Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Blink Gun

by Split82 - Compo Entry

Blink Gun is a puzzle platformer where you control small white square character trying to reach the exit. You will use special kind of weapon which enables you to switch places with black boxes. Not only your position is switched, but also the velocity and angular velocity.

Made in Unity.
Code: C#
Graphics: Photoshop
Music: Logic Pro
No sound: I ran out of time :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#17Mood4.19
#19Graphics4.45
#21Overall4.13
#45Fun3.92
#89Audio3.70
#176Innovation3.71
#325Theme3.62

Comments

Lokiman says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:29am

Very nice visual with minimalistic background music that fits the game perfectly! Needs more levels tough :D

PS.: get rid of tutorial level :P

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:10am

Have you played the game 'Warp' by Trapdoor? The concept looks similar. Anyway, it looks like a very nice and polished game :)

Psyho says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:52am

Nice touch with rotating body while jumping. It adds a lot of life into the character. Overall really polished. Music, graphic & gameplay work really together.

Not enough levels ;)

retrophantom says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:54am

nice clean graphics, can't wait for it to be fleshed out *hopeful eyes*

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:55am

Good stage design! :D

SojaBird says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:03pm

This is seriously stunning!
The gameplay is so cool and I can see this being something that could become bigger easily :D Very nice. Keep it up!!

Orange says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Good fun! Polished and runs really well.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Nicely done! Seen a few swapper mechanics so far but liked this ones puzzles more. Tutorial text parallaxing's a neat effect to, and good wrapped up set of levels with simple minimalistic UI.

gillenew says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Very good, the graph was pretty nice, the only thing that bothered me was the slowdown of the character (hinders rather the fact that he stay slipping)

TwiiK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:19pm

This is so impressive. The look and feel of it is so polished. This is practically shippable as a mobile game.

The only gameplay complaint is the camera going from side to side as you move back and fourth in place, for instance on a platform. I felt this made controlling the character a bit hard.

I remember playing your submission for the last Ludum Dare. It was also easily one of the most polished submissions.

Great work!

ilikescifi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Woa. Good idea.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Woah, thisis lovely, I really enjoyed playing through this. It is challenging, and the music makes the mood so soothing.

Only complaint I have is that it is very easy for the blocks to get stuck. I had to redo the end level a few times because of this.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Great use of a swapping mechanic, those puzzle were really clever and the difficlty curve is nicely tuned. The controls made the execution frustrating though (I think this is mostly due to the way the camera move constantly)

GFM says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Nice graphics and interesting idea. :)

Although the rolling animation of the cube is really nice and cute, it makes the cube too slippery and hard to control, on some jumps...

GravityScore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Absolutely amazing! I really enjoyed that puzzle element!

Anikki says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Nice!

NEGI_RUS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Huge

local minimum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:15pm

I really enjoyed playing this game. Great work. I didn't play all the way through though and the thing that made me give up wasn't really that it was too hard or that I didn't understand what to do. The character kept moving after letting go like if it was on an ice level. It should break the speed much faster in my opinion. There was a place in the beginning of the second or third level where you could get trapped and need to reset the level (supposed to drop a black box down a hole to open door). I think giving the user a quick reset level key would be nice (e.g. R) and in this particular case there was really no reason why the jump back should be impossible.

The best part: The jump animation. I could jump all day.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Impressive!
Really clever level design and the way you introduce the player to the concept. Graphics are great.
Everything is really polished.

Mantlair says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Its awesome. The graphics you made in 48 hours. Man it just needs some levels then its ready for real publishing. Only thing that itched me was the physics on the cubes they just kept falling off edges B(. But idk its part of gameplay. I will do some research on your source. B)

PixelMind says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Very cool and clever game. Great level design... but I'm stoopid and got stuck to the last level :)

Domicuc says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:38pm

beautiful game :)

willia_am says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:56pm

The gameplay and the graphics are just fabulous. I really enjoy this kind of game. Really cool !

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:01am

Great game! Prob my fav yet. It does so many things right, yet a little short and a tad easy maybe. Or maybe I just want more, haha. You should deff continue this if you can.

