Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Duck and Cover Forever!

by influxWishdream - Jam Entry

Duck and Cover Forever! is a mix of Freedom Planet with a dangerous yet fun mix of Wonder Slippers and RUBBER DUCKS!

Take on the world of Phina as the powerful kicking, rubber ducking alpaca, Mable Leaf as she takes on to return what belongs to her and the world itself as the creatures of the spirit world invade and take a part of everyone's souls called Empathions.

Collect Stars to power yourself up and take petals to refill your health! Take on Adukas, Grubs, Dragons, Raons and all different kinds of species as you venture ahead!

How long can you last without literally hitting yourself with a slipper?

Controls:
Arrow Keys - Move
Z - Jump
X - Wonder/Boomerang Slippers
C - Throw Rubber Ducks
Double Tap Direction - Dash

Tip 1: Don't keep killing enemies, you can skip over them.
Tip 2: Can't get close? There are Rubber Ducks for a reason.
Tip 3: Try to go slow and plan out your moves.

This game is in it's pre-alpha state and will most likely have missing assets and unfixed programming. Be warned.

Questions:
Hit me up an ask at the devlog in which the game itself will be continued for development:
http://dream-mill.tumblr.com/

You can also e-mail me directly at wishdream@wishdream.org

Credits:
Everything made (except music) by influxWishdream
Music by Wingless Seraph
Made with Game Maker: Studio

Sorry, no linux or mac version yet. I don't have the resources yet to build for them. (You can literally use Wine though, not so sure if it works...)

I'll try to get them ASAP.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#110Fun(Jam)3.72
#141Overall(Jam)3.71
#478Mood(Jam)3.13
#532Theme(Jam)3.33
#620Innovation(Jam)2.94
#627Graphics(Jam)3.06
#686Humor(Jam)2.50
#2090Coolness26%

Comments

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:56am

That was a good time, controlled well and had a good balance between hard and fun

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:58am

This game was a really well put together platformer, I enjoyed it and had some close calls, though I was able to make it to the end. Sometimes you can get stuck on the side of a wall, but you can wiggle yourself out pretty easily. Other than that, I'd just say that it feels too slippery. A good start, can't wait to see the finished product. :)

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:03am

Wow, you guys really know your stuff. This is a slick and responsive platform game and you have my respect for that. Throw in rubber ducks as weapons and I'm sold. Wish you good luck on continuing the project, it's promising so far.

I ran it through Wine on Linux Mint, so other users should have luck. Question, which library did you use to make the game? You said you didn't had the resources to compile a Linux version, depending on the lib, I can give it a try. May work only on Mint/Ubuntu, but that covers roughly 30% of people using Linux out there ;).

farnsworth2 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:05am

The menu is very nice and polished, but the rest of the game obviously needs a lot of art added. Some of the objects in the world felt like they should be in the backround, and were annoying to have to destroy. Knockback is always applied in the direction you are looking, not in the direction the damage came from.

JDAivaliotis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:07am

Could have been really fun, but the dashing! On some of the vertical platforming, I kept double tapping unintentionally to adjust slightly and then went flying off the edge.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:07am

Very nice base for a game, cant wait to see the end result! Attacking can be a bit awkward at times but its not too much of a problem. Great work so far, keep it up!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:10am

@fansworth2 I wish I actually had the time to refine most of these. As you can tell, the art assets weren't complete and I know the damage knockback is applied to where you're facing, I just didn't have time to fix it at the end.

@pvwradtke It's actually made with Game Maker Studio. I do have plans to export in Linux, I don't have the module for it yet. I might ask for my friend's PC to help export it.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:12am

It was Difficult but was fun. I was Dealing with a Difficulty Spike when the Enemy Just keeps spawning when I Keep getting knocked back.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:05am

the menu was very nice, control choices were a bit odd - i'd like to play again w/ more polish

xbcw says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:09am

Really nice start. I'm interested to see how this shapes up.

furriKira says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:12am

You're not kidding about planning your moves.
Though, this kind of stacked block climbing platforming is not good for this kind of game as the controls are slippery enough that sometimes you hit the top platform first than open air. Overall it's good.

silverorion says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:27am

Fun and challenging, definitely hearkens back to the classic platformer feel. So far it's really great! The melee mechanics feel really satisfying and the rubber ducks definitely come in handy in some parts.

Ploiky says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:37am

Beautiful game, feels very fluid and practical. Something very nostalgic about the sounds and style of game-play, and the art fit surprisingly well, even if not truly completed yet. Also has an excellent mix of difficulty and fun.

StereoBucket says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Fun game,enjoyed it.
The aiming can be a bit tricky,but it does add a kind of an extra level of difficulty to the game,in a good way,since you can't just roam through enemies with too much ease.
There are glitches,as expected, but the game still shows promise and is a lot of fun even at this stage.
I made a video that shows some glitches I've encountered,as well as making a small list at the start of the video so you can skip right ahead to them.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zlQ55HDAVi0
I'm sure most of those are known anyway,but just incase some glitch slipped unnoticed I made the video.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:34pm

I can definitely see the Freedom Planet influences in the gameplay and character design. No bad thing mind you, that's a great game. Controls are pretty solid. Would be cool to see the graphics fleshed out into something more complete looking.

Gunzil says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:15am

Very nice platformer prototype! I found the double tap dash to be a too sensitive with a keyboard setup, I kept accidentally dashing when I didn't mean to. I also am not a huge fan of how you come to a dead stop when you start attacking, but do appreciate how you move forward as you attack.

I found enemies low to the ground frustrating to fight, probably because it was unclear if I was inflicting damage on them or not with the basic attack.

The placeholder character frames are very effective at conveying what the player character is doing as well.

I had trouble finishing the level, the game felt too punishing with enemies off screen respawning and the significant knockback from getting hit.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:32am

Very nice work! I'll definitely keep my eye on this one. The game play felt very polished and the controls were tight. The level design was very good as well and seemed very carefully designed around the player's abilities, though the vertical shaft with the 1x1 blocks was a bit of a pain, however the challenge area at the beginning that required precise movements to avoid the leaping enemy's knock back felt very rewarding. After reading your hints, I really liked the idea of being able to dash ahead of enemies to skip over them and it felt very rewarding when I was able to pull it off. At times it felt like a much more combat oriented Sonic (like somewhere between Sonic and Mega Man), and I really liked it! The music was also killer. I liked the art style a lot, and the art you did have was very well made, though the graphics in this demo were definitely incomplete, particularly with the blank stage, though I'm sure you're well aware of that, and it is a demo. It was also unclear at first that the rubber duck was actually doing any damage since there was no audiovisual indication for hitting an enemy. Also enemies can still damage you when they are flying away after dying, which is annoying when you snipe them with your duck only to die to them hurling right for you (it only happened once, but I died to it and still feel the salt). Those are really the only gripes I have with this game. It's really a excellent game, especially for a demo, and I'm excited to see this game in the future. Best of luck!

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:29pm

nice to play.....

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]