Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Adventure Lamp

by ryguydavis - Compo Entry

Play as a bumbling adventurer who falls into a cave while looking for artifacts. Can you escape with nothing but your helmet?

Controls:
Arrow Keys, Space Bar

Get updates about post-compo development: http://goo.gl/forms/YUaZXjmPlG

Thanks for playing!


Ryan Davis @ryguygames
Creative Ink Games
www.creativeinkgames.com


[EDIT: 4/20/15] Included a moving arrow in the intro to reduce confusion about how to start the game. Also fixed transition glitch.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Fun4.15
#17Overall4.17
#38Graphics4.32
#70Theme4.05
#95Audio3.67
#122Mood3.60
#228Innovation3.61
#274Humor3.27
#2008Coolness30%

Comments

Lynx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:23am

This is superb in every aspect, I really enjoy this and I know lots of other will too! I hope you continue this game and build a post-Compo version to sell because it's that god already. Well done!!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:05pm

It is awesome game. I liked Weapon and Graphics.
I think there tow type of enemy.
Can be killed
Can't be killed
Make them different in two colors.

zatyka says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Simple, but very charming. The sound effects, and overall silliness of the helmet is what I liked most.

I'm looking forward to seeing a further developed version.

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:35am

I especially loved the sound effects, well done!

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:37am

Simple maechanics, complex gameplay.

Frozen Stick says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:37am

Good game and neat graphics!I really liked the game player and story.

pLaw says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:38am

Nicely executed. Really gorgeous and juicy animations. And the platforming is challenging as well. I like the high jump with the squeeze animation and sound :)

ThommazK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:40am

Great game! It looks like weel-coded and a great IA! I liked very much of graphics!

Tork says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:40am

Best game played on LD, nice graphics, controls and design, great work!!

EwChap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:43am

This is an amazingly well put together effort. Very well done. The look and feel, controls, art, levels mechanics are all very polished for the short timeframe. Great work.

RedSorrel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:54am

I really enjoyed this game. The levels difficulty increased as you went on, but the level preceding it kinda prepped you for it. Throwing the mining hat around was fun, and I'm glad it respawned after a while, I was worried that I'd have to do it in one shot!
The respawning spikies, as well as the floaters, definitely made me rethink how to approach completing the level.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:52pm

I really love the art style and the game itself felt very polished and fun! My only complaint is that throwing the helmet affects the camera. If you shoot the helmet while jumping, this leads to some irritating effects ;D Combined with the sound effects, you made a very good job!

colludium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:35pm

That is an excellent game! Well done indeed.

Dorgam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Really fun and entertaining game!
Some levels are hard though!

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Love the mechanics/use of the theme and i also love the graphics. Those little animations are so fucking coooool!

Sheepolution says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:50pm

I love how cute it is! The voice fits perfect, and it plays great. I can't see myself getting frustrared with this game because of that. Very cool game!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Simple, but very enjoyable. Best of all - FX sounds. Neat. Thank you ++

Kyatric says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Very nice graphic style in the introduction/presentation and in the game.
Interesting mechanic of using the helmet although I didn't fully understood the physic of it. Using the same "attack" from the same position seemed to produce random/different results which were a bit confusing at time.

I found a bug when the lamp is flashing, coming back to your head and you shoot at that moment, you will end up with a lamp on your head and a projected lamp as well.

It was nice going through the levels nonetheless.
It's missing music to add to the mood and polish of the game though.

Nice work nonetheless and congratulations making that game in 48 hours !

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:52am

The first time I pressed space bar, I burst out laughing. It's adorable overall.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:38am

I will comment with a link to a gameplay and review video soon.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:59pm

A nice complete package, I enjoyed playing through it

retrophantom says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:26pm

speechless

Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:34am

Great game, very polished. Cute character, and good sound. Helmet works really well.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:49am

Brilliantly executed. Great use of the theme. This is one of the must plays of LD32.

Yakka says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Generally, 2D plateformers get me bored... I loved this one! Very polished and fun to play, you've done a great game!

cleitoneldorn says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Beautiful game! One of my favorites of the compo. Looking forward fot the complete version.

diiq says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Nice work!

I found that little bit of extra slide after a move or a jump to make the game very difficult; I slid off the far end of things far more often than I hit enemies.

I love the sound of the helmet.

SayHiBen says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Wonderful entry. Best two parts: the helmet coming off when you're winging around too much, and dat helmet clank sound.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:30am

Great game! Simple mechanics but you do a lot with it. Love the art and sound, but missed music. Controls were generally great, except it was difficult to throw the hat while jumping. Great job, though.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:09am

the character is SO cute!!

IndieST says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:19am

1. Simple idea but well executed. Could have done better level design with existing mechanism.

2. I didn't realize the red blocks were dangerous until they respawned and killed me. Should be more like gears with spikes or something. And have some obvious sign/timing before respawning would be nice.

3. I think it's overall an action-based game. Using the helmet to eliminate enemies/obstacles in really fun. But sometimes when I wanted to rush over a level I got easily killed. So I had to slow down and play carefully. When I slow down I usually expect some puzzle to solve but this game didn't give me.

Sorry for the harsh comments. I really appreciate the details you put into the game. Looking forward to see more!

Azlen says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:22am

So great, I was surprised when I saw that this was a compo entry

xhunterko says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:42am

Very nice platformer with a good mechanic! Only complaint was that the lamp return time was a tad slow for me. Nicely done!

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:22am

I gladly played this game to completion, and would have continued playing if you'd made more levels. If you've been rating LD entries, you know how much of a compliment that is! SUPER good effort, innovative & well-executed. Only improvement would be some kickass background music.

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Aw... TBC? Still, was fun while it lasted.

markusfisch says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Absolutely great! Couldn't stop until I had played all levels!

bnhw says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Throwing the hat away had no consequence other than having to wait for it to respawn. Either don't make players wait or have some sort of recovery mechanic (see Titan Souls). The level design was fairly basic and I found myself just brute-forcing the harder levels.

Mouch says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:30am

Great in every Aspect. I personally would rather not have a respawning helmet, so that the player needs to get it, before throwing it again.

OddballDave says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Surprisingly fun game. Great audio. Good stuff

jimmypaulin says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Really enjoyed this Ryan! Great work! Absolutely love the animation of the main character, with a few simple sounds it adds loads of character, also helped by the setup at the start. Really clean lines and coherent visuals throughout. The controls were really nicely tuned and it was fun master the hat lob etc, you could certainly take this further in a full game and extend I think. The physics of the moving environments etc were also very solid and quite vertiginous when you fall to your doom ;) I liked the variety you got in there in terms of the game objects though it would have been nice to have had a bit more context for the baddies I was blatting. Given the setting of underground etc I think you could make use of the hat-light to add some puzzle elements perhaps, to complement the skill game. Also, some music would help add atmosphere I think. Great work! - J

Erkberg says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:52am

That was pretty amazing! Really enjoyed the graphics and the sfx. What stood however was the gameplay. Movement and throwing the helmet feels just right and the level design is also good. Great job!

Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:28am

Love the graphics and weapon! I included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Cnio28O-EgI

daredevildave says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Gorgeous lovable main character. Loads of charm and character to the hat. Loved the game.

bazld says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Awesome - one of my faves.

May 1, 2015 @ 4:02pm

This is fantastic, loved every second if it, thought it was so well done and polished. The physics of the helmet is amazing and loved how sometimes when you'd do a big jump it would fall off. Gorgeous graphics and the simple sound worked so well. Definitely one of my favourites so far and one I'll be coming back to play.

ZYXer says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Wow, awesome looking and awesome feeling game! miss a bit of music, though!

Omiya Games says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 2:52am

I thought it was a very polished game. The graphics and audio were very well put together. I had fun throwing my hat.

grillaface says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:07am

Really really great, wish there was more! Platforming is super tight, and I didn't like the hat throwing mechanic at first but it became rather fun in the later levels. Really loved the charged jump, great sounds, amazing job++

jmborden says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:16am

Very cute game, well done sound and graphics!

May 9, 2015 @ 6:19am

Well done! Excellent!

ThirdMoon says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Great Game!! I love it!! the character is soo cuuute!!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]