Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hatchet Harry

by JokerDen - Compo Entry

***Description***
You are Hatchet Harry – legendary character of Guy Ritchie's movie "Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels". You must punch your visitors with dildos for money and spend it for upgrades. Use Space key for punches. A and D key for selecting power-ups (instead mouse).
Earn every trophy and prove reputation of Hatchet Harry!

***Instruments***
Adobe Flash CC
IntelliJ IDEA
Garage Band

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#12Humor4.19
#42Fun3.93
#52Theme4.14
#55Overall3.93
#98Graphics4.03
#133Audio3.54
#203Mood3.41
#2143Coolness24%

Comments

Sublustris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:11am

Nice work. Visuals are great!

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:27am

Simple game, great execution

Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:25pm

LOL)))

Pierrec says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:32pm

I love how the regular upgrade-game mechanics are twisted in this one. You could have kept "Innovation" in the ratings cause I would have given some stars.

Ildfuglen says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:32pm

I love it! One of the first Ludum Dare games I actually finished :D Great job!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:39pm

I never thought I'd be playing a game where...

Hilarious and well done. Definitely an unconventional weapon.

marccspro says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:43pm

This is the best game ever ! A lot of fun ! Good work !

KeyboardCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Nice visual and fun to play (I have all the trophies !).

Mimus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:35pm

huge! thanks for this game!
(Google Translate, I'm French)

retrophantom says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:45pm

i love to display my trophies 'x'

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Great game, to bad there is not a proper ending.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Nice game! Extremely polished and with some great art. The plot is disturbing and hilarious at the same time :P

Gameplay should evolve, otherwise it becomes a bit too repetitive; but after all this is just a jam.

well done!

Catman says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Simple yet quite polished game! Nice touch with the criticals! :D

piratequentin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Hilarious game! Well done :)

Polyomino says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Great sound effects!

sbarrio says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Really nice work. Love the idea and use of the theme. Superbly polished and wel executed.

P.S- Seeing your game made me rewatch the movie, by the way ;)

Sorak86 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:06pm

ahahhaha, awesome.
The animations and art are superb!

drludos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:19pm

stupidly funny idea, and very nice and polished execution. It kept me busy for more than 15 minutes :)
I love the music too, very entertaining.

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Really polished entry with fun gameplay - great job!

Althar93 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Amazing - so dumb, yet so addictive :)

jlauper says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Great game, and yes I saw it :)

xk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:25am

Best work!!!!!

John Vanis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:28am

Nice art. It's do funny!

Demy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:32am

It's rediculus but this game looks so solid, it has perfect play flow and I can't turn it off. Nice game design actually.

flummox3d says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:30am

This is just unbelievably silly.
And I love it. :D
Nice work :)

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:58pm

This game is great. It was one of the few games that made me play to the end. The subject matter and style are great, but this game has one special thing... Compulsion. I really wanted to keep going and win all the trophies. The unlock curve of the levelling is well balanced and it just works. Humans just love to see bars fill and get cash! reminds me of "Galaxia" in that way - http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=22521 Kudos :)

LegacyCrono says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:25pm

I bashed a guy with a dildo for half an hour and earned $200k from it, maybe I should reevaluate my life decisions...
Really fun game, nice work!

Ash K says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:22pm

This is my new favorite game

danidre14 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Nice game. Really hilarious, as well.

I finished in 14 days, with over $100,000 in that one try! XD

Thank you for your submission.

zatyka says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:56am

Very well thought out and executed. You a repetitive concept pretty interesting to the player with all the bonuses and upgrades. Golden triumph FTW.

You should be proud of this (I think)

Taldius says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:22am

Very good visual. The game is pretty simple but well done, and it was kinda funny.
Nice work!

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Game is simple but extremely funny!!
Always wanted to slap someone with that kind of weapons...

Dreauw says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Took me 14 days to complete the game :D That was really fun.

At the end, with all the upgrades, you can pretty much keep the thing going forever.

Nice work on the art and music too :)

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:01am

Holy shit a Lock Stock game.
I played til the end. I wept.
Tears of joy!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]