Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Alien Crab in the Ghostmaze

by Xaychru - Compo Entry

You are an alien crab, and you were told that the most powerful weapon in the universe was hidden in this maze. You finally found a way to get there, but of course things won't go as expected...

Quick note: Don't spend too much time on level 25, I designed it on the last few minutes of the compo and it's way more frustrating than intended...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Fun4.31
Overall4.30
Coolness64%
#18Audio4.16
#29Humor4.07
#35Theme4.22
#47Mood3.87
#48Graphics4.24
#99Innovation3.88

Comments

ncannasse says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Very nice !
- was a bit too easy at the start, suddenly became very hard staring from level 17 (I think)
- the hero movement is a bit too fast : its bounding box is a bit big too so it's sometimes hard to enter in rooms when there's only one free block
- it would be nice if we could crush the pink mobs with the rock and/or make them fall down in holes, since they are very (too much) hard to deal with
- the graphics could be improved
- didn't finish yet (will try again), but would have like to see more often new mechanisms

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Full marks, I stuck with this till level 25 when I got to the end of the route carefully and then kicked to rock off... I will come back and finish this though. Great entry.

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Fun game, though it got a bit frustrating at the end. Graphics and audio are great. I liked the inner monologue.

hexagore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Just wonderful stuff this. I laughed at the big reveal and then enjoyed playing with the mechanic.

Great graphics and audio. I couldn't get a rockball up the little corridor so I'm afraid I ended up having to give up. Still thought it was awesome.

sbarrio says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Superb entry, my favorite so far. Great graphics, great music, lots of fun and on top of that, quite long!

Great job! :D

P.S- Also got stuck at level 25, but it still got 5 stars!

torcado194 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:37pm

very good! The scene with the chest was super fun to watch

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:38pm

I really enjoyed this one!

The music is great, the Crab speaches are funny and the weapon is funny as well.

Maybe he moves a bit too fast, but I like that. It was just a bit hard to play with the touchpad of a notebook.

Way to go guys :D

local minimum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Right when I started I thought: OK, I will need to complain about the controls, I won't be able to play this. 16 levels later showed that the controls worked surprisingly well though they were so hectic.

I didn't find the first levels too easy at all, but maybe you could offer the player an option to skip the tutorial part and go directly to the chest and also jump some of the easy levels. E.g. express elevators. Character could say something about it when if player approaches.

I really liked the character and the enemies. The audio fit snuggly and the effects were really nice. A really good entry.

PaulJs says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Great game !

devilright says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Man this is awesome! Great pacing, screen transitions, animations, everything.

KeyboardCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Great game ! Maybe a little too difficult for me :) .

ProgramGamer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:06am

Great game, gorgeous graphics and the story is nice too! I think the game is a little unforgiving though as the speed of your character is a bit too high. I love the idea of the paper fan too, even though it's not really a weapon as much as it is a tool.

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:01am

Wow, this was great. Love the frantic pace, the shaky camera, the feel, the humor, the graphics, the pounding music -- everything. Really polished. I made it to level 25 and couldn't get it, but I'm gonna give it another go soon!

Arche-san says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:48pm

The game is more fun if you controls the character with 2 players! :D

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Neat. A very good entry which seems to me one of the most cool for this LD32. I love this little creature and the physics. The first levels are really easy as they said, but it's necessary so as to understand this gameplay. Bravo. Thank you ++

psychomonster says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:15am

Wow this is super nice gameplay. Cool weapon, cool character... nice puzzles, nice level design :) Best game so far!

jeremyfa says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:40am

Excellent game. One of the best I played among LD32 entries so far! Good job

rnlf says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:42pm

This is one of the coolest games I've seen so far. The soundtrack is *amazing* and the design is very neat. Gameplay is perfectly balanced (a bit hard though, since I played in hardcore mode on a touchpad, not your fault, I guess).

If I had to name one thing to improve, the acceleration is a bit to fast so that fine-tuning your position is a bit difficult. And that's about all I can complain about. I ragequit on floor 25 though...

I actually saw you screenshots during the Compo and wanted to play it from the first second!

Also thank you for your comments on my game!

plams says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:05pm

What a hard and great game! Even though the crab moves really fast it feels like you're in control. The music is great! I made it until level 24 before it got too difficult.

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:54pm

nicely done!

Sunsheen says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:37am

The last level... the whole game felt pretty easy up until that icey hell...

Awesome job all around!

PapyPilgrim says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:04pm

I have to admit that I really disliked any puzzle involving the rocks: those were more frustrating that fun for me..

WetDesertRock says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Loved this entry. Music was fun, I enjoyed the sound effects and the levels had a smooth build up of difficulty. Well done and solid entry.
Also liked the mini dialogs.

The rock mechanics were a bit wonkey. I'd push it and it wouldn't go the correct direction it seemed, I'd blow it and sometimes it wouldn't blow the right way. Maybe it was just me.

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:17am

Great entry - one of my favourites! The buildup to the "weapon" reveal was so well done - I was actually feeling excited for the little guy :P Acceleration on the movement felt a bit high - I didn't mind the speed, but a slightly smoother climb to full speed might be nice.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:51pm

I played through hell and got a lame congratulations screen, the screen shake gave me a headache, the extremely fast and slippery (ice! Really!) movement induced quite a few annoying mistakes... Anything positive? Some of the levels were somewhat enjoyable at least...

High points for presentation and humour though. Allocate a few more hours to game design in the next Jam, ok?

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Great job! I love how the music sounds like a crab walking.

Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Really solid and complete entry. It would have worked well as a complete game too.

igoramendola says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 6:13am

Although I got stuck at level 25, I really enjoyed this game. That unconventional weapon is one of my favorites so far. It's awesome! hahaha good entry :)

Snicklodocus says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 2:52am

This was really great! One of my favorites so far. Very polished for a jam game. The art is wonderful. My only complaint is the extreme walking speed made it frustrating to precisely roll rocks around at times. Good job!

Namide says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Very good! The sound is nice!
I think just that the velocity of the character is too fast.

May 6, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Pssst - You are in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uFcSJC6FtXs

LMT says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 5:34pm

That is actually amazing! great music, gameplay and graphics

rjhelms says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:04am

I love this! Great take on the theme, and a really good job gradually introducing the mechanics. Gets a bit frustrating at the end, as you say, but a rock-solid entry overall.

Mizipzor says ...
May 13, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Very impressive!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]