Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Saucery

by mockthebear - Jam Entry

Our pig hero, in the hopes of discovering the lost grimoire of mystic food, wandered into the ruins of a once great chef. What he didn't expect was to awaken the spirits of the long deceased guardians of the ruins. Now he must face them with meat and cheese, manipulated by his strong saucery.

Saucery is an arena/survival game about throwing meatballs and cheese at your enemies. Healivy inspired by Magicka, Gauntlet and others more.

Combine four ingredients to release spells.

Made in c++ with SDL2

Check us on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Hungry-Bear/422832567856572

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#8Fun(Jam)4.22
#19Overall(Jam)4.14
#22Theme(Jam)4.24
#54Innovation(Jam)3.98
#95Humor(Jam)3.77
#95Audio(Jam)3.78
#157Mood(Jam)3.61
#373Graphics(Jam)3.57

Comments

tentabrobpy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Too cool! This is a great concept and it's really fun to figure out all the combos and put them to use. The graphics are perfect and the music fits well. My one complaint is that the gameplay is a little repetitive after a while! I was going to give you 3/5 stars on humor, but I bumped it up one when i noticed your title is a pun :P

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:01am

Thank yoooooou <3

dopplerdefekt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:55am

Great game! Nice graphics, music and mechanics (spent almost half an hour trying to discover all the spells). The levels could have a little more variation though.

block97 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:16am

Really cool twist on the game theme. Like the uses of each food item. Great game!

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:32am

The spell selection is really cool and the tutorial clearly instructed me so I was ready on the first level. Sweet game!

brunocoimbra says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:35am

Very fun to play and I am going to replay it sereval times from now! Nice work!!

Logicon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:36am

Very fun. I do enjoy the Magicka combat system, and this was fun to figure out all the combos. Good job

xplicitone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:36am

Great game! Awesome sound effects and I like figuring out how to play on the fly. Runs smoothly on my PC.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:40am

Not the most original idea, but really well put together. Very polished, and the number of combinations of attacks is very cool.

Chris Olsen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:45am

This was super fun. I got to Wave 11 before I got completely rushed on by a gang of purple fish!

rjhelms says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:51am

This is the best take on the theme I've seen so far. The idea of combining the elements is really well done and a lot of fun to play around with, graphics & audio style works really well too. Great job!

Firaa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:52am

I'm going to be honest and put this out there, because I'm certain I'm not the only person here thinking this: This game made me hungry.

I really liked mixing the spells and discovering new combinations.

BluShine says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:04am

Great concept. Love the variation in spells. At first I was kinda frustrated at the short cooldowns, but when I realized each spell had a separate cooldown I really started having a lot of fun. I found a pretty good combo going between hot chili, hamburger bomb, and the cheesy beam thing. I only got to level 11, but I think I probably could have gone further if I played safer and used healing.

The tutorial was a little long and text heavy, I think I would have preferred a tutorial level to teach me how to use spells. Also would have have been good to have more variation in the waves, but the spell variation kept things interesting anyways.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:09am

This is really cool, chef version of Magicka.

celisoft says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:48pm

My computer reboot when I launch the game ... :-/ (Windows 7 - 64 bits)

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Great execution of the mix-elements-on-the-fly-to-create spells concept... Graphics were good, sound was all right but got a bit annoying... While there are many spells, levels are pretty straightforward and not very eventful. I guess that's my main input.

Otherwise, solid entry :) Good luck!

Reccy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Very nice little game. The casting system is easy to use and the gameplay is just complicated enough that it's really fun to play! Great job! :D

Killbert says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Amazing games! Spicy meatballs are too OP!

katorovitalo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:27pm

I had a blast playing this game. I loved all the different combinations you can have with the weapons in this game. It is a little on the easy side, but I still had a blast playing it. I really hope you keep working on this project after Ludum Dare is over, I would buy this game if you released an extended version of it with some additional elements. :)

mockthebear says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Thank you ppl! @esayitch yeah, we're planned around 4 to 6 enemys durint the waves. I mean, 4 to 6 types. But we got time to only 2 of them without animation XD

@katorovitalo we're planning to enable multiplayer stuff c:

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Nailing the gameplay concept, needs some better theming. There's something here though, seriously!

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Oh wow, this was an awesome concept. I've always wondered what different sorts of magic systems that people could come up with if they didn't feel the need to have mana. You pretty successfully came up with a skill-based magic system that's based around the player's understanding of how the spells work rather than how much MP they have left. That's awesome.

I say go further with this. Maybe make the tutorial less front-heavy and integrate it into the game more naturally, and change up the colors so that it's easier to tell them apart (red and orange look identical to me, and I'm not even color blind!). But seriously, awesome job, I want a full game like this. Tempted to steal this idea so it's on you to make the game before I do. ;)

Kasmilus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Great game but extremely easy! Should be harder :)

Uruca Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:53pm

I like so much!!! The combinations are very cool, great ideia!!! Congratulations.

Jungle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Pretty Excelent!!!!! Great idea, great inspiration. Congratulations to the team!!!!

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:05am

The pun title totally got me, can't wait to play this once I am home from work :)

murilo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Hahaha this is brilliant. Everything was great, except the graphics/animations are too simple but even so they fit well. My only complaint was that it's too easy. Especially because you can easily recover your health with a spell. Great game, guys!

Newt_ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Wow, what a unique idea! Finding out all the different spells and how they worked was a lot of fun. It does get repetitive though, I stopped after completing round 10.

dvdfu says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:22am

Reminds me a lot of Dota's Invoker! The gameplay was very very fun, and I loved trying all the combos. Great work!

binarycoder says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:27am

Fantastic all around!

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Thanks for all the reviews guys! :D :D

Oh, one thing. the game gets pretty intense from wave 25 :)

Fanttum says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:53am

any web or mac build in the future?

mockthebear says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:32pm

@Fanttum nope. It was built in c++

TeslaCoil says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:03pm

AWESOME game. I think it's my favourite of the ones I've reviewed so far. Turn this into a sort of adventure game, and you'll have something crazy good.

It was pretty easy, but that was undeniably a benefit. It gave the player time to experiment with the elements, think about what they were doing, and try out a bunch of different spells. If the game were too much harder, it would've been about finding "the best" spell and spamming it.

That said, I died at Wave 12, when every enemy spawned on top of me. :/

Portals says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:24pm

The introduction is good and informative. Graphics are simply awesome. All the different attacks and combinations are really fun, trying to figure the best attack. The is really an unconventional weapon, and I absolutely love it. Great job!

ploy says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Usually, I don't like non-web games, but I downloaded this, and it wasn't waste of time :) Great game, the funniest I've played, and pretty fun too

RyanNielson says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Solid effort, I liked the interesting spells and the great pig sprite.

May 7, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Fun to play. My only change to the UI would be to make the cooldowns display in the lower mid center, and the "spell dictionary" thing show more near the top - I couldn't tell my first time around that each spell had a cooldown and it seemed rather arbitrary when I could cast, but after I figured that out it was quite fun.

Artylo says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Awesome. Reminds me a lot of Magika.

mockthebear says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 3:26am

Ppl who rated this game. Thx!!!!! omg we got 19º!!!

<3
thank you guys, you're awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]