Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ninja With A Teddy Bear

by agmcleod - Compo Entry

Given the theme, I somehow thought of the idea of a ninja wielding a teddy bear. Then why not throw in a kid as the enemy you're against who think the teddy bear is hers?

The game is simple. Defeat the objects that appear before the timer runs out on them, and then face the boss. You can't attack her directly, you'll lose. Need to distract her first.

I dedicated the game to my father, whom passed away on April 3rd. He always encouraged me in whatever it was I was pursuing, so I know I could have only completed this with his previous encouragement. Good luck, and I hope you enjoy.


The game was built using LibGDX. For the web version, you'll need to use a WebGL capable browser, that also supports mp3 format audio. The windows & desktop zip files contain a runnable jar that are built on JDK 1.7. So you need JDK or JRE 7+ to run them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#406Audio2.97
#461Humor2.86
#599Theme3.29
#648Mood2.82
#894Graphics2.45
#906Fun2.58
#1038Innovation2.20
#1041Overall2.52

Comments

ldds says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:01am

wow! I love the teddy bear.
It also got pretty hard towards the end, until I learnt I could just hold the shift key

Headmade says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Sorry to hear about your loss.
I'm sure your dad would be proud.

Blobo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Nice game! i had a fun time.

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:25pm

I was a little confused about what I should be attacking at first, but once I figured it out, it was fun. Loved the teddy bear idea. Unconventional weapon for sure.

cgmorton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Okay I have no idea how I beat the final boss. I think I used the special? Did I just give her the teddy bear?

Anyway this was a fun little game. Good job.

agmcleod says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:47am

@cgmorton one issue is when you toss the bear, if the boss is close it can be very hard to see. I wish i took a bit of extra time to draw her holding the bear, and maybe say something to better clue the player.

Glad you liked it otherwise :)

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:58am

I've never played a game as a ninja with a teddy.
This game was quite enjoyable, and well thought out.
The visuals and audio were quite fun, and of course the concept was wonderful.
I'm sure your father would be very proud.

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:06am

Fun Game, good job!

EwChap says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:11am

Good start to something fun here. Love the music

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:11am

Great use of the theme, nice job!

Ghen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:25am

nice idea with the teddy bear, but i got sticky keys a lot because of shift attack key :/

zakchaos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:13am

had a goof bit of fun with it, music was a bit grating, great choice of weapon!

Hambone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:45am

pretty good.

Orange says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:06pm

It was pretty hard at the beginning, but we figured it out.
Good job!

Somnium says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:03am

Interesting concept. Nice twist in the "boss fight".

Had to turn off "Sticky keys" shortcut in Windows in order to play the game.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:55pm

I know from experience that no one gets between a little girl and her teddy bear! Nicely done - fun game.

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Really short! But a pretty good start. The movement was pretty fluid. I didn't realize the pill/countdown/circle things were bad guys at first. The music was epic!

agmcleod says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:55am

@Somnium yeah that's an oversight on my part, sorry about that. You can kind of cheat it by holding down shift vs tapping it each time. Would have put an enter button binding had i tested on windows it before deadline :)

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:08am

Thank you for participating in Ludum Dare, glad to see you are pursuing something you want; its a cute take on the theme, I like it.

chabuduo says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Awesome bgm!
would be nice to have some pleasant feedback sound/effect when hitting an enemy (number plate?)

agmcleod says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:15pm

@chabuduo there is a sound effect when you hit successfully. Sort of a retro quick midi sound. Did you not hear it? Also could you hear the music or no? If you played it in the browser, it's possible your browser doesnt support mp3.

freeholdgames says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:16am

Funny, though spamming shift on windows asks to enable stickykeys, which makes it problematic to play. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]