Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ultra Hat Dimension

by Crowbeak - Jam Entry

Requires .NET 4.5 Framework: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30653

Endless hats abound in the Ultra Hat Dimension, a whimsical puzzle game where you are a protagonist that literally wears many different hats. Explore through the levels of the majestic Spluff Palace to find and defeat your arch-nemesis!

Currently Windows only, browser version coming soon! The game unlocks the second and third floors when you get to them, and saves this information. You can close the game at stages 2-1 and 3-1 and resume the game later.

CREDITS (@twitterz)
Art - woof (@woofycakes)
Music - yuzuki (@yuzukimasu)
Levels/Writing/Mouth Sounds - Lena "Crowbeak" LeRay (@crowbeak)
ALL the Programming - Emma "Eniko" Maassen (@enichan)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#22Audio(Jam)4.17
#24Overall(Jam)4.09
#58Mood(Jam)3.97
#66Fun(Jam)3.86
#81Humor(Jam)3.82
#108Graphics(Jam)4.19
#153Innovation(Jam)3.69
#326Theme(Jam)3.64

Comments

djfariel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:42am

I really want to try it, but it crashes on start up

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:43am

We're working on a fix for that >_<

Kihira says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:54am

Really adorable graphics and fun puzzle mechanics. Still stuck on 2-6 and I want to find out the rest of the story.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:10am

Was super excited to play, but it just crashes for me. On windows 10, not sure if that makes a difference

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:10am

2-6 is probably the hardest puzzle in the game, but I assure you it's solvable. ^_^; When testing for bugs, I had to take 4-5 tries, and I designed the mechanicsand puzzle both. Thematically, though, it belongs in floor 2. >_>

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:22am

Ah, never mind. It's working for me now! Awesome game. Reminds me of Pokemon and Dragon Quest

Managore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:00am

Absolutely delightful. Loved the graphics (amazing colours!), loved the sound (and the voice acting!), loved the puzzles (really creative!) and loved the story (and the cameo!). Thank you for this game!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:01am

Great game. Really liked the art and music. Puzzles were nice and I enjoyed the hat mechanic and how you wove it into the story. Made it makes sense vs just being arbitrary cubes, etc. "Move please" :) Cute.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:52am

Thanks for the kind comments! \o/ We actually came up with mechanics, asked the artist to come up with an interesting aesthetic/setting he could do in the time allotted, and created some story to match.

qapn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:04am

Loved this one. The graphical style was reminiscent of a more whimsical Pokemon or a NES era Kirby game. My only major criticism would be that the puzzles were too easy for all of world one and then ramped up a bit too rapidly when I got stuck on 2-6. But your core mechanic was excellent.

Great game!

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:02pm

I'm going to call this game, Casual Slap-in-the-face Simulator. It's really awesome! the graphics are amazing and I love the storyline behind it all and the comments the character makes between levels. Also that's some great level design there. Music is really good and not too overpowering, so it won't grate away at you if you take your time on stages. Great game!

ryguydavis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:46pm

I really got sucked into this. It was a joy to play. I love the color scheme, the voice acting, the music, the level design, the story--it really came together into something quite special. I played through the whole thing and then wanted some more. Bravo.

Some much smaller and less important thoughts: I think the text box between levels could do with a opaque white (to fit the rest of the aesthetic). The transparent black didn't seem to fit. Also, I finished 2-6 without too much trouble, but it had noticeably more moving parts than other levels. It could be improved, I think, with just one of the micropuzzles removed.

Erkberg says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Wow, that was amazing! I loved the graphics, the music and the sounds (that "move please" is so cute). The gameplay was really solid too and the game seems very long for a jam entry (I only made it through floor 1 yet, but I'll definitely come back and finish this, I expect the puzzles to get much harder ^^). The only minor negative thing I noticed: When moving there is a slight delay before moving on to the next tile, which made it feel a little choppy. This doesn't take away anything from the great overall experience though, it's just an awesome game.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:23pm

I think this is probably the cutest game I've played in any LD! Love the art and the music and sounds are awesome. The puzzles are really nice and satisfying too, and you managed to get loads of levels in without repetition!

