Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Democracy

by renatopp - Compo Entry

# THEME

"Democracy" is my weapon of choice. As an unconventional weapon, the democracy and progress are used by the government to explore and subjugate other species. The game is **highly** influentiated by Heinlein’s novel – and, of course, the Verhoeven’s movie – Starship Troopers.

In this game you controls invasion operations at distant planets in order to spread "democracy" and "progress" through the galaxy. The target planets are inhabited by big hostile insects, which you'll must eliminate by killing them or depleting all resources of the planet.



# CONTROLS

- Use ARROWS + Q + W + E
- Gamepad may work (A=Q, B=W, X=E)
- You must press the buttons 2 times to construct
- You must respect the min distance between structures

There are just a few levels. I found out that is hard as hell to balance this kind of game, I tried to keep levels fair but yet hard to beat.

NOTE: IF YOU LOSE A LEVEL, YOU MUST RESTART MANUALLY



# TECHINCAL DETAILS

I always try to use artificial intelligence as part of my games, in this one I have a hierarchical behavior tree controlling the insects and a simple one controlling the human units.

- I'm using CreateJS, Creatine and Behavior3JS as base tools.
- Inkscape and Gimp to draw things.
- Bxfr, soundhelix, audacity and voide to music and sounds.



# CONTACT

http://guineashots.com or http://renatopp.com


I hope you enjoy

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#219Overall3.56
#248Audio3.24
#283Graphics3.54
#383Fun3.26
#425Mood3.08
#428Innovation3.28
#619Humor2.60
#912Theme2.80

Comments

renatopp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:08am

Looks like LD is eating some pixels of the game screen, it shouldn't be a problem, but if you want you can access the Mirror link, which is good.

ker0chan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:37am

Works great as a minimalist RTS experience :) Great job on completing your game !

renatopp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Update: the game screen is normal now.

Static 64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:35pm

This is a really unique take on the theme and a fun strategy/combat game. The art style is very well-executed and really fits with the space colonization feeling.

I sometimes encountered some major glitches where the satellite would either not respond to controls or would spin endlessly around the planet. I don't know if this is a code issue or just that it doesn't run well in my browser, but when the game ran well, it was a blast.

OneTrueAaron says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Really fun, though i think not being able to build more than one extractor really limits the strategy.

Also found a bug where after i beat the game, and started a new level, all the units i had when i won were on that new level.

ssiegel2 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Can't get past tutorial 2

renatopp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Thank you all for playing,

@Static64 this is really strange, I never saw that. In which browser did you played?

@OneTrueAaron actually you can, you only have to spend more money. Unfortunatelly I couldn't manage to balance costs very well. About the bug, could you tell me if this bug is still present? What I can do to reproduce the bug?

@ssiegel2 why not? you only need to call two structures near the bugs nest

eastes says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:54am

One of the best pieces of music I've heard in a LD entry. I take pride in my music too so I'm happy to hear yours. What did you use?

It took my a while to figure out the need to press button twice. Once I got the hang of it, I enjoyed it. Congrats!

renatopp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Hey @eastes, thanks! This music is procedural, generated by SoundHelix. It's a bit hard to find a good music there, because you must provide a seed and the musics are very similar (they have same patterns)

Timm638 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:50pm

I like it.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:39am

Nice entry with a common concept, but you have reached the goal. Music is a little bit stressful for my ears :)

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:34am

I love the art and gameplay is quite fun once you figure out your boundaries and how to drop pods effectively

nopogo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Liked the tactics of dropping your units from orbit. Cool mechanics overall

Reccy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Nice little RTS, the gameplay is quite well balanced and fun. Also, bonus points for save game system!

broknecho says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:35am

This was pretty cool! The difficulty does ramp up as you said it's hard to balance but was really fun. Very well done! Great entry!

popcorn897 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:43am

Once you learn how to play, this game is great. You really get to strategize and plan out how you will democratize those puny little bugs! Good Work!

renatopp says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Thanks for playing!

nov1kk says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:05pm

The game has an original idea, and the humour behind the background plot is great. The music and the FX were cool. However, the game didn't attracted me, didn't find it entertaining

Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:11am

Cool concept; perhaps a little simplistic and not my cup of tea genre-wise, but everything looked crisp and polished. Nice work!

WiErD0 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Nice entry. I like the concept of the game and understood the story right away (since you explained it in the game), but it took me a while to figure out what was a bug and what was a robot. I was really getting into it towards the end, and I think I managed to beat the game (There wasn't a next level button). The only suggestion I have is to make a you beat the game screen, because that makes the player feel good about themselves, and try to add some levels where there is a bit more strategy than just placing down your extractor and spamming w next to it. That said, I did really like how the tank-robots looked, and loved the story behind it.

ehtd says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Interesting game, I like strategy games.

adsilcott says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:43pm

It has that addictive RTS allure, with the twist of being played on a circular field. I'd play more levels. :)

Sublustris says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Great game! 5/5 for all.

gamedevBear says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:28pm

This game is far too losable to not be able to restart mid-match.
The graphics and UI look great though.

coderitual says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:48pm

I like it! Not so hard but mechanics in this game is really rewarding. Simple rules help you to quickly enter the game.

Split82 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Awesome. Excellent gameplay. Really liked it.

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Fun! I really enjoyed this game, well done. Surprisingly addictive.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Awesome!

Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:21am

Hey, cool game! I like RTS games, and this one has so much "mojo" on it ;)

Nice work on the AI too.

Also, I'll mention your game on my upcoming post-mortem (hope tomorrow), as one of the concept ideas I had for a game was a little similar to yours

BIZM says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Very interesting concept and a fun strategy game. The graphics are very polished and stylish and the audio is very well done. Great job!

renatopp says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Thanks you all for the time to play and rate my game!

@deadbodyoutline, thanks! Waiting to see your post Morten

Mantlair says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Just awesome! Really awesome! Please make a new build and add new levels.

lochmann-apps says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:22pm

A really cool game. Looks finished, good controlls, nice sounds and nice animations. One of the best I have seen so far!

jhell says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Interesting but I think it lacks a bit of depth to the initial pitch, in that, there are not many strategy options (for example could have split the extractor into a solid, bulky one that extracts slowly and a light, fragile one that extracts quickly).

I still salute the performance of making an RTS with this level of graphical polish :). Not a fan of the audio, but the global mood was pretty cool.

Demy says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 6:33pm

It's too easy to stuck without money or to get into situation where you need marine and bug to find each other in the process of doing random tiny steps.
I love the graphics and details, how you organized UI and filters on the textures are awesome.

Deity says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Well done. It's like a mini Starcraft -- marines vs zerglings ;)

The extractors seem to go down a bit too easily and force you to restart since theres no other way to get money it seems (perhaps give a little bit when units get kills or a small amount every X seconds regardless of whether there are extractors or not).

Nice work

Omiya Games says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 4:04am

This was a really cool strategy game. I really liked it. Unfortunately, the audio keeps getting corrupted.

Trying to figure out the enemy AI, and planning a course of action was really neat. Basically my strategy was to distract them while extracting, which was an unusual strategy than I normally would have considered. Cool stuff!

wilsk says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 7:28am

Unique and enjoyable LD game. Thanks!

tmpxyz says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 11:04am

interesting game.

caryoscelus says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Controls becomes annoying on later levels, when you can't really drop units in time due to distance limit. Also, music becomes glitchy after some time.

Otherwise, pretty nice.

Zeriver says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Pretty fun game, i really like Starship Troopers inspired intro :D
Gameplay is engaging and require some tactical skills from player, nice audio and graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]