Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Kiwi Jelly Boy

by boddiul - Compo Entry

The game is about adventures of Jelly Boy. Mr. Salty stole potions of Banana-Wizard and you have to help him get them back! Get through the sweet castle and avoid of crazy cupcakes and ice cream!

The point of the game is that you are your own weapon. Jelly Boy shoots with his own gelatin, loosing his health points (mass). Avoid of loosing too much gelatin and collect little pieces of jelly. Complete 3 levels and kill the boss!



Controls:
R - Restart the level
WASD - Move
LMB - Shoot
ESC - EXIT GAME
SPACE - Skip the intro (not recommended)
--------------
Made in Game Maker 8.1
Sounds: SFXR
Music : Bosca Ceoil
--------------
version 1.0:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/peap2xuaudq4242/kiwi.exe

version 1.1: Download link for Windows
*Fixed some lags
*Faster strafe

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#204Overall3.59
#206Fun3.53
#274Theme3.69
#286Mood3.26
#290Humor3.24
#326Audio3.12
#453Innovation3.25
#464Graphics3.18

Comments

EwChap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:26am

Really neat game. Using yourself as the weapon was a great idea. I like the changing simple music for this too. I think you hit the theme spot on. The whole taking care of your shots "must hit" kind of mentality really makes it even more interesting.

Great Work.

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:29am

I love these kind of 'labyrint'games. Really fun to play!

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:32am

A nice concept. I liked the design of the HUD and enemies. It seemed to lag quite badly at times though.

minnouu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:38am

Really great game, the balance between using yourself as ammo and not dying is really well done. Strafing is a bit slow and awkward, but other than that the controls are tight and the game plays well.

10FingerArmy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:38am

This is awesome! I played again and again every time trying to be as precise as possible when shooting so that I don't melt. That is a cool mechanic! I didn't make it to the final boss though, a bit too hard for me :-(

boddiul says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:46am

Thanks for reviews! I think i fixed the lag problem, and its less laggy now.
And a strafe is a little faster now.

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:28am

This was awesome! Love the overall aesthetic and sprite animations. The music was repetitive but catchy. In addition to that the mechanics were really interesting and unique. The shrinking effect really added a lot. Overall I thought it was great, nice job!

Wusakko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:44am

All elements that game needs.

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:13am

nice dungeon shooter with nice simplistic music

mike1101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:44am

Ok. So the more you shoot ... You're actually shooting your own body ? Interesting ...

I couldn't really follow what was going on at the start. And what ... on earth is going on - Why am I talking to a banana ? And why am I, like, a green gingerbread man ? Bit creepy ...

The game itself is nice enough. Couldn't really get anywhere without dying - How do you jump over the ravine ?

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Super nifty! I love the aesthetics, and using the player's mass in place of a traditional "ammo" meter fit the theme super well. Very unique, and tons of fun. Great work!

kyyrma says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Good use of the theme. Nice touch with the character getting smaller as he spends gelatin. Great humour too!

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:45pm

kkkk hilarious,, very good game

Lo-X says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Awesome. I played it on linux with wine. It reminded me of the first games I ever played which were in that kind of mazes too. I just would have liked to have music and sounds.

napoleon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Awesome game, I loved it.

Darek Greenly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:21pm

I have no idea why but the game laggs so much I couldn't properly play it :( ~2 FPS
Hit me up on Twitter or something if you have remedy (i have quite beefy PC)
(no negative vote of course)

napoleon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Gave it a high rating

ElectroYak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:23pm

I really like the theme, great idea

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:24pm

I love the ammo system, very nostalgic and cool art. Great job!

Shimmergloom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:39am

Pretty cool game, the intro felt a bit unnecessarily long though.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:54pm

This game is like 'Doom' with diabetes.

goerp says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:04pm

A crosshair, my kingdom for a crosshair!
I actually liked this!
The title was good, the wacky idea was great. Ik liked the sound effects of the intro (very funny).

But not easy, because you don't have a crosshair. And death is not far away.

The only thing I did not like so much, was the music. I think it might even be better if you just used more of the sound effects (those were great!)

Acuity says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:01am

I liked the intro video lol

Stechas says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:08am

This game puts me in good mood and intro was fenomenal of course :D

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Super cool game, love the aesthetic.

Qui says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Putting 2d sprites à la Wolfenstein is an excellent idea. I love it!

Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Really neat game! Super well done. I included it in part 6 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Q11RJey0954

John Vanis says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:15pm

strange game, but little funny

TheGreenTie says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Cleared the game. Pretty fun while it lasted.

May 1, 2015 @ 7:44am

Wow, nice DOOM-esque game! Loved the graphics and the non-sense mood!

jk5000 says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 9:23am

A fun idea, in a nice simple game. A bit too few shots before you die.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]