Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Mortal Coil

by CogComp - Compo Entry

Mortal Coil, starring Ben T. Coil.

(The unconventional weapon is Ben's magnetic force)

Suddenly Ben awakens.
Now being a lifeless coil this is something that Ben wasn't exactly prepared for.

Not only that, for some reason things are attacking him and and he has to desparately try to find how to leave this crazy world.

Luckily Ben has figured out that if he concentrates hard enough he can attract objects. At least he thinks it will be handy at some point.

Instructions
Guide Ben to the end of each level,
solving the puzzles and avoiding the enemies.

Keys
Mouse + WASD to move
Space to Jump
Mouse Button - to attract objects

There's currently only 5 levels, and it loops at the end.

and oh, you'll have to run it in something else than Chrome unless I find the time to port it.

Tools used:
Unity 5 (for the first time)
Visual Studio 2013 Express (since Monodevelop won't start)
Blender
Milkshape 3D
Wings 3D
Gimp
Audacity
Bfxr
LMMS

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#279Innovation3.50
#412Audio2.96
#608Graphics2.96
#624Humor2.59
#685Fun2.90
#702Theme3.17
#763Overall2.94
#769Mood2.67

Comments

HenryBell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:10am

Really like the idea , cool concept dude :D

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:11am

The Good:
* Nice concept, and phyisics are fun :D
* I really dig the music
* I somehow like the character, tough it's a pity that you can't see his face while playing

The Neutral:
*Sometimes when you use your hability you break the level (You make it impossible to complete), tough it's also amusing somehow.

The bad:
* I think that the controls could be improved, specially the jump, it feels too artificial


Keep up the good work :D

Birke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:53am

Music and scope of the game is impressive but it is very easy to break the level with the attraction power. I agree that the jump could use some work. You should look into using AnimationCurves to control how much force you apply to your character over the duration of the jump

doitle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:07am

I was really impressed by this one. The mechanic didn't make sense to me at first but once I got it, it was pretty cool. The game looks very nice and plays decently well. In particular I liked the one with the thin platforms with the Os on them that you had to keep moving on or you'd fall. Also, do you have category ratings disabled? There were no ratings to give it seems.

crewderek says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:11am

The concept is really awesome! Wish you had more time to develop around this.

Mantlair says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:27am

Nice concept. Couldnt passed the level 2. Tried a several times. By the way if you can get to end after GAME OVER thing you just get to the next level.

rantt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:50am

Cool concept, I like the story bit in the instructions. Nice graphics and music, the controls controls felt kinda strange, and I kept having to restart when I messed up the level. A puzzle reset option would be nice. I enjoyed it, nicely done :)

MightyToast says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:07am

Awesome! I loved the lo-fi look to the menus. It felt like a DOS game splash screen. The attraction mechanic was crazy awesome too.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:19am

the concept are cool~
but the control and the jump are not too good..

Permamiss says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:27am

Welp, it seems that I discovered a bug. Holding the jump button allows you to do a freakin' moon-jump the instant you land. It's pretty hilarious.
Also, I couldn't seem to pick up anything else after killing the second enemy with a leaf block. Dunno if I just wasn't close enough to blocks I was trying to pick up or something, but thought I'd point that out.
Also didn't like how a lot of the time I would be trying to drop a block, but yet another tree was in the way of doing so. Needs more space between each other, or the ability to drop even when something is in the way, I suppose.

donan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:34am

Nice concept and music. Really enjoyed it :D
Keep working on it after the compo,

Permamiss says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:39am

Neat idea! Seems pretty tough to consistently attract things the proper way, however. Nonetheless, it was enjoyable and really reminded me of experimental games from the '90s. Thanks!

cmayhem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:12am

Really cool concept! Implementation needs a bit more work. For me the mouse was too to properly look around. Also pretty difficult, might be better to just restart the level when dying instead of the whole game.

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:51am

Love any game ambitious enough to be 3d! it's a nice concept but it seems easy to break the level!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:27pm

I like the idea which uses physical, but it's seems to me that it's too poor so as to create a full game. Maybe it can be improved by more features. It's not bad - just an interesting concept. Thank you ++

Cherrymochi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Great music!!

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Fun mechanics. Love the way that guy turns. :-) Please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

ddalacu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Weird jump nice effect and music,i passed the level even if i got game over by passing it in the last moment.

TwiiK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Absolutely loved the music. How did you make it if you care to share? :)

Even though physics puzzlers can very often break they are fun to play with. I liked the chaotic nature of this one. In the first level you can easily completely ruin it for yourself or solve it in a fabulous way by riding the cubes to the goal. :p

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Very innovative idea.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Very cool mechanic, definitely fits the theme. Very well polished for a compo entry as well. Awesome work!

frokes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Like the idea but it needs some tweaking, like the jump and the way the cubes behave sometimes.

greg-anims says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Nice style, feels like a shiny entertainment game. Needs level checkpoints

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Interesting mechanic! Blocks act funny sometimes!

CogComp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Added a youtube video to the links in case someone is wondering how the game works: https://youtu.be/ijqZ7_uAiqM

talecrafter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Lol, that was pure fun. Time well spent. The mechanics were hilarious.

ssiegel2 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Controls are a little finicky, the jump is too limiting. The concept is interesting, but the getting the blocks to fall just right is difficult.

SuperMsp10 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:57pm

controls fell too award to play and it also detracts from the gameplay

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Pretty nice idea, and a great concept. Great music too. 9.5/10

Mony says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:09pm

interesting game but very buggy

efonsecab says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:41pm

I like the game.
I think it would be good to eventually add gamepad support to it, so actions are closer and you can have easier movement and camera rotation.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Great concept, but the controls are a little weird. I found that the character doesn't face where you point him and since the mouse doesn't get locked in it's very distracting. The magnetic control is pretty random too.

Overall, pretty great concept just missing the fine tuning.

DaniDK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:34am

it was really challenging I enjoyed it a lot. The jump feels a bit sudden, but overall awesome job! :)

Headmade says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Downloadable Version would be nice.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:50pm

very cool concept! it really needs to restart from the level because its frustrating having to play all the levels you already solved. also the character controller jumping seems strange. its really addicting tho!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:46pm

A little too tricky in the controls but I thought it was a nice idea. It also crashed when I used the power. Nice entry though so good work!

May 11, 2015 @ 1:25am

Cool entry. You can improve the jump physics. Also, when you die you need to start on the first level again, maybe adding the concept of lives (for example, 3) to the game could be nice too.

See ya!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]