PohyCZ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:03am

The visual are really pleasant, i really like them! The mechanic is interesting enough (already saw it in other game, although implemented a little bit differently). And you should definitely work on more levels! I enjoyed playing your game, thank you for making it!

xirion11 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:30am

Pretty fun game

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:41am

Wow! This lokking awesome! Gameplay isn't so innovative but your puzzles pretty interesting. Thanks!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:44am

Brilliant. I want more puzzles!! Nice mechanic.

Pinpickle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:28am

Loved it. My only complaint lies with most of the others: not enough levels. It's clear though that you spent your time refining and polishing this game and I prefer all of that to a lot of levels.

dusho says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:54am

Amazing game. The best I played so far.
Inertia is your only enemy here :) .. and bloody lava

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:26am

Incredibly awesome!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:53am

Very nice game. Enjoyed all of it. Reminded me a lot of Swapper on Steam.

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:45am

Perfection! Particularly loved the level design, the graphics, and the 'juice' visual elements. Really nice work.

Mixer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:02am

Really liked your games pixel art and music, suited it. However I didn't entirely understand it, and I think I solved the first puzzle a different way because I didn't know how I was meant too (http://i.gyazo.com/0b6d3ac97fb6bca7703432e69da30f82.png) I still really enjoyed it though, and playing it, I could see the depth of the gameplay. Really well done! I also like the starting story, shot your mood ratings up for sure. Pretty much gave all 4 stars.

Conpletly unrelated: Your website and demain name is so cool.

Split82 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:33am

@Mixer I guess you voted for different game :D At least your screenshot is not showing mine.

Mixer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Split82: My apologies! Shit happens I spose haha. All these tabs are gonna drive me crazy :P. Revoted, your game is excellent. Just as good as that comment.

Sorry hehe.

nov1kk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Really nice game! Great graphics, well designed puzzles, and really smooth gameplay, congrats!

Sunsheen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Love the visuals! Also the box physics felt really nice, though a bit tricky when you need to make a precise jump :P

Well done!

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Pretty visuals. The game is fun, can't wait to see more level!

Park says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Short but very complete experience. I liked the way the player box rolled around, it seemed like there was also some unique collision solution based on your rotation while jumping onto the corner of platforms - or did I imagine it? Well, very smooth controls and collisions at any rate.

Possibly there could be a minimalistic sound effect while swapping and jumping - something subtle that wouldn't interrupt the nice mood.

Other than that, no suggestions.. this was excellent work. ( ̄▽ ̄)ノ

keddelzz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Best game i've played so far!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:48pm

I designed a similar game for a jam about a year ago called "Genetic Bounce Moto." It was like this but a Metroidvania, and almost unplayably bad.

It's very chill, and I like the dangerous brightness of the lava. It's a good way to indicate "THIS IS HAZARDOUS" without anything flashy. My only problem is that the tutorial is a little weird. You learn how to go right, then how to jump, then how to go left? That seems wildly disjointed.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:30am

One of the best entries so far!

goadrich says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:39am

This is amazing! The graphics are clean and effective, the music sets the right mood, the puzzles are just enough at each stage to push your thinking. Great work!

masterboth says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:56am

Fun puzzle game! Awesome entry!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:14am

Excellent design. Very reminiscent of 1960's ad art. I love how the design on the blocks look like the iphone button, it's a nice visual.

One frustrating thing (it may be just because I suck at it) is that you can potentially mess up a puzzle so bad that you can't restart it.

Still 5/5

CptDustmite says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:22am

Wow this was perfect. So much effort and attention to detail. Fun mechanic. Graphics were very polished. Excellent job!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:31am

Very cool! Even if you don't do anything else more with this, go back and add the sfx, you know it'll be worth it!

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:37am

Gahhh..... so good. this game had great "feel". both control wise and aesthetics.

iSamurai says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:08am

Five Star Game!
Great game feel - The controls are very solid, the jump rotation, and dust when moving adds make it very interesting just to walk and jump around.
The art is amazing. Cant believe it's made in 48 hours!
The idea is very creative. And the company puzzles make full use of it. Just amazing.

jakub.gemrot says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:13am

Quite polish I must admit! Great job! Everything falls in place, graphics, audio, tutorial. I would suggest to keep the tutorial level - its really short.

