Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ay Pinatas!

by jprogman - Compo Entry

Destroy all the pinata spheres -- all 100 of them!

Press Z or L to whack your sweeper.
Use Arrows or W A S D to move.

Find checkpoints to save your location that looked like black circles. Candies give you health, but don't eat too many!


You play as a pinata, off to destroy other pinatas that cause havoc. Likewise, the way to destroy them is with a broom. You were on a hurry so you can only get your hands on a sweeper. (Oh well, still whacks.) Defeat all 100 evil pinatas to save the humans from any paper cuts and confetti to their eyes as well!



*NOTE* This is the second version. Bugs are fixed and the controls are more accessible.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#283Graphics3.54
#368Overall3.37
#371Fun3.28
#482Mood3.01
#530Humor2.74
#776Theme3.07
#797Innovation2.73

Comments

Jordan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:20am

Love all of the pixelated animation, especially the player's.
Graphics and game play are both pretty smooth.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:21am

I really enjoyed the mechanics of your game. It felt very retro while still introducing a non-violent atmosphere that was enjoyable. Nice job.

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:45am

I love the visuals! Killing pinatas is very satisfying. It's a shame there's no sound element, because I feel like that would've added a lot to the mood, but still it's a very fun game.

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:47am

The whacking mechanic felt really satisfying. I think it's the slight delay caused by the animation that did it for me. My main criticism is that the level design felt a bit haphazard.

Good work.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Solid entry. Controls were easy and understandable, satisfying visual feedback, and a decent amount of content from what I saw.

berkano says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Really slick animation and gameplay.. Nice job! Made me wish for some sound + music!

hercludes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Killing all the enemies is a bit much. Other than that I find this game beautifully polished and well done, combat is very fluid and the idea is pretty nice.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:34am

Wasn't sure what would hurt me and not, but a solid game.

Wdavemart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:48am

Great visuals, I really like being able to hit things diagonally, as well as having a giant playground in which to discover things.

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:11am

Nice graphics style, the effects were nice and it felt good to play. Good job.

-Hando

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:24am

Cool game, I should of read the instructions before I played. Got quite a shock the first time I ate to much candy and it took me a while to figure out you can defeat the pinatas. Some interesting mechanics, I like the candy and the exploration aspect. The game grabbed my attention straight away and kept me engaged and motivated. A few simple arcade sounds would go a long way. Graphics look great. My only real criticism was the health system didn't quite work for me, it felt like the game was leading me into making mad dashes and then starting again rather than making concerted efforts to avoid any damage. First LD32 game I'm keen to come back and play again later to try and finish

UannaFF says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:18am

I liked your graphics a lot and it was really fun to play.

Frenchie says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:47am

Nicely done. Really enjoyed the art :)

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:49am

I loved the color scheme you choose here. And thought it was really interesting how the blocks you destroyed were still destroyed when you restarted from the begining. I liked that.I also liked all the candy particle effects

yuigoto says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:05am

Loved the artwork, the animations and the explosions! :3 Dunno if it's just me, but even though the game has no sound, I can picture what sound each movement, mob, action and explosion would have, and I imagine it to be a very "colorful" sound. And this makes it a REALLY nice game to play! :)

Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:05am

Pretty nice colour scheme. I like your weapon choice. The game is a lot of fun :)

hexdie says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:08am

I really enjoyed this! Very simple but there's something satisfying about going around, collecting candy and smashing pinatas. Also, the artwork is fantastic! It's very colorful, cute, and I like that you took the time to make sprites for moving diagonally. I really wish there was music, that would make this so much better. Still, very nice work!

Photon says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:09am

Not too hard, but it was short and sweet for a top-down action adventure. I liked it!

Pilly says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:32pm

I liked the uncertainty of whether or not a pinata ball would attack you - made me cautiously approach each one. Kind of reminded me of the Armos enemy from Zelda. It's a good, balanced experience too - just the right amount of checkpoints, and nice that the balls stay dead.

I liked the pixel art, but I wasn't quite sure what the environment was supposed to be. Also, the coins seemed unnecessary.

I enjoyed playing this, would love to see it with some audio. Nice work!

spin-down says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:01pm

It has great graphics and the controls felt nice and responsive. As mentioned though, the level design could be better. At one point I entered a door and before I could recognise where I was on the screen I had been attacked and exploded. Besides this however, it has the makings of a good game.

jprogman says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:53am

Hi everyone! Thank you so much for your comments!
Glad to hear that the fun factor exists on destroying pinatas.

As for the level design, it was during my last two hours to get that done. Likewise, I didn't have enough time to work on the levels in detail.

I've done a postmortem report a few days ago that covers most of your concerns. You can find it by clicking on my user name.

I'll be making a post-compo version to add what was missing -- like sound -- and add enhancements based on some suggestions.

Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:15am

nailing pinatas is really satisfying, shame theres no sound :(

SledKnight says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:19am

Nice little game. The animations, while simple, were well executed. My only complaint is that you can't tell by looking which enemies move and which don't. But that's a minor complaint, and could be intended.

Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:23am

Great animations and those sneaky "activated" pinatas kept me guessing every time.

Zeriver says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Whoaw, really neat game. Controls feel good, gameplay is fun, nice art style and whole experience is pleasant. Great game, shame there is no audio though.

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:46pm

That was some fun. Smash'm! :-)

May 1, 2015 @ 4:03pm

The art is nicely done with good feedback for the hits. I like that you have a specific goal with defeating the 100 pinatas and can see how you are going as you play. The going between screens also worked well in keeping the game feeling really open.

adsilcott says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Great game! I actually beat it twice, which is not something I can say for a lot of LD games. The fact that you can kill yourself with candy is hilarious :)

jprogman says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:04am

About having to defeat all 100 enemies, I could set some sort of quota so you can defeat a certain amount and still finish the round. If I do that, I have to make an exit.

Xanjos says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Too bad there's no sound (I would have prefer something like mariachi band :V) but this is a pretty solid entry plus I like the idea of killing the player character if it has too much candy than it can handle.

cdgugler says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:46am

Entertaining game, well polished and fun to play.

Demy says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:40am

The game looks nice and mechanics is good.

Mantlair says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:35am

Cool game. Looks pretty finished for a LD game! Thats a nice thing. And nice animation.

Jan Marcano says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 4:32am

My only complaint is that all piñatas should have dropped candy :c (thematically).
Otherwise it was a pretty great game! I would have liked for there to be sound, would have been pretty nice :)
Good job!

drludos says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:52am

I love this retro-pixel game: very fun and entertaining! It's a shame that there is no sound, because it's the only elements missing from an otherwise very polished game! The levels is quite long to kill all the 100 pinatas, especially the last screen! It reminds me of NES-era game, a great entry!

May 6, 2015 @ 1:04am

Cute game, nice graphics! Cool use of the theme too.

Note: I just exploded by eating too many candies :p

arhpositive says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 9:19pm

It's obvious that a lot of effort went to the graphics and they're really cute. Gameplay is ok, it does what it aims to do, I had fun in the brief amount of time that I've spent in the game.

frogcheese says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Really enjoyable! The mechanics are solid, the graphics are polished enough to honestly surprise me. The only thing really missing from this is audio, but I can see that it would've been a bit much to cram that in there in addition.

I didn't realize at first what candies and checkpoints did, but I guess that's my fault for skimming over your game description. ^^'

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]