Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Fireman vs Zombies

by ripatti - Compo Entry

You are a fireman turned on road full of zombies.
Mount your fire hose to hydrants and defense yourself by water jets!

Sorry, no sound - I had no time to add it.


HOW TO PLAY

Come to hydrant and hold A.
After mounting fire hose you will be able shot by water jets!
Press S to do that. Press A again to unmount the hose.

Kill as many zombies as you can!
Collect bonuses to raise your abilities!

Be careful! Your fire hose has limited lenght.
Also every hydrant has limited amount of water.


CONTROLS

Arrows to move
A - mouning and unmounting
S - shooting


TROUBLESHOOTING

It may need OpenAL to play sound.
You can find OpenAL installer in the _redist folder.

Maybe it will require MSVC 2008 Redist.
You can find it here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=29
Anyway, fvsz_static.exe is statically compiled and should work without it.

UPD.
Apr 21, 2015. Fixed crash by pressing A while holding S.
Apr 22, 2015. Fixed bug with undefined variable and compiled the game statically.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#5Theme4.47
#8Fun4.20
#10Overall4.20
#18Innovation4.21
#22Mood4.10
#52Humor3.94
#104Graphics4.00
#122Audio3.58
#1811Coolness36%

Comments

bazld says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:46am

Really well done game, with lots of nice attention to detail. Great use of the theme. Moody music.

[PS had to swap your openal32.dll for another one on my machine to get it to run. Win7]

popcorn897 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:14am

I love the idea of a fire hydrant every ten feet, its awesome lol, but really, its a fun game even though its small.

Spraying the hose and hitting zombies was very, very satisfying, and so was the hose animation. The simple mechanic of having to wait a moment to attach to the hydrant also made for some scary moments; several times, because I didn't attach all the way (frantic running ensued). It also made for additional satisfaction attaching to a hydrant and completely obliterating the closing horde. I kind of and kind of don't wish I could point the hose down and up, it added difficulty but... bah I don't know.

I did, however get a game crashing bug, and I was able to reproduce it. The error occurs when you are attached to a hydrant and hold S to spray and try to detach using A at the same time.

Nevertheless, cool idea, and satisfying execution. MAKE MORE!

ripatti says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:42am

popcorn897, thank you for the bug, it's fixed now.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:52pm

You make games that look like they came from a 90s DOS shareware CD.

Your screenshots look like they were taken on a Windows 95 operating system.

I find these things really endearing.

I'm not joking.

Bashabookoos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:56pm

The game wont play for me. After I open the application it says it wasnt started correctly and then immediately closes.

Kostyan1996 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Cool concept, fitting theme, great sound and animation! Love it!

jojocanard says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Really great and satisfying mechanic. Everything else is pretty well done too !

RoryD says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Same as Bashabookoos, it didn't start. It could be due to your compilation environment (it looks like you used vs2010) perhaps?

Chris M says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Nice idea! This is every schoolboy's wet dream.

mortus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:19pm

The game's quite fun and has lots of potential IMO, but it's a bit frustrating that you can't fire up or down, it forces you to get damage sometimes. I loved playing it anyway, great work!

ripatti says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Bashabookoos, RoryD, I've done some bugfixes and built version with statically linked Runtime Library. Try them!

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Game was really cool, but I found it quite annoying that you couldn't shoot upwards. Just a little frustrating. Also, the music doesn't seem to be very fitting. Otherwise, the game is great! Will rate 4-5 on most of the ratings! Good job!

NoxNode says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:59am

Awesome game, every aspect of the game seemed as good as it could be for a game where you fight zombies as a fireman.

runvs says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Nice game. I really like your graphics style. :)

I wish you'd be able to "shoot" up or down as well to keep the zombies at bay.

SoftCoconuts says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:09am

Great game! Really fun and challenging. Too bad the player can't shoot up and down, makes it really tough to clear the level. Very nice!

IDidGame says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:07pm

awesome use of the theme!

felt great to get the screen clear, without it your screwed though

May 1, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Neat idea, loved how many zombies there was. Good job. :)

Smirnov48 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 10:43am

Very interesting idea! Difficult. While you are mounting zombie are eating you too quick :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]