it is possible to complete it.

I hope it will at least entertain you for a little while, though the game is really short. All of the controls are explained in the game itself.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#237Audio3.26
#425Mood3.08
#438Fun3.18
#576Overall3.15
#645Humor2.55
#759Graphics2.70
#893Innovation2.58
#955Theme2.68

Comments

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:39pm

If this is your music theme than WOW! Nice concept.
Evil cat rox :) I like the mystery climat of the game!

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Sorry you weren't able to finish your game. It was a very solid platformer with good controls and an interesting start to a story. Unfortunately I was able to jump off the world midway through level two (I glided off the edge to the right after getting the glide ability), and at some point the audio just cut off. There were a lot of leaps of faith in this game or open areas to jump over. some background cues would help, but as you said, you ran out of time.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Nice texts and controls are smooth.
More levels and better graphics would be nice.

Also, you can't use music made by someone else. If you didn't make this song, you should remove it.

Stechas says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:50pm

I have enjoyed the game, sometimes it was quite challenging to jump to next platform guarded by monsters, but who are they to resist the power of black cat :D Nice work.

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Hey, nice Entry, I played until i got the glide power, then i jumped forward and I think that i went outside the world limits.

I like the controls, and the level is quite big, also the enemies are nice, I learned today that the porcupine is the worst enemy of the cats :P

Thijs Tak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:02pm

@HolyBlackCat
Both songs where made during the Ludum Dare in Music Maker. If I'm not mistaken, creating music from samples (1-4 sec long) was allowed in the compo, as specified in the Special Exemptions for the Compo part of the rules.

But if I'm mistaken about this please inform me and I'll remove the music.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:03pm

You can music like this. I just thought that you took it somewhere because it's so very good. :D If you made it by yourself, you can use it.

Also, looks like you tried to load my game when I was reuploading it, now links should work.

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Fun platformer, though I think the camera is zoomed in a little too far, as it requires a lot of blind jumps (jumping when you can't see where you are jumping to.

Gotta remember when you are making a game, you placed the platform so you know it is there, as a player, I don't.

Borkleby says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:16pm

The story/monologue really makes this game awesome. There's a lot of stuff in this game, I'm surprised. I like it!

Leon75 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Well playable, I was afraid this might get confusing with annoying backtracking, but neither happened in the game.

Jumping over the map edges doesnt bring you back home, had to restart game and do game again. Music doesnt loop, but the song itself is very good. No sound effects ingame is a shame.

Pete Hufnagel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:34am

Pretty cool, I love metroidvanias.

pixzleone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:42am

Good job! i enjoyed it. Keep it up!

richiebranson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:45am

The music has a nice Hans Zimmer percussive vibe to it. Love the text captions. Good stuff!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:47am

I am into this

Indiestry says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:50am

Liked the metroidvania approach and the cat animation, it was really enjoyable

goadrich says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:53am

Nice work! I liked the gradual expansion of your powers in the game. The text was helpful, but I found it hard to read with it centered on the screen, maybe left-justified would look better?

gormed says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Solid one, respecting that you switched to this later on. Cool jump'n'run with some mood, but not that innovative

guigrillo13 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:03am

hahaha such a fun game!!!

borgi says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:39am

Interesting concept, the controls were a bit odd to me, for example when you wanted to doublejump when being next to a wall, I did not double jump. But anyways, nice implementation!

Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:41am

Lovely text captions/story, smooth controls and amazing music. Gj!

Flayk says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:03pm

I'm a sucker for games about cats. This game is no exception. Fantastic mood. I feel like the controls are spot on, I actually feel like a magical cat. The audio gets me in the mood to figure out who this nemesis is. I like the simplistic style of the graphics, though I would revisit it and add some finishing touches like shading. I had a lot of fun playing, as it had an innovative narrative. However, besides the main character being a cat, it's weapons don't feel unconventional (as far as video-games go). However I feel that is a trivial complaint, and that on it's own I think you have a franchise in the making. I highly suggest you read the junior fantasy novel series, "Warriors" by Erin Hunter. Great job, and good idea!

Thijs Tak says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:06pm

@Flayk,

Thanks for the booklink. I'll have a look at it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]