Dege says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Music is great, sounds are funny, gameplay is strong and addictive. I stopped at 2-4 because I wanted to play other games, but it's on my desktop and I will surely continue it. Really great!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Pows of Fury!

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:02pm

\o/ We're really glad y'all are enjoying it. Thank you!

Simon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:47am

It does not work on my computer. I'm using Windows 7 64 bits. The game just does not launch.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:55am

Did you try the fix mentioned in the description?

nopogo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Really love the color scheme of the art. Well done!

Simon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Oh I will, I had missed that info, sorry :)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Adorable. Keeps you interested through story, makes you want to complete it :D

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Overall a really solid game :) I liked the graphics and the voiced sound fx. Also I liked the way elements were introduced early so the level progression felt smooth and I felt like I was learning something.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:42am

\o/ That sort of progression was one of the things that made me fall in love with Portal. It was my inspiration. Glad you enjoyed it!

alvivar says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:25am

I highly enjoyed this game. All the elements fits together really well. The art, the concept, the mechanic, the writing. Solid work.

nassi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Felt really complete for a Ludum Dare game. 2-6 took a few tries, but even that wasn't too bad. I think the difficulty was spot on for a jam game, since it wasn't easy enough to just pass without thinking and neither so hard that it made me want to quit out of frustration.

Great atmosphere too, I kinda wish the moving would've been smoother when moving more than one tile in a row, but it didn't bother me too much.

Didn't much care for the references but at least the puns were used in moderation :P.

BeardoGames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:43pm

I was drawn in pretty quickly by this one, it's fantastic! The art, the writing,the music, and the game design are all top-notch. Yet again I'm astonished that such a well put-together game could be constructed so quickly. Excellent!

hexdie says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:31am

Wow, this was really great! Very nice artwork, great music, fun and interesting gameplay mechanics. Seriously, really fantastic job you guys! I'd say that the only complaint I have is that it doesn't quite fit with the theme imo, but that's really about it. This is very impressive for a LD entry!

Jagang says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:43am

First game I finished this LD without noticing it :D
Puzzles were great and easy enough to pass for testers (and I think I noticed some alternative solutions, but could be my imagination)

art, sound and gameplay worked really well together, I have nothing bad to point out here and I think that has never happened before, GJ :)

10/10 would play again - IGN

Cosine says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:01am

So cute!!!!

GhostBomb says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:05am

Managed to fix the crashing using your second fix. Really cute game with very interesting puzzles. I love the sound effects!

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:00am

Utterly adorable.

Tuism says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:07am

I'd love a non-windows version... Looks interesting.

Tuism says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:19am

Man, so want to try this. Watched the walkthrough instead. It's really fantastic, and among the most polished jam games I've ever seen. Kudos super kudos.

I don't understand how sometimes some of the peeps get into a brawl and sometimes they push each other away, it feels inconsistent.

Then the "give hat to push" mechanic doesn't make sense... Even in the already-ridiculous context that this was set up in.

But damn, stupendous work :) Well done! When's it getting a proper release? ;)

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:01am

Eniko has been too busy to get the browser port finished these past few days, but it IS coming!

The brawling is also consistent; I just didn't do a good enough job of designing the levels to make it obvious and the diagram in the upper left corner only shows strength order. If the attacker's hat is strong vs. the victim's hat, the victim gets knocked out; if the attacker is weak vs. the victim, the victim gets knocked back. If the hats are neither strong nor weak, they get into an endless fight.

Carduus says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:30am

Amazing puzzle game!
My brain is about to explode :)
very nice entry! clever level design and gorgeous music, GFX are very cute.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:42am

The voice acting is perfect for this game, loved everything about this one. Graphics are so cute and the puzzle concept with the hats is a clever one. Colour choices in this game are great. Also need to mention that title screen which was awesome. One of my favourites so far.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:44am

This is beautiful and so fun! Thank you! The graphics, music, puzzle design, all so satisfying <3

Dixbit says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Brilliant puzzle game! Everything is perfect here, level design, art, music, and even a good story! I wish I could actually play the boss battle, and I'm curious about how you would defeat him :)

tayl1r says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Nice! Super cute.

BIZM says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Super cute mechanic and overall design! Music and audio fit the game really well :). Impressive amount of content given the time-frame!

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:55am

Thank you for the kind words! \o/ I know I say that a lot, but I really do appreciate it. We're glad people are enjoying Ultra Hat Dimension. ^_^

zorfmorf says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:57am

Finally got it working!

* Great visuals
* Great audio (love the mouth sounds, so cute)
* Fun story
* Fun puzzles (great learning curve)
* Good length
* Sooo polished!

10/10

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Really nice entry - visuals, sound, gameplay all worked perfectly together. So impressed!

Mase says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:20pm

...I'm too lazy to install the extra package.

The color palette looks very attractive though.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:08pm

I love the intro music. The harpsichord and flute just make me feel so happy. from the get go I can tell this is going to be a great experience.

The flow of the game is really nice and the writing compliments everything very well. The music in the main stage areas is a little too 'grand' for the feeling of the game. I love the whimsical feeling of the intro music, but the main stage music is a little much. Also the voice sounds get a little annoying when repeated over and over.

That being said, the main gameplay was a gas! I love the puzzle solving, and it never got stale, even in the later levels. The varying hats was a great take on 'unconventional weapons'.

p.s. thanks for the review, the LD version of Pillow Fight! is up on my page if you wanna try it

FrederickK says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:49am

I had some troubles too to make it work but it was well worth it!
The art, sfx, music are so adorable!
Really well done, would be a web game to play on kongregate or similar. xP

Blunt says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Really enjoyed the relaxed feel to the game. pleasent and consistant graphics. Great job.

jhell says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:52am

Really cool, well-executed, good polish. Not my style of gameplay, but I can salute the work :). Amazing audio overall, loved how the story introduced the gameplay elements subtly.

May 4, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Wow, excellent work! The art and music are awesome! I love puzzles! :D

Crowbeak says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 12:39am

:D Thanks again for the kind words, everyone. (That's a thing I'm happy to be a broken record about.)

ruerob says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:59am

Very great entry! I like your game very much. Great voice acting and graphics. Really well done game.

randoman says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 2:41pm

The audio in this game is AMAZING. The music, the sound effects. Congratulations! The puzzles were all well design and the learning curve is just right

elpaulo says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 10:49am

The music makes the game soooooo epic :-) Reminds my final fantasy.
Nice puzzle game here !

Team-KwaKwa says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 8:23pm

A 5-star entry, the progression was a bit unbalanced in the second and third world, but overall a high quality entry! Would like to see it as a fully released game.

cowboycolor says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:57pm

MovePlz/5
Loved the sound design and colors. The puzzles were unique and engaging and I got (in a weird way) a pokemon meets fftactics vibe from the color wheel of hat dominance. Delightful and I played through to the end <3

Crowbeak says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:02am

Color wheel of hat dominance is now my favorite description of it. :D We were just calling it a chart, but that's WAY better.

CiderPunk says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:12pm

that is one polished game! well done! my one complaint is the level on floor 3 where they gang up on a star hat, it locks your control whilst they pass it round.

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Amazing take on the push block puzzle genre. I love how well polished this entry is and how well thought out each level is designed plus I liked the pow sounds.

rojo says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Really well done puzzle game! The hat switching / convincing the critters to fight each other was a charming take on the theme. The story between levels added some nice context to the levels. The music and sound effects also felt very appropriate. I think my primary criticism would be that the movement felt a little choppy to me. Smoothing that out might improve the experience. Great work!

Nov 25, 2015 @ 5:22pm

An hat dimension? EPIC IDEA!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]