Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Zombies 'N' Marshmallows

by ShadowBrain - Jam Entry

Fight the zombies with marshmallows, the most white and squishy weapon there is!
The goal is to shut off all the zombie-making machines, then defeat the final boss.

I had a lot of fun making this.
I hope you'll have as much fun playing as I did making! :D
Software used: Unity 5, Maya LT 2015.
No textures were used, everything this either baked in unity or vertex colored in Maya LT.

Controls: Run around with WASD or rebind the keys in the Unity window that pops up when you open the game.
Mouse 1/2 are used for throwing and hitting things.

Controller recommended though, as that gives you extra camera control and just generally plays better with the A/B buttons.

(Note: I do support Android, but you need quite a beefy phone to run this game properly. I was getting ~40fps on my 2013 Nexus 5 for instance.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#170Overall(Jam)3.65
#187Theme(Jam)3.81
#189Graphics(Jam)3.97
#195Humor(Jam)3.51
#237Mood(Jam)3.46
#248Fun(Jam)3.42
#384Audio(Jam)3.05
#554Innovation(Jam)3.04

Comments

dix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Eheh cute game :D Quite hard to get the second pack of marshmellows tho D:

diiq says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Oh geez this is surprisingly tense for a game about marshmallows!
I love how their heads inflate! Makes me think of https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RreqhPy_-fs

Love it!

Sable says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:28pm

The webgl version sucks it crashed on me. The desktop version is better. Overall the game was fun but the made the game just annoying to play.

xbcw says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Loved it. It has a nice tense mood. BTW, I needed to install libxrandr2:i386 on Debian to get it to work.

iapc says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:59am

Difficult, but it didn't feel that fun to play. The camera is an absolute nightmare.

Destruktorrr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:06am

I liked the mechanics. However, I would've enjoyed a bit more user-experience from the coin pickup (even just a sound playing). Also, having the ability to carry multiple coins would have been a bit nice, but otherwise great job!

Very inventive!

popcorn897 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:24am

Great mood and adorable art.

It all tied together nicely and the vending machines were a funny touch as well.

I do wish however, that I could make tighter turns so I could juke some zombies.

vvolis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:54am

Absolutely love the art style, I would just love to play a full fledged game like this. Gets quite intentse, but I think my boss is looking at me clicking too much, so I have to give it a rest for now, although want to see the boss :D
The only problem I had is the camera control, as it sometimes stays behind the object I want to interact with, so I can see nothing. Awesome job!

OrangeeZ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:23am

Nice concept! I did have problems with camera, though.

Also, the game lacks the ability to toast marshmallow on fire, which, sir, I found quite disturbing :D

Madball says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:49am

That was surprisingly fun! I completed the game, though a lot of things were unclear to me.

The boss needs a health bar. I kept throwing everything and him and hitting him with roasted marshmallows (which don't deal damage, unlike usual ones), and didn't know if it works or not.

There are a few bugs in the game. If you throw a marshmallow inside a zombie machine, and throw another one as the previous one is about to fall out, you can bump it back and it will count as 2 marshmallows.
Also, coins seem to have a vertical rotation axis, but for some ones the axis is tilted.
Picking up marshmallows with a stick is too relying on physics, it's hard to do it fast and reliable.

I killed the most zombies with the campfire, imbalanced a bit? Also, I wish roasted marshmallows had any use, like slowly restoring your health by eating.

In general, I enjoyed the game and its surrealism, though it took me a several tries to understand the mechanics.

ShadowBrain says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:19am

Cool! Thanks for the feedback Madball. If I pursue this game any further I will definitely make things more clear and get a healthbar in for the boss.

OrangeeZ, you can actually roast them on the fire! It just takes some effort, you have to get one on a stick, then hold it in the fire using the stick.

Thanks for playing, everyone! :)

eddynardo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Hard game.Really liked the art work!

eddynardo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:34pm

beautifull game, it was on my "to play list" from the minute you posted a gif with a bear holding a giand dildo :P

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:32pm

nice graphics and smooth animation. audio was subtle and pleasant. amusing idea; great submission.

rogberth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Really cute game. It's also difficult. I missed a way to control the camera though

Sluce says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Awesome game! However, toward the middle of the game when there was a lot of zombies spawning I ended up getting a stack overflow error.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Great game! The wolfie and all the rigs look so cute.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:38pm

WebGL worked fine for me (Windows 7). This was really cute! With Unity being so prevalent now, I'm struggling to understand how impressive a game like this is for 72 hours. It looks amazing to me, but I wonder how hard that is to make in Unity? Either way, I loved it. High marks all the way.

Also seconding that this game needs the ability to roast marshmallows. You have the fire, you have the marshmallows. Come on!

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Nice entry. I really like the graphics and idea. :) The game crashes after a while on Linux though, so I didn't get to complete it :(

duck says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:59pm

I was enjoying this, but it started getting unplayably slow a little way in (like seconds per frame rather than frames per second). Could be that the laptop I'm playing it on is a bit slow but it didn't seem like it - was running perfectly smoothly then stopping for a few seconds, starting again, rather than just having a consistently low framerate. I don't know!

But I do like the characters, and was enjoying it while I could.

ShadowBrain says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Hmm... I might need to put a cap on the amount of zombies the machines can spawn, it's currently not limited so taking too long results in tons of zombies active...

dos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Funny idea, cute execution!

Kaijuu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:20am

Awesome game!

Bardikus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Cool game! loved the fluffy wolf

Mantlair says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:43pm

This is awesome. I will do some research on your source probably. I wanna learn 3d workflow of unity!

runvs says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Very nice entry! Especially the boss fight is great!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Good mood to play at night haha Cute art too :D The gameplay is a bit difficult.

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:05am

Been following this one for a while, looks great :)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:22am

Great work !
The only bad thing I have to say is that the PC version randomly froze for a second several times just after I closed the first zombie machine. So I gave up before finishing it

JALgames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Very cute graphics and the sounds are really immersing. I have to admit that the keyboard controls we're really hard to use and I personally do not own a controller, but the game was fun nonetheless.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Great art and mood! I wish it was a little easier though, as I found it tough to get going

Xanjos says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:18pm

As some people have already mentioned, it's probably a bit too easy by simply luring the zombies to the campfire but I like the use of the marshmallows as a weapon (it's like you're giving the zombies diabetes :O) plus being able to combine the stick and marshmallow and then roast it on a fire is a nice bonus.

agmcleod says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 1:49am

Fun to play. I feel like this is training for me when im camping during a zombie apocolypse. I wish the text at the start was more of a UI projection rather than in scene. Was hard to read.

RyanNielson says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Nice art, and sound. The idea is pretty decent as well. I wish it was just explained a bit more if there was something I was supposed to do other than make zombies explode with marshmallows.

May 12, 2015 @ 12:26am

Really cool game, graphics look very nice and consistent. It got very hard however after running out of the first bag of marshmallows. Great work! I really enjoyed it.

Gunzil says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:56am

Had more fun going through the effort of roasting a marshmallow and feeding it to a zombie than what you're supposed to do, which was buy marshmallow bags and throw them into the spawner holes.

Lack of camera control was frusstrating, I switched to a controller which made it a better in that I had any control, but then the rotation speed was pretty slow. Binding camera left/right to A/D would have been helpful.

I liked how you kill the boss by throwing marshmallows in his mouth, it gives a progression from throwing them into stationary objects (spawners) to a moving one (the boss).

Graphics and music were charming, overall a fun entry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]