Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

I am Gonna Smack You With My Words!

by Marcos Rodrigues - Compo Entry

You're a prosecutor and your job is to annihilate those criminals (I mean, lock 'em up)! Use your rhetoric (or at least your knowledge about the English language) and try to survive as long as you can!

CONTROLS:
- a-z: type letter
- backspace: delete letter
- enter: fire word
- esc: reset current word
- space: pause game

WARNING: To verify the existence of the words I've used the /usr/share/dict/words file, present on Unix systems, alongside with some preprocessing. If it happens that some word you used is not recognized (or one that shouldn't be was recognized), tell me about it in the comments session! Thank you for your help!

I also apologize for the repetitive music, I had completely forgotten that I couldn't use external assets for entering the Compo, so I improvised a sample. I'm just a programmer, so design and music are not my strong points! :(

==============================

Author: Marcos Felipe Pimenta Rodrigues
Language: JavaScript
Code editor: vim
Game engine: Phaser (http://phaser.io/)
Graphic editor: GraphicsGale (http://www.humanbalance.net/gale/us/)
SFX editor: Bfrx (http://www.bfxr.net/)
Music editor: Bosca Ceoil (https://github.com/TerryCavanagh/boscaceoil/)

Special thanks to my girlfriend, Carol Durandet, for all the support and for testing this game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#58Theme4.12
#109Fun3.74
#273Overall3.49
#289Innovation3.49
#397Humor3.00
#439Audio2.90
#514Mood2.97
#713Graphics2.79

Comments

Lyxilion says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:40am

I'm french soit's realy hard for me to play this game but it's nice realy !

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:24am

I get it, I myself am brazilian. If you want to, you can get the source code and replace the list of words for a french one! :)
Here a list of different languages for the wordlist package: http://packages.ubuntu.com/lucid/wordlist

ruerob says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:59am

Really nice entry! I've reached 76! I'm German. It was really fun to play! Great work!

garygreen says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:24pm

That was original. :-) Clever idea. I really liked the graphic style too.

jwin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Very interesting idea, I like it!

zatyka says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Unique idea, and well executed. Although I played it for a while, it stopped being fun after about 2 minutes. However, that may have had to do with me getting "X" more than any other letter.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Cool typing game! I always struggle with these games that make me think up words on the fly. =)

The sound got the job done. The impact sounds were good, but the music was pretty repetitive.

I liked how the word display highlighted correct vs. incorrect words (though I found a few it doesn't know). Letting players skip a hard letter was nice, too. And the character art was nice. I liked the way the protagonist flapped his jaw when he was speaking the attacks.

diiq says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:11am

Nice! Just fast enough to feel urgent, but still very playable.

I couldn't figure out what I had to do to win the bonus rounds, so my recent word list got long.

I think it would be fun to have even more restrictions on the word; starting and ending letter, maybe, or extra points for using specific letters within the word.

Photon says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:24am

Pretty funny! Started to get real crazy there near the end. I mean, I should know plenty of words from the English language, right? Well executed concept done with a nice touch of humor.

drludos says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:18am

Nice entry! I like the core idea: it's original and well executed! :) The music is entertaining too, congrats!

cdgugler says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Fun typing game! I like that you are forced into the first letter, makes it more challenging.

sanojian says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Very nice game. I felt like I was getting a lot of Q, Z, X, and Y. Quite a challenge.

LandoSystems says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 1:36am

Fun game! My high score was 153. It was a little tricky since some words weren't in the dictionary and it got really challenging a couple levels in, but its a neat idea that could be expanded upon to make a more substantial game.

Great work!

Huo-cuo says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:10am

Great idea matching the theme perfectly.

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Nice entry. It's original and well executed. Neat. Thumbs up ++

EdwardGreysky says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Cool concept well executed
Easy to get in even for a french speaker like me but hard to beat
Well done

joekinley says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Whee second typing game i played, and it was awesome aswell. I have fun with those games, and it was well done Good job

justthestudio says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:24pm

OMG Nice one!

justthestudio says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Really really fun and enjoyable gameplay, pretty big word database. Graphics and sound could be better, but overall experience is for 4 stars! ;)

lizard455 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Fun game! The mechanics are well executed :D

jordgubben says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 7:06pm

A typing game that lets me pick the words? Two thumbs up!

elpaulo says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Fun ! Just think about changing the title of the web page :-)
I made mine with phaser too, yours is really well made.

May 6, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Nice little game! I play word games a lot. The difficulty was kinda slow in my opinion - I'd have liked it to ramp up a bit more quickly. Maybe by making enemies quicker and more threatening and implementing a lives system, it would have helped keep things more interesting. I found the letter limit only restricting for the first two levels or so, then it was a non-issue. It was kinda repetitive until I realised that there were special bonuses for getting words of a certain length - I LOVED that aspect of it. Just for readability, I may have flipped the scene so that the words you were saying would be spelt forwards and not backwards. I didn't really get the theming behind the game, but I guess it worked - maybe a librarian or school kid or something to do with a dictionary would have made more sense.

Good game!

KaiseanGames says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 1:00pm

I reached 250 then I gave up, because it was a bit slow for me. So I guess a difficulty setting would be nice. However, I had a very good time playing the game. Well done!

May 6, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Aaack, how many words that start with X do I know?! Really fun, found myself wracking my brain for longer words. Also, points for the title. Totally got me to click. :)

awestsecurity says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Lots of fun. I usually don't like typing games, but I really enjoyed this one.
The sound got glitchy the farther I got. I think by 150 criminals it was just crackling noise.

Arche-san says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 2:17pm

"Kill ! Diarrhea ! Blood ! Delete ! Exterminate ! Xylophone !" Had a lot of fun with your game. Compared to other letter games, picking your own word and seeing immediately if your word is spelled correctly make this game very smooth and fun to play.

Linus123xbb says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Very cool game, and very innovative aswell! I found this very fun :)

farwyler says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 6:48am

very good use of the theme, highly enjoyable, great work

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]