Tuism says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:34am

Very very excellent. The concept is well conceived and the puzzles well designed. The polish is great, I *just* can't give everything five stars, but it's a really well rounded game.

The physics on the character is surprisingly good - wrangling unity physics into a good platformer is no mean feat! I like how the rotating block is a good "trick" to getting corner climbing to work :)

Great stuff!

Chikoness says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:03pm

This is amazing, I'm amazed this is done in 48 hours!!

Graphics very pretty, music suits the game, the color, the feel, the concept, very very spot on. In fact, this looks sellable. I hope you do well in the compo judging! :)

ermrk says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Probably the best Ludum Dare 32 game which I have seen so far!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:27am

You heard me:)

pss says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:27pm

I really want to see more of this! Great little character and there's so much potential for more puzzles.

Adreqi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Great job :) Amazing how much polish you put in this in only 48h.
The art reminds me Monument Valley, it's beautiful.

Tommyno222 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Really nice entry! Art style is wonderful, controls and camera are smooth and puzzles are rewarding :)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:56pm

One of the best games of this jam! This is amazing! I love the atmosphere and the puzzles. Fantastic stuff.

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:22am

Nicely polished. Really looks like a complete game. Good job.

Robber says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:35pm

gorgeous style and a very innovative concept, on top of that a solid implementation, awesome!

phi6 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Brilliantly executed!

Horsed says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:25am

This game is beautiful! I love the position-swapping mechanic and the puzzles. The music and the minimalist style fit really well. I just thought that the player box (which looks cute) needs to be less slippery. One of the best games so far for me.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Very nice visual with minimalistic background music which is perfect. There is here a real potential so as to do something different - a great game. Neat ++

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:13am

fantastic work - one of my favorite games

Plustech says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:52pm

We had the same idea for a weapon, although the pace of the game is quite different. I loved your slow take. Excellent execution, lovely art, nice audio, great mood overall. Great entry mate!

gelisam says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 11:21am

Yay, a swap gun, like in "Escape from Puppy Death Factory"! Very polished. Too short, make more!

Omiya Games says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 1:17am

Very solid swapping game, albeit probably 4th one I've played so far. I really like the two modes you've put together: swapping vs normal, where the former indicates what you can flip with. It's the nice usability touches like these that makes it great.

Would really appreciate sound effects. They totally make the game better!

ThirdMoon says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Exelent job! Absolutly the best game ever tried here! =) Congrats!!

FistBumpGames says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Very cool gameplay and nice visuals. neat little game for a ludum dare and worthy of fleshing out!

SledKnight says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Too short, but VERY cool. Took me longer on the last level than it should have... hahahaha. Nice entry!

ajopart says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:55am

I like the graphic design a lot. Smooth, poetic, efficient !! Great job. The gameplay is really nice, with great ideas. But so short. Do a longer version and I buy it !

OddballDave says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Great look and feel to this one. I love the roll when jumping. Good stuff.

May 11, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Nice and polished entry.
Nicely adjusted difficulty.
For just being a square, the jump animation withe the rotation feels pleasant.
As someone said, the 1st tutorial level is totally innecesary.
The moment it "teached" me that "A" went left was like.... really?

pixzleone says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Very good game! Keep it up!

01101101 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:39pm

One of my favourite ld32 game ! very sweet mechanics !

Lovelace Lair says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Awesome little game, 5* :)

Jasonsumm says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Really cool style! I enjoyed this very much ^_^

sputnik says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Nice visual!

NightShadow0 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Interesting mechanic, but i found it a little boring to be honest; a lot of backtracking. Solid entry regardless, nice work!

Mossy Frog says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Very lovley to look at. The puzzle level was tough! A pretty cool little puzzle game, would love to play an extended version.

XufyCZ says ...
Jun 2, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Pretty nice game... Can you repair the download of your Chameleon run entry please...? Thanks you.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]