Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Transmogrify!

by Icelus - Compo Entry

You are a lab assistant at a top-secret research facility. Suddenly, the power goes out and all your co-workers flee! The only thing you have is the Transmogrify-3000 experimental device, and your wits. Make your escape, and good luck!

Controls: WASD and SPACEBAR

Apologies for no start screen, pause, menus, or soundtrack. The SFX are also pretty bad, and so is the art. But I had fun, and I hope you enjoy playing.

Tools used:

Construct 2
Inkscape
BFXR

Link to my post-mortem if anyone wants to read: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/24/ld32-compo-transmogrify-post-mortem/

Thanks for the feedback so far, you guys rock!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#366Innovation3.37
#425Fun3.19
#532Theme3.37
#647Overall3.07
#735Audio2.25
#751Graphics2.71
#779Humor2.29
#860Mood2.50
#2090Coolness26%

Comments

ajopart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Nice entry ! Fun to play, wel design. Congratulations !

Icelus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:32pm

@ajopart

Thanks for playing! I really enjoyed making it, might turn it into a full-fledged game.

Ale2Tobias says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:08am

It's Fun, like it, gona play little more but its fun, some glitchs but for a 48 hours contest it´s great

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:17am

Awesome! Great weapon and well-designed puzzle levels :) Sound effects were good, graphics were decent, but the concept and the different transformations for different enemies make it a very solid entry :D

Only thing I would suggest slightly tweaking would be the movement, as it feels a bit floaty.

Good luck!

strong99 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:46am

Really nice game to play, well done :)

Icelus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:48am

@Ale2Tobias

Thank you, I'm really glad you enjoyed it! You are correct, there are numerous defects. Unfortunately I wasn't able to fix them all in time, and I figure I shouldn't upload a new version with them fixed. If I end up working on the game past LD, I will definitely fix them.

Icelus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:52am

@esayitch

Thank you for the detailed feedback, I appreciate it!

I honestly had a lot of fun with this concept. Some gamejams, it's fun for a bit, but then kind of a grind. Making this game was really fun for some reason. I don't know, just the idea of turning enemies into silly objects a la Scarlet Witch or Dr. Strange seemed hilarious to me.

I agree with you, the movement could definitely use work, I admittedly didn't spend much time adjusting the player's numbers. I will work on that going forward, added it to my to-do list.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:39pm

The flashing of the enemy when they are frozxen is a bit missleading. It looks like they will dissapear when they flash like that.

Icelus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:20pm

@Scopeless

Thanks for checking the game out!

100% with you on that one. I initially wanted a clear visual indicator to say "hey, something is about to change here", but flashing from visible to invisible indicates they will disappear or die, so it was a poor choice. I just didn't have time to improve it.

I will test other options, such as flashing to white and back again, and see if I can come up with something that more clearly communicates what will happen to the enemy.

I just added this to my to-do list, great feedback!

01101101 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Really nice, your characters are very cute :)

suppi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:45pm

it is very good and the puzzles are great, but the controls still needs some tuning.
good job!

StrayByte says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Well designed, intuitive, fun, all the great things. Good job.

Icelus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:56pm

@01101101

Thank you! That means a lot because I made all the art on my own, and I generally am pretty bad at art, haha.

I've been toying with an art style, maybe making everything completely silly and have the monsters look like plushies or something could be fun.

Icelus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:58pm

@suppi Agreed. @esayitch also echoed your sentiments, I will work on making the controls tighter.

Thank you for playing!

Icelus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:58pm

@StrayByte

Oh thank you, I'm really happy you enjoyed it! It was a ton of fun to make, I want to keep working on it.

peterkirk says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:36pm

This was very enjoyable. I liked the idea of turning dangerous creature that hurt the player into useful things that can be used to progress forward.

Icelus says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:06pm

@peterkirk

Glad you had fun! I liked the idea too, and enjoyed working on it. The contrast of a monster and them turning into a friendly object to help the player really stuck in my head throughout the weekend.

zatyka says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:40am

Fun game that could be awesome if polished and expanded.

Icelus says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:59pm

@zatyka

Thanks so much! I'm still pretty burned out from last weekend, but I want to try and work on it more in the next couple days.

The feedback, constructive criticism, and words of encouragement from everyone is really motivating to develop the game more.

JohnGalt says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Very neat idea. Presentation is really good. Love it.

jthistle says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Really nice little game with a great concept. Only thing I'd note is that the audio keeps on repeating (for me) which can get a bit annoying, I assume it's a bug, but anyway, great job!

Druid says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Pretty good entry! Neat level design!

spin-down says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:06pm

I liked how you could use the Transmogrify-3000 to turn enemies into something to help you move forward, very clever. I can tell you put alot of work into this. Good job!

Icelus says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:17pm

@JohnGalt

Oh thank you! I would be lying if I said I spent much time on the art, but I had fun making the art that I did. I want to add some more detail, and animations to the player and enemies.

Icelus says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:19pm

@jthistle

Thank you! Yeah I didn't spend much time on the audio unfortunately. The laser sound effect is a bit too long as well. I wanted to have music, I think that would have helped by making the sound effects appear a bit too repetitive, but alas, no time. I will work on the sound for sure, though.

Icelus says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:21pm

@Druid

Thanks for taking the time to play the game!

Icelus says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:22pm

@spin-down

Aw, thank you very much! I did work hard over the weekend on it, I thought I had a fun concept and just ran with it.

reiknight says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Fantastic entry.

Icelus says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:14pm

@reiknight

Appreciate the love!

danidre14 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:45am

The game is not actually boring, as people say. It's really basic, and what I like about it is how it include other enemies sooner on. What you lack, is motivation to make the players reach to those levels, without just rating it as crap. I like the game as it is, although I feel cheated in a certain level. But it is good. Thank you for participating. :D

Icelus says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:55am

@danidre14

Yeah, I definitely need to work on smoothing out the difficulty curve. I'll be adding more levels, enemies, and puzzle mechanics so hopefully I'll be able to even it out.

Thanks for the feedback!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]