Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

FISHGUN

by sch00f - Compo Entry

The goal of the game is to get up as far as possible, without touching any bats or falling to your death.
Use your exploding fishes to kill bats and break blue blocks.

Controlls:
-works best with a gamepad
-arrows to move
-space to jump
-x to shoot

short Post Mortem:
I only had a couple of hours to work on this, and I think it turned out alright. I wanted to make more enemies and weapons, but didn't have the time.
One thing I'm really proud of is the music, because this is the first time ever i've made my own soundtrack for a game!
Game was made in GameMaker: Studio; SFX were made in BFXR; Music was made in Bosca Ceoil.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#63Fun3.86
#137Audio3.52
#175Overall3.64
#284Theme3.67
#291Graphics3.52
#518Innovation3.15
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:54am

Nice game, I like the controls

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:28am

I liked the gun mechanics and the graphics. I wish I didn't have to start over completely when I died though. Good job!

kyyrma says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:22pm

This is really good for a game made in just a few hours. Feels pretty finished and polished, and with randomized levels it has plenty of content to boot. Really good job!

liniix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Fun game, really liked the bats and blue bricks exploded. overall pretty fun.

jprogman says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Cool to have the level auto-generate, but there are some issues when there are solid blocks (the red ones) blocking above you at the ladder. That would often have me to resort to double-jumping. It's all right over all. Auto-generating levels are never easy to create. Good work!

I take it that I'm shooting blowfish because of... well... the blow-ups. :)

elpaulo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Very cool controls and design. Be careful, some levels are impossible ! (Or maybe i'm just a noob :-))
Great work.

Docjekyll says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Randomized levels are nice and the controls feel really nice.

Good job!

kikaz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Nice controls and very old school game, I like rough pixels ! Good job for the music too, it's not very easy to make it when it's not your specialty.

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:38pm

The bats look good. I like their graphic!

JArcane says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Fishgun! This is a great little game. The random levels can occasionally be frustrating, but it's quite fun, the music is catchy, and surprisingly well-balanced.

Great job!

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Very nice game. Seems very polished. Also love the music! Good job!

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:02pm

LOL... i like both sound track and effect... especially that sound when that thing exploded...
the control is so simple so easy to play.. and that gameplay... jump jump jump on wall.... can get alive with those explosion but get killed when touch the enemy...lol...

IDidGame says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:05pm

very good overall package, really fun!
i made it to stage 10

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]