Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Corporate Strikebreaker

by the.vaber - Jam Entry

Cause as many work-related "accidents" as possible using your crane, while having twisted fun doing so.

Controls:
A, D - move crane
W, S - raise/lower crane hook
Mouse - rotate crane boom
Escape - quit

There is no timer or victory condition since we ran out of time before submission..

Created by Václav "thevaber" Patejdl (code & graphics) and Lukáš Patejdl (audio).

Software used: Unity, Visual Studio, Photoshop, Blender, Audacity

(note that I haven't tested OS X and Linux builds)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#132Humor(Jam)3.67
#171Graphics(Jam)4.03
#207Fun(Jam)3.50
#287Theme(Jam)3.69
#374Overall(Jam)3.38
#420Innovation(Jam)3.23
#478Mood(Jam)3.13
#492Audio(Jam)2.81

Comments

MightyToast says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:37am

Love the minimalistic look! (And might have had some twisted fun too)

flwns says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:40am

Great game overall, no complaints

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:40am

Excellent ! Very limited but efficient.

flwns says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:40am

Great game overall, no complaints

PapaCheech says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:44am

this was great! awesome job on the physics and on the graphics too. looks really professional.
I had an idea; you gain insurance money from all the accidents you cause, and this can be spent on upgrading your crane.

Awesome game! so jokes

juxipolo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:57am

part of me wishes there were more game elements, but all of me wants to crush more protesters. Awesome.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:55am

What am I supposed to do... except kill others? Cool aesthetic. It can be improved with more features. Neat. Thank you ++

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:58am

outstanding - i always knew cranes were dangerous!

Tommyno222 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Amazing idea! Visual is astonishing and the gameplay is perfect! There's nothing I could criticize. It is really fun to just swing with the hook and watch consequences :)

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Wow. this game is cool. I like the graphical direction very much :O

AlexanderTeaH says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Visuals are very good. It can be fun at times and the audio is amusing, but it's very limited. Cool game, though.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Hilarious! Great simplistic art, love the depth and the sounds they make :p

I could do this all day with more levels :D

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:17pm

I liked the look, but it lacked... well, the game. The mechanics were there, so all I needed was the end.. :). I can see lot of potential in this though.

alpha_rat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:34pm

It looks gorgeous and learning to use the crane feels great!
I like the atmosphere and your take on the theme too.
However, it grows a bit boring fast as it lacks a clear goal and the possibilities are quite limited

Blunt says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:24pm

It is a shame you ran out of time, it really just needed some win state.

Foxarya says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Love the graphics, and the work-related accidents :D

tajger says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:56am

Something very suitable for incoming International Workers' Day. Nice idea and great grey theme but... I need morrr bloood! :)

jk5000 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:45pm

A safe working environment is so overrated;) Beautiful game. Well done.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:43pm

The game is simple but the gameplay works pretty well. Good job!

FeniX says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Very good entry, I hope to see the post-jam extended version of this game in not so logn time!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]