Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Lucid

by rxi - Compo Entry

Thanks to Sheepolution for the 64bit Linux build and WetDesertRock for the OSX build.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics4.72
#5Mood4.48
#9Audio4.39
#10Overall4.20
#70Fun3.84
#590Theme3.30
#670Innovation2.92
#753Humor2.34
#2008Coolness30%

Comments

FireCamp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:33am

wow really excellent game. 48h alone..? seriously?
graphics mood and audio 5/5 for me and very good overall.

A fez lover , ha ? ;)
good luck. Awesome entry

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:40am

Graphics reminded me of fez, but overall very nice game :)

aroymart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:56am

This was really fun! It felt great and the graphics were amazing. reminded me a lot of cave story.

Dickie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:09am

the atmosphere you created was awesome, really nicely done.

the graphics made the nostalgic yet the the warp felt really fresh.

I enjoyed playing though I will admit I rage quit when I died just a few too many times at the hands of the same flap flaps, I'll hopefully remember to have another go when I'm not so sleep deprived.

solid jam game!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:13am

Love it! Reminds me of Fez.

Thoran says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:15am

How can I say that this was just amazing? dude this was awesome. no words to describe, congratulations!

mtanton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:35am

Once again I am jealous of your skill. The graphics, feel, everything is great per usual! Good job man.

nicotuason says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:47am

Beautiful art and music! The world is very dreamlike and is a joy to traverse.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:59am

Dude how did you do that effect? It's awesome. So much content, you're a beast.

Great great

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:19am

Got all eggs! The one you have to drop down onto took a while. Lovely moody little platformer with a penchant for nasty jump-and-shoot bits :p Nifty visuals on the shockwave and all round nicely presented.

zatyka says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:03pm

The level design, visual, and audio resulted in a very engrossing experience for me.

Sometimes jumps didn't register when moving down slopes, often resulting in death/frustration. The theme also felt a bit forced. Aside from those 2 things, I loved everything about this entry. Excellent work.

Madball says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:14pm

The atmosphere is wonderful! Graphics and music fit together so well. And the gameplay is relaxing and simple...
...too simple. The main mechanic isn't used enough. And this game could have any kind of weapon, there is nothing connected with your ability.

I liked that enemies spawn depending on where you go from. There was one spot where you can go horizontally or drop from above, and it was used with effect.

By the way, enemies behave weirdly when colliding with walls.

Xaychru says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Beautiful art, very relaxing mood, the game feels a bit far from the theme, but it's still really pleasant to play!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Amazing entry! The graphics and audio are simply mind-blowing for a 48 hour game, and the platforming was really smooth too.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Really beautiful art and sound. Gameplay was simple and polished, and the overall presentation was spot on. Really really nice job!

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Absolutely amazing you did this alone in 48 hours. It looks, sounds & plays great. Especially the controls are super tight. I'm not very good at platformers, but even I could get through this game without too much frustration :)

ajopart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Impressive, really.

WetDesertRock says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:28pm

10/10, fits the easter theme the best.
All jokes aside:

Have to say I may of rage-quit there during one part. 12 eggs left and I was stuck at the far right most side of the map (as far as I know). Me being bad at platformers probably had something to do with me quitting early. I do want to find that last egg sometime though.

Anyways, I like your music a lot. It fits, but yet doesn't attract too much attention. One complaint is that I was tired of the first track after awhile.
The sound effects were really good and cohesive, and I loved the big whooom sound. It was everything I expected and more.

The art is very interesting and I liked how you built up your landscape. Nothing is ever still, which is always great. One issue I have is that your blue background block things seem to be in the foreground.

Managore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:32am

Great game as usual, with wonderful attention to detail! I love exploring worlds like the one you build. :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:15am

Beautifull, nice sound and ambiance. The attack is kinda useless. Maybe it could have activate some stuff or something.

Backterria says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:07am

Awesome game!Love the weapon!Was watching it and now we can finally play it!Keep up the good work!

rnlf says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:57pm

I have to say your visual style was indeed very Fez-y this time, but we all love Fez, so that's no problem at all!

This game is a piece of art, I love the calm and clear music with crystal clear pixel art. I like the shockwave effect a lot. Was this made with your software renderer framework btw?

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Hey rxi, I always bookmark your blog page during LD and you delivered again, loved it. Satisfying attack and engaging world to explore

GFM says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Just tried to run it on linux (Ubuntu 14.04 x64).

I had to install libluajit-5.1-2 (it's not listed on the README). But even after that, the game didn't run. I get the following error:
"error: [string "graphics.lua"]:7: could not init video"

I'll try to play it later, on Windows. :)

Jwatt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:39pm

The audio is legit moody.

I was kind of expecting more creative use of the weapon with the destructible blocks and all that. In the end, it's a fairly standard Knytt-like platformer with good production.

GFM says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Amazing game in every aspect!

I only felt it lacking in the ending... I didn't get a feeling of accomplishment after getting that last egg.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Not bad. Visuals and audio is very good. Wave effect is pretty cool, but it don't fit the theme on my opinion.

micahcowan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:06pm

This game friggin rocks. The shockwave thing is fun, and the falling leaves thing is a great touch (in addition to being a nice clue that there's something above you).

Think the theme song's too spacey/low-key for this kind of game though, personally.

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Got a really nice cave story vibe from it. Excellent visual and audio and really smooth platforming. Will definitely have to come back to beat this game.

runvs says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Nice game with great music. Had some troubles with controls and collision (when to shoot and when to jump). Also some checkpoints "in between" would have been nice.
Nevertheless, great game!

plams says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Very nice game! Weapon has a really rewarding *thump*

arhpositive says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Out of this world music, solid graphics and a captivating atmosphere is what made me retry the level even if that meant jumping over those spikes for the umpteenth time.

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Fantastic game, great art, and interesting world to explore. Can't wait to see what you make next.

keddelzz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Very nice music and sounds, epic shockwave effect. Controls are smooth. Love the game! - But for me, it is too hard! (But I'm a noob, tho)

Marcus316 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:41am

This was an incredible experience. I'd love to see this expanded.

With only 48 hours, it's hard to call the world small, but the game did feel a little compact with only a small area to explore. That said, the layout of the world is wonderful and feels just challenging enough (or maybe a touch too easy for hardcore platform gamers).

Excellente work!

phi6 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:49am

I also created an exploration/Metroidvania platformer myself, so was on the lookout for good games to compare and study. Your art style really grabbed me, the animation and pixel art is absolutely amazing. Completed the game, I enjoyed finding the eggs and the platforming physics is absolutely spot on - even if you didn't implement downhill slope detection. Didn't see the theme come in anywhere, the attack was a nice effect though and I'm more about polish than innovation anywhere. Full marks from me!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:52pm

wow, really nice game.
First thought was really fez'y (guess I wasn't alone, now that I read some comments :) )
really good controls and a perfect feel.

Smiley says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:50pm

so where is the 10 point system when I need it? best game this year!

I left the game running in the background just for the relaxing music :)

CScribes says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:44am

Simply amazing! I'm speechless that one person created this in two days time ")

SiENcE says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:38am

Hey rxi, again a gorgerous game. I like the main character. Good choice with the white outline and color palette. All this small details are amazing! Love it :-).

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Hey, I liked this entry so much I included the game as part of my Top 10 Platformers of Ludum Dare 32:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/27/my-top-10-platformer-games-of-ludum-dare-32/

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:24am

Mood was great. Thanks for making this!

I found the hitboxes on the enemies to be a little large. There were times with the jump between the spikes with two flying enemies that I swear I would clear the enemy but then die even without touching it.

norwalnate13 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:21am

I love the mood. Also, the character is so adorable.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:01am

The art and especially music here are very nice. Great physics too. It requires a lot of precision to hit the birds sometimes, which got frustrating. I thought there was a weak connection to the theme as well. But, I'm really impressed with the game! Great job.

Saker Games says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:15am

I like the graphics and the sounds. The building blocks really reminded me about Fez at first. :)
The movement and the animations are smooth. Really good and polished game. Congrats!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Amazing entry, the graphics and sounds are very well executed. I feel a lot of FEZ vibes, and I love that!

GhostBomb says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Nice.

Incredible mood and sense of exploration. The weapon is simple yet satisfying.

orange08 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:14pm

this is quite good
the graphics and sound go very well together to create a nice mood... I enjoyed the things like planets & stars in the background especially... because they are slightly abstract they give the game a really unique feeling. Perhaps some of the background graphics could twinkle and disappear occasionally(would just be another nice touch). Anyway this was a fantastic little experience, the graphics reminded me a little bit of cave story.

I wouldn't be surprised at all if this game got (at least) in the top 10.

Mase says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:14pm

The game is good, and the graphics are wonderfully detailed. But it feels too familiar and safe. I'd prefer a more adventurous style, even at the expense of polish.
Nice work.

Atmospherium says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Love the graphics and audio (as always). Some cool platforming sections although some areas feel unnecessarily tough.

I could do with more forgiving hitboxes, a wider attack range, and more precise jumping on slopes. But those are minor nitpicks. On the whole I really enjoyed this.

vegard1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Gud

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:34am

it is really amazing you find the time to make something so wonderfully complete. lovely game.

jmborden says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:24pm

I can't believe this is a freakin' compo entry... we might have a winner here! Plus you made this in Lua?! REPLs are nice aren't they? Really well done game!

flummox3d says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Solid art style, easy to control, and I loved the effect of the force push or whatsit :) Great work :)

jcsirron says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 8:00pm

This definitely reminds me of Cave Story. I love the difficulty of the game, too!

ChronoDK says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:47am

Controls felt a bit floaty for my taste, but really nice work besides that! Music sets a pleasant mood.

HolyBlackCat says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 10:08am

Very nice and polished game!

TeamCalcium says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 10:42am

I liked this a lot. The graphics are really nice althought repetetive. The controls were good but I experienced some irregularities when fighting enemies (they didn´t get hit by the shockwave). Finally I have to admit that it can become boring after a while but nevertheless it´s a very good entry. 4 stars!

Curial says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 11:45am

Amazing pixelart, graphic FX, great audio and loved the destructible objects.

May 4, 2015 @ 12:56pm

The only thing I can complain about is playing parts over and over again, so some kind of checkpoints within a level would be nice! Awesome visuals, audio and mood! :)

May 4, 2015 @ 3:14pm

This is exactly the type of game I love: focusing on the mood, the exploration, with a mysterious feeling. Beutaiful graphics and music, the game mechanics are perfect too. And you did that all by youself in 2 days 0o? Wow, that's amazing! Anyway, I really love your entry and I wish you the best :3

Arche-san says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Impressive work for a compo entry. Good exploration game. The atmosphere is calm and soothing. The music matches perfectly with the game style. I like It! Thanks. :)

PyroSneak says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Really good, reminds me a lot of cave story, which is a good thing. solid game, nice mechanics, audio, graphics. controls really well too!

KaiseanGames says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 11:35am

One of the best games. well done.

Terry says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 5:15pm

egg

ehtd says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:07am

Nice game. The controls felt a bit bouncy, also thought the enemies were not properly placed, they just delayed the progress. Other than that, great job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]