Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Freeze Tank

by Thijsku - Jam Entry

CONCEPT
--------------
Freeze Tank is a multiplayer game in which you have to freeze players in order to win. All players possesses a freeze gun which has the ability to freeze your enemy and defrost your teammates! A team can win in two different ways:

1) all enemies are freezed
2) or the crystal at the enemy based is completely frozen

CONTROLS
--------------
W/A/S/D: Move Around
Left mouse button: Freeze enemy/Defrost teammates/Repair Own crystal/Damage enemy crystal

WARNING
--------------
Unfortunately, there are some issues with the current build. The issues are listed below:

1) The game is GPU intensive. If you are experiencing framedrops, you should lower the settings. This can be done in the main menu.
2) The game only has two official servers which are not open 24/7. You can always host your own dedicated server or LAN game.
3) Due to the time limit, we couldn't test our game properly. You might encounter some bugs.

We're happy with the learning experience in this Ludum Dare and it was a blast to make Freeze Tank. Hopefully we'll see some of you on the battlefield!

THE FUTURE
-------------------
Perhaps in the future, we'll continue the development of Freeze Tank. We might even release a patch later this week.


ARE YOU INTERESTED IN RUNNING A (24/7) SERVER?
--------------------
Please let us know! We will tweet your server adress!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#58Fun(Jam)3.87
#243Graphics(Jam)3.82
#282Mood(Jam)3.40
#298Overall(Jam)3.47
#473Audio(Jam)2.87
#825Innovation(Jam)2.50
#928Theme(Jam)2.56
#2090Coolness26%

Comments

Dan Norder says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:37am

Link?

Thijsku says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:34am

The official servers are offline at the moment. (we need some sleep too!) We'll keep you guys updated on the status of the server on our Twitter account:

@TumbleweedGames

sebasRez says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:49pm

That was fun guys, cool online play, multiplayer is always awesome and the visuals were nice too. I really had fun playing with you all.

omaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:53pm

This sounds really cool. Any chance of a mac build?

Dickie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:20pm

solid game, had quite a bit of fun playing it.

art work was killer, gameplay got a little stale a little quick but I think that was mainly due to just having 2 v 2.

another problem more players would have solved were your lanes which were a little less useful but I can see them mixing it up if you had a larger playing population so can't really fault you for that.

cute concept, well executed... just add a little speed boost to the tanks somehow

Dickie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:21pm

also props for doing networking & and a good game in a jam

jsmars says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:09am

Awesome game, had a great time playing on official servers with devs last night. Really fun mechanics and was nice to see that they intend to make an updated version. Gonna save this for LAN parties, I think it would be great fun if your around 10 players :)

Xaychru says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:31pm

I had a lot of fun playing with the devs yesterday! The tanks are a bit too slow in my opinion, though I really like the gameplay, it would be really cool to play with more players, I hope you continue working on this game. :)

jsmars says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Looking forward to that patch, how is it coming along? :)
Suggested important features which shouldn't be too hard to implent:
Name over player
ingame chat
win/loose text
scoreboard with player names and number of wins/losses
jumping (possibly not able to shoot while jumping so it doesn't get abused and turn into quake, should mainly be for messing around and exploring the map)

lucien says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Very nice 5/5

Thijsku says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Thanks for the feedback so far! We have started working on the post-jam version of the game. Social features like usernames and a chat system are definitely things we'd like to implement in the game. We're really excited to expand Freeze Tank!

We'll probably livestream the development of Freeze Tank this weekend. If you'd like to keep an eye on the development or official play moments, make sure to follow our Twitter. :) (@Tumbleweedgames)

@omaha: Unfortunately, we don't own a Mac system which is required. We'll look into this matter though!

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:07am

I like the art style. I'm assuming that it taking along time after selecting join a server is because the server is down.

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:14am

I couldn't get on a server, so I just made my own and hopped around. Can confirm that the explosions are immensely satisfying.

Benjamin says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:51pm

It looks great, I was alone so I launched multiple windows to test it. I totally like the freeze unfreeze mechanic I will keep this and play it on my next LAN session

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]