Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Wellbeing

by reheated - Compo Entry

When your enemy is disease, you don't fight with guns. The Rot threatens humanity and our only defence is the Global Wellbeing Ops. In this logic puzzler, you are a newly recruited agent in the GWO, using your treatment emitters on the front lines in our war against The Rot.

The rules are explained over the first few levels of the game, but here is a summary:
* left-click on a tile to mark it (left click again to undo).
* when you mark a connected region of tiles containing the emitter, all those tiles "activate" (they turn blue).
* you need to activate all the tiles containing the Rot sufferers to heal them.
* you can't activate the numbered tiles. The number indicates how many adjacent tiles need to be active. e.g. if a tile says "1" then you must activate exactly 1 of the 4 tiles north, south, east and west of it. (That includes the tiles that you have to activate because they have a person or the emitter on them. The numbered tile will change colour slightly when you get it right.)
* If you know a tile can't be active, right-click it to grey it out. You don't need to do it but it helps you keep track of the things you know.

With thanks to my wife Joanne for some of the voice work, and to Brian Corr for excellent feedback.

Software:
Coding: Notepad++
Code base: I used some code from my LD31 entry, for sounds and the pre-loader
Testing: Firefox, Chrome, IE
Audio: FL Studio, Miroslav Philharmonik, Audacity
Graphics: Krita

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#10Overall4.20
#14Mood4.21
#21Audio4.14
#30Fun3.98
#99Innovation3.88
#197Graphics3.71
#260Humor3.30
#330Theme3.61

Comments

Noro8 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Looks really nice and great idea but it took me a while to get the third level, kind of confusing.

chobrah says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:51am

This puzzle game is totally awesome! Give it 5 minutes to learn the rules and you will forget you're supposed to be rating it :D

sydan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:39am

This is really interesting and unique. I found the puzzle to be a little difficult to grasp at first but when I got it I really enjoyed the mechanic! What's best about it is the story though. It is roughly hewn but it grips you and really do want to know more about what's going on!

CptDustmite says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:36am

Great work again Michael! I was so confused at the start for a little while but I re-read the rules a few more times and finally understood, and then it was really fun much like your other puzzles. Great little storyline as well! The music is lovely. GJ!

madflame991 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Good effort on the audio.

Sanguine says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:15am

Wow, this is a really cool puzzle game! I liked how it's a bit like Minesweeper but still radically different. The story was a super nice touch and I really enjoyed it! It would have been nice to make inactive power tiles a bit more dark though

jhell says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:29am

I was stuck at the huge puzzle by one generator, damn! Good game, clever mechanic, nice audio and VO. I found the generators too obviously there as an obstacle, I think I'd have liked to have them have a graphic, or some kind of effect on the grid, like maybe giving you more moves (and limit the whole moves :p) ?

Good job.

2R says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:44am

I like this game style:)

sentendo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:52am

awesome graphics, I don't understand the tile emitters.

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:56am

A really good game! I like the possibility to choose how you want to play. Do you want to "treat" the people? Or do you want to "free" them? Great game! Bloody good mood :D

pixzleone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Omg. Played it all the way through. Genius. 10/5.

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:27pm

It looks great, although I got stuck on the third(?) level, the first one with numbered tiles...I was able to activate every tile, including all the ones with people on them, yet the level didn't end. Curious.

Other than that it seems quite playable, though! The voiceovers are excellent.

shrapx says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Wonderful experience. the puzzle was very challenging but seemed achievable. the dialogue with factions and nonlinear elements gave everything an extra interest and wonder. I loved the calm music throughout. part of the puzzle mechanic kind of reminded me of minesweeper, but this game is leagues ahead. lol! wonderful!

yackeroeni says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Nice game, although the difficulty does ramp up quite quickly. The basic mechanics are easy to grasp and fun to play around with. While the voice acting is quite impressive for a 48 hour game, I would have liked to play it a bit louder to be able to understand it a bit better over the music. Overall, a really nice game.

mantis says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Great entry!

nassi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Impressive puzzle design for a jam game. I also liked the story and the choice presented to the player. Felt a bit like Q.U.B.E in that regard, but this game handled it better in my opinion. Went for both endings and I have to say that the woman had the better deal after all, even if that was only my second choice :P. I didn't actually notice the continue from branch button in the menu, so I did the levels before that twice, but they went by really quickly on my second try.

I found that the graphical style made the puzzles harder for me, since everything felt a bit unclear. The constant shifting didn't bother me too much, but there were little freezes or jumps from time to time, which annoyed me much more. Maybe there should've been more contrast between the different kinds of tiles and their different states. Also I think it would've been better if the tiles with people and emitters would've been marked by default (apart from the maps with a choice). Tiles with the number 0 could also have had grayed out surrounding tiles by default. I spent especially long on the last level of the Utilitarianist side, since everything seemed to be properly connected, but the emitters weren't actually connected to each other.

Playing around a bit more I realized that one of the problems with the visuals was that the game window was too big when playing fullscreen 1920x1080 so it was hard to grasp the overall situation. Now that I look at it in half the size it looks a lot clearer.

Overall a really neat game.

reheated says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:49am

Thanks everyone for your comments! Thanks nossi for taking such a close look. I think everything you said is right and I'll keep it in mind for the next game. If anyone gets choppy animation could you let me know what OS and browser it's on?

DKoding says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:37am

Confusing, I did not know what I did half of the time. But I think there is a good puzzle game in there somewhere.

sekaru says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:38am

Pretty cool concept. Gets pretty confusing at times. Really enjoyed the fact that there was good voice acting and good music but the music would sometimes drown out the voice acting.

plams says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Nice puzzle game. It has a nice incremental feel to it, i.e. not everything is lost if you make a mistake and you can resolve it by local re-routing. Not sure I understood the right-click thing, but I got to the utilitarian ending (I reckon there's one more ending?) without using it.

mokujin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Music, puzzles and the story are great. High level game!

coderkeith says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:31am

We liked the voice over - better than having to read stuff. Music too loud though.

Took a little while to work out how to play.

Interesting - well done.

Eskoala says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:37am

I do love a novel puzzle game :) Excellent, and atmospheric too. The intermittent plot reveals make it a game I want to play to the end rather than just rate and move on.

Fenmar says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:13am

This is awesome! I did not expect to make moral decisions here, but it was damn well executed.

Spoiler:
The utilitarian ending was somewhat rushed, so at first I tought, "What is going on?! Oh wait, dinosaurs? Hell yes :D"

GarethIW says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Loved the story and puzzles, once I had got used to how the numbered tiles worked. Dinosaurs!

Pierrec says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Perfect puzzle, perfect atmosphere, perfect game

Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:24pm

This is one of my favourites so far. Wonderful game. It's a cool puzzle, but the story and atmosphere really brought it to life. I played both endings and I love the ambiguity.

stevenlr says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Well, that was simply great! The mechanics are simple but make for some quite challenging puzzles. The story is coherent and the music gorgeous. Great work!

Dreyan says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:05pm

I'm a fan of logic puzzles myself and I know how hard it is to come up with a ruleset for one that's interesting to solve and of a good level of difficulty. This game got it spot on, along with wonderful audio and a fun story. The idea for multiple solutions to a logic problem giving two different endings to a game was ingenious.

sararyCow says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:18pm

That's a clever puzzle mechanic! It really bangs my head. Congratulations!

NeiloGD says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 7:32am

Enjoyable puzzle game with narrative :) Loved it, and thank you so much for the continue from branch point option!! <3

PinkIndian says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Definitely the best game! Amazing! Also the music was just spot on and created the perfect atmosphere. And the difficulty was good, not too hard.
If I have to think of a negative point... the speech could have been a bit louder :)

gelisam says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:26am

Reminded me of Slitherlink (http://www.nikoli.co.jp/en/puzzles/slitherlink.html), but you sure put on a pretty coat of paint on top! Impressive amount of polish